Type of IRB Transactions (Direct and Indirect)

An IRB transaction is the actual business activity between the IRB contractor and the Canadian company. This business activity can take many forms but is usually takes the form of a purchase of a product or a service. IRB contractors can meet their IRB obligations with two classes of business activities: either "Direct" or "Indirect"IRB transactions. Each project may have its own mix of direct and indirect IRB activities, depending on the overall procurement strategy, specific IRB requirements, and what makes business sense to the IRB contractor.

Direct IRB transactions are IRB transactions containing work directly related to the product or service that the federal government is procuring; this could include production of parts or maintenance directly on the Canadian equipment purchase. Work on approved Global Value Chain (GVC) platforms will be considered to meet a direct work requirement, as it offers significant technological opportunities on similar platforms that the IRB contractor is providing to Canada.

Indirect IRB transactions are IRB transactions containing work or investments that are not related to the Canadian purchase. Work within the IRB contractor's other business lines which meet the IRB eligibility criteria, is considered indirect.

Example: an IRB contractor that provides military helicopters to Canada places work in a Canadian company that produces aircraft parts for a commercial program. The IRB contractor is placing work from another business line to support their IRB obligation on the helicopter project.

Date modified:

Type de transactions de RIR (directes et indirectes)

Une transaction de RIR désigne l'activité commerciale proprement dite entre l'entrepreneur des RIR et l'entreprise canadienne. Cette activité commerciale peut se présenter sous de nombreuses formes, mais elle constitue généralement l'achat d'un produit ou d'un service. Les entrepreneurs des RIR peuvent remplir leurs obligations en matière de RIR grâce à deux catégories d'activités commerciales : les transactions de RIR « directes » ou « indirectes ». Chaque projet pourrait comporter sa propre combinaison d'activités de RIR directes et indirectes, selon la stratégie d'approvisionnement générale, les exigences particulières en matière de RIR et ce que l'entrepreneur des RIR juge avantageux sur le plan commercial.

Les transactions de RIR directes sont des transactions qui comportent des travaux directement liés au produit ou au service dont le gouvernement fédéral fait l'acquisition, notamment la production de pièces ou l'entretien directement pour l'achat d'équipements canadiens. Le travail dans les plateformes approuvées de chaîne de valeur mondiale (CVM) sera considéré comme satisfaisant un exigence direct, puisqu'il offre d'importantes possibilités technologiques sur des plateformes semblables que l'entrepreneur des RIR fournit au Canada.

Les transactions de RIR indirectes, quant à elles, englobent les travaux ou les investissements qui ne sont pas liés à l'achat canadien. Ainsi, le travail dans d'autres secteurs d'activité de l'entrepreneur des RIR qui remplit les critères d'admissibilité des RIR est qualifié d'indirecte.

Par exemple, un entrepreneur des RIR qui fournit des hélicoptères militaires au Canada place une commande auprès d'une entreprise canadienne qui produit des pièces d'avion pour un programme commercial. L'entrepreneur des RIR confie des travaux liés à un autre secteur d'activité pour appuyer son obligation en matière de RIR dans le projet d'hélicoptères.

Date de modification :