Information Bulletin 1—IRB Causality Guidelines

The following guidelines provide clarity on how the Industrial and Regional Benefits Directorate at Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada assesses the IRB Eligibility Criteria related to causality.

Responsibility for causality demonstration: The responsibility for demonstrating causality lies with the IRB Contractor or its Eligible Parties, not the IRB Recipient.

Scope of causality: Given the large volume of defence procurements, Contractors or their Eligible Parties are often engaged in IRB planning and execution on several projects with IRB obligations. Therefore, causality may be demonstrated to a specific project, or more broadly to an IRB Contractor's obligations in general.

In addition, IRB activities should make good business sense to the IRB Contractor or its Eligible Party. Therefore, the causality provision does not require that the IRB obligation be the IRB Contractor's only decision-making factor. However, the IRB Contractor or its Eligible Party must show the link between Canada's IRB Policy and their decisions related to the IRB activity.

Detailed causality statement: IRB Contractors or their Eligible Parties must demonstrate causality beyond generic statements on the IRB transaction sheet. They must provide comprehensive and detailed statements on causality, which outlines the details involved in their decision about a business activity, and a detailed timeline of events related to these details.

Evidence supporting causality statement: The IRB Directorate is looking for documentary evidence that links decisions regarding the IRB transaction to the IRB Contractor's obligation. This documentation may include, but is not limited to: internal emails, official correspondence, meeting notes, corporate presentations or other complete or redacted documents. IRB Contractors or their Eligible Parties should provide as much detailed supporting documentation as possible at the time of transaction submission that supports the statement on causality.

Acceptance: Wherever possible, IRB Managers will confirm causality prior to a proposed IRB transaction being accepted into the contract. In the case of competitive bid situations where discussions are not possible during the evaluation phase, IRB Managers will seek evidence of causality as soon as possible, and within one year, after contract award.

Reporting and verification: IRB Contractors should note that all IRB transactions are subject to annual reporting and verification before IRB credits are confirmed. If new information arises during verification that seriously calls into question the causality of an IRB transaction, the IRB Manager will review and investigate the causality claim.

For further guidance, please see Annex A for more details on how the IRB Directorate assesses causality. Definitions for many terms used above can be found on the IRB Directorate's online Glossary of Terms.

Date modified:

Bulletin d'information no 1 — Lignes directrices sur la causalité des RIR

Les lignes directrices suivantes apportent des précisions sur la façon dont la Direction des retombées industrielles et régionales à Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada évalue le critère d'admissibilité aux RIR lié à la causalité.

Responsabilité de la démonstration de causalité : La responsabilité de démontrer la causalité incombe à l'entrepreneur des RIR ou ses parties admissibles, et non au récipiendaire des RIR.

Portée et causalité : Compte tenu du volume important d'acquisitions de matériel de défense, les entrepreneurs RIR ou leurs parties admissibles sont souvent engagés dans la planification et l'exécution de RIR pour plusieurs projets s'accompagnant d'obligations de RIR. Par conséquent, la causalité peut être démontrée pour un projet donné ou, plus largement, pour les obligations d'un entrepreneur en matière de RIR en général.

De plus, les activités de RIR doivent être sensées sur le plan d'affaires pour l'entrepreneur des RIR ou sa partie admissible. Par conséquent, la disposition de causalité n'exige pas que l'obligation en matière de RIR ne soit l'unique facteur de prise de décision de l'entrepreneur des RIR. Toutefois, l'entrepreneur des RIR, ou sa partie admissible, doivent démontrer le lien entre la politique du Canada en matière de RIR et leurs décisions associées à l'activité de RIR.

Énoncé de causalité détaillé : Les entrepreneurs des RIR ou leurs parties admissibles doivent démontrer la causalité au-delà d'énoncés génériques sur la feuille de transaction des RIR. Ils doivent fournir un énoncé exhaustif et détaillé sur la causalité, dans lequel sont mentionnés les points précis ayant motivé leur décision concernant une activité commerciale, et un relevé chronologique détaillé des activités reliées à ces détails.

Faits à l'appui de l'énoncé de causalité : Le Direction des RIR cherche des preuves documentaires qui relient les décisions concernant la transaction de RIR à l'obligation de RIR de l'entrepreneur. Cette documentation peut inclure, mais sans s'y limiter : courriels internes, correspondance officielle, notes de réunion, présentations corporatives ou autres documents complétés ou expurgés. Les entrepreneurs des RIR ou leurs parties admissibles doivent fournir autant de documentation détaillée à l'appui que possible au moment de la soumission de la transaction qui appuie l'énoncé sur la causalité.

Acceptation : Quand cela est possible, les gestionnaires des RIR confirmeront la causalité avant qu'une transaction de RIR proposée soit acceptée dans le marché. Dans le cas de processus d'acquisition en concurrence, alors que les discussions ne sont pas possibles au cours de la phase d'évaluation, les gestionnaires responsables des RIR devront prouver la causalité dès que possible, en deçà d'un an, après l'adjudication du marché.

Rapports et vérification : Les entrepreneurs des RIR doivent noter que toutes les transactions de RIR doivent faire l'objet d'un rapport et d'une vérification annuels avant que les crédits de RIR soient confirmés. Si de nouveaux renseignements font surface au cours de la vérification, et que ceux-ci remettent sérieusement en question la causalité d'une transaction de RIR, le gestionnaire de RIR examinera la revendication de causalité et fera enquête.

Pour plus de conseils, veuillez consulter l'Annexe A pour plus de détails sur la façon dont la Direction des RIR évalue la causalité. Les définitions de nombreux termes utilisés ci-dessus se trouvent en ligne dans le Glossaire des termes de la Direction des RIR.

Date de modification :