New Approach: Enhanced Priority Technology List

Previous Approach

Contractors were currently not required to invest a minimum percentage of their Industrial and Regional Benefits (IRB) obligations into medium and/or long term emerging critical technology needs of the Department of National Defence (DND).

Why change?

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (IC) desires to better align the IRB Policy with the emerging critical technology needs of DND. The addition of a more focused technology list will provide important information to industry regarding the future needs of the military, thereby encouraging the development of Canadian advanced technologies in the aerospace and defence sector. The new list also demonstrates a more coordinated approach to defence industrial development across government departments and reflects a willingness to work together to seek technology-focused outcomes. Lastly, the change may enhance export opportunities for Canadian advanced technology firms, as the requirements for allied defence procurements become harmonized along specific defence platforms.

New Approach

IC is introducing a new Enhanced Priority Technology List (EPTL), which contains the emerging and transformational technologies needed by DND over the long term.

Contractors are required to align a minimum of five (5) percent of the value of their IRB activities with technologies and services associated with the EPTL. In this way, the IRB Policy will help leverage Canadian industry's capacity to develop transformational technologies and services that meet the long-term requirements of DND.

The EPTL has been developed by DND and captures critical technologies across all key platforms (i.e., Air, Land, and Marine). In order to ensure consistent application, the EPTL will apply to all defence and security procurements that are subject to the IRB Policy. In addition, the EPTL will be "evergreen"–updated on a regular basis by DND as its critical technology needs evolve over the years.

Although DND has developed the EPTL, IC will be fully responsible for administering it within the IRB Policy. As a result, IC will be the only point of contact for industry for information and guidance on the contents of the EPTL. IC will also be responsible for assessing and deciding on the eligibility of all proposed IRB activities related to the EPTL. As needed, IC will consult with DND and other stakeholders for technical advice and support.

All proposed EPTL activities must meet all IRB eligibility criteria as well as be assessed against various technical criteria, such as: relevance to the EPTL, and the unique and cutting-edge nature of the technology.

The new approach will work as follows:

  1. As part of all new IRB obligations, the Request For Proposal (RFP) and contract terms and conditions will indicate that a minimum of five (5) percent of the value of IRB activities, over the life of the contract, must be associated with technologies identified on the EPTL.
  2. Contractors develop proposed EPTL transactions and submit them to IC. Following contract award, IC is available to meet with the Contractor to provide information and guidance on the EPTL-related requirement.
  3. IC will review all proposed transactions and make a decision on IRB eligibility. IC will consult with DND and other defence technology stakeholders, as required. As with all IRB activities, annual reporting and verification are required before IRB credits are formally confirmed.

Version Control of the Technology List

The EPTL provided by DND is expected to be reviewed regularly and, as a result, is subject to change with the evolving technology needs of DND. For any new procurement, the most up-to-date version of the EPTL will be applied at the time of release of the IRB requirements. Each version of the EPTL will be identified by a version number and date, and will remain applicable for the duration of the procurement process. A change to a more recent EPTL would only be considered after contract award.

Date modified:

Nouvelle approche : La Liste améliorée des technologies prioritaires

Ancienne approche

Les entrepreneurs n'étaient sont actuellement pas tenus d'investir un pourcentage minimum de leurs obligations de Retombées industrielles et régionales (RIR) dans des activités à court et moyen terme reliées aux besoins technologiques émergents et essentiels du Ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN).

Pourquoi le changement?

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (IC) désire mieux aligner la Politique des RIR sur les besoins technologiques émergents et essentiels du MDN. L'ajout d'une liste de technologies plus ciblée permettra de fournir de l'information importante à l'industrie concernant les besoins futurs des forces militaires, ce qui encouragera le développement de technologies de pointe canadiennes dans le secteur de l'aérospatiale et de la défense. La nouvelle liste préconise aussi d'aborder de façon plus coordonnée le développement industriel de la défense à l'échelle des ministères et reflète la volonté de travailler ensemble pour obtenir des résultats axés sur la technologie. Enfin, le changement peut contribuer à améliorer les possibilités d'exportation des entreprises de technologie de pointe canadiennes, à mesure que les exigences pour les acquisitions de défense des alliés s'harmonisent à l'égard de plateformes de défense particulières.

Nouvelle approche

IC instaure la nouvelle Liste améliorée des technologies prioritaires (LATP), qui renferme les technologies émergentes et transformationnelles dont le MDN a besoin à long terme.

Les entrepreneurs sont tenus d'aligner un minimum de cinq (5) pour cent de la valeur de leurs activités de RIR sur les technologies et services liés à la LATP. Ainsi, la Politique des RIR contribuera à tirer profit de la capacité de l'industrie canadienne de développer des technologies et services transformationnels qui répondent aux besoins à long terme du MDN.

Créée par le MDN, la LATP englobe les technologies essentielles liées à toutes les plateformes clés (p. ex., air, terre et marine). Afin d'assurer une application uniforme, la LATP s'appliquera à toutes les acquisitions de défense et de sécurité qui sont assujetties à la Politique des RIR. De plus, la LATP sera « évolutive » -- mise à jour régulièrement par le MDN à mesure qu'évoluent ses besoins en technologies essentielles au fil des années.

Même si le MDN a créé la LATP, IC sera entièrement responsable de l'administrer dans le cadre de la Politique des RIR. IC sera donc le seul point de contact pour l'industrie que ce soit pour obtenir de l'information ou des directives sur le contenu de la LATP. IC sera également chargé d'évaluer et de déterminer l'admissibilité des activités de RIR proposées liées à la LATP. Au besoin, IC consultera le MDN et les autres intervenants pour obtenir du soutien et des conseils techniques.

Les activités proposées liées à la LATP doivent respecter tous les critères d'admissibilité des RIR ainsi qu'être évaluées selon divers critères techniques, entre autres : la pertinence par rapport à la LATP, et la nature de pointe et unique de la technologie.

Fonctionnement de la nouvelle approche :

  1. Dans le cadre de toutes les nouvelles obligations liées aux RIR, la demande de propositions (DP) et lesmodalités du contrat indiqueront qu'un minimum de cinq (5) pour cent de la valeur des activités de RIR, pendant la durée du contrat, doivent être associées aux technologies visées par la LATP.
  2. Les entrepreneurs doivent élaborer des propositions de transaction liées à la LATP et les soumettre à IC. Après l'octroi du contrat, IC sera disponible afin de rencontrer l'entrepreneur pour lui fournir de l'information et des directives quant l'exigence liée à la LATP.
  3. IC examinera toutes les transactions proposées et prendra une décision sur l'admissibilité aux RIR. Au besoin, IC consultera le MDN et d'autres intervenants du milieu des technologies de la défense. Comme c'est le cas pour toutes les activités de RIR, l'entrepreneur principal devra soumettre un rapport annuel et se prêter à une vérification avant que les crédits de RIR soient officiellement confirmés.

Contrôle de la version de la liste des technologies

La LATP fournie par le MDN sera vraisemblablement examinée régulièrement et pourrait changer selon l'évolution des besoins technologiques du MDN. Pour chaque nouvelle acquisition, la version de la LATP la plus à jour s'appliquera au moment où seront connues les exigences au titre des RIR. Chaque version de la LATP sera identifiée par un numéro de version et une date et demeurera en vigueur pendant la durée du processus d'acquisition. En fait, on n'envisagera de modifier la LATP la plus récente qu'après l'octroi d'un contrat.

Date de modification :