Guidelines for Third Parties

The purpose of these guidelines is to clarify how the ITB policy applies in circumstances where a contractor chooses to involve a third party in the implementation of an ITB transaction.

Definition:

  • A third party is an organization that plays a supporting role in a transaction between a contractor and a recipient company in Canada. This supporting role could involve a variety of activities, including: providing information and advice; identifying capabilities, match-making and facilitating meetings; managing a portfolio or group of contractor investments; or, leveraging other resources into the transaction.

General principles:

  • Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada encourages contractors to undertake high quality and high value activities that will result in long term industrial benefits for the Canadian economy.
  • Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada encourages strong collaboration and ongoing engagement between contractors and Canadian recipients, including in support of research and development activities. Any third party involvement on transactions should facilitate, and not replace, this collaboration and engagement.
  • Early engagement on transactions involving third parties should take place between a contractor and Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada in advance of an investment.  Engagement may involve early conceptual discussions, or more formal feedback through the term sheet process (or draft transaction sheet).  In some cases, the participation of a third party may have an impact on a transaction’s eligibility and/or valuation.
  • Each proposed transaction is assessed by the ITB Authority against all of the eligibility criteria, including causality, timing, incrementality, eligible donor and level of technology
  • Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada does not participate in the preparatory business development or decision making processes leading up to a contractor’s transaction sheet submission.
  • Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada is the ITB Authority and is solely responsible for approval, verification and crediting of transactions.

Third party involvement:

  • Third party involvement and/or funding will be well described in a transaction sheet.
  • Funds flowing from a contractor to a recipient company in Canada may be available for ITB credit. Third party contributions, fees, or administrative costs are not eligible for credit.
  • When a third party manages a group of investments, transactions will be submitted to Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada once the specifics of an individual investment have been identified (i.e. name of contractor, name of recipient company in Canada, description, value, timelines, etc.). Annual reporting will also be equally specific.
  • For third parties funded by government, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada may view a contractor’s investment as already being leveraged by another government program and therefore, not causal or incremental to the ITB Policy. Contractors would need to engage early with Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada in the planning stages of these transactions, in order to demonstrate the role of the ITB Policy in decision-making, or whether more is being leveraged because of the ITB Policy.
Date modified:

Lignes directrices relatives aux tiers

Ces lignes directrices visent à clarifier le mode d'application de la Politique des Retombées industrielles et technologiques (RIT) dans les cas où un entrepreneur choisit de faire participer un tiers à une transaction relative aux RIT.

Définition

  • Un tiers est une organisation qui remplit une fonction de soutien dans une transaction entre un entrepreneur et une entreprise bénéficiaire au Canada. Cette fonction de soutien peut comporter des activités diverses, notamment la fourniture de renseignements et de conseils, la détermination des capacités, le jumelage et l'animation de réunions, la gestion des investissements d'un groupe d'entrepreneurs ou d’un portefeuille, ou encore l'optimisation d'autres ressources à l'appui de la transaction.

Principes généraux

  • Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada invite les entrepreneurs à réaliser des activités de qualité et à haute valeur ajoutée, dont les retombées industrielles à long terme favoriseront l'économie canadienne.
  • Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada encourage une collaboration étroite et un engagement continu entre les entrepreneurs et les bénéficiaires canadiens, incluant le support aux activités de recherche et développement. Toute participation de tiers dans une transaction doit faciliter, et non remplacer, cette collaboration et cet engagement.
  • L'engagement entre l'entrepreneur et Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada quant aux transactions impliquant des tiers doit se faire dès le début du processus et avant tout investissement.
  • L'engagement peut comprendre des discussions conceptuelles au début du processus, ou plus de rétroaction formelle par le biais du processus de la fiche des modalités (ou une ébauche de fiche de transaction). Dans certains cas, la participation d'un tiers peut avoir des conséquences sur l'admissibilité ou l'évaluation d'une transaction.
  • Chaque transaction proposée est évaluée par l'autorité compétente en matière de RIT contre tous les critères d'admissibilité, y compris la causalité, le calendrier, l’apport différentiel, les parties admissibles et le niveau de technologie.
  • Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada ne participe pas au processus préparatoire au développement des affaires ni au processus de prise de décision conduisant à la présentation de la fiche de transaction des entrepreneurs.
  • Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada est l'autorité compétente en matière de RIT et est seule responsable de l'approbation, la vérification et l'inscription au crédit des transactions.

Participation de tiers

  • La participation ou le financement de tiers sont décrits dans une fiche de transaction.
  • Des crédits en vertu de la Politique des RIT pourraient être disponibles pour les mouvements de fonds provenant d'un entrepreneur et destinés à une entreprise au Canada. Les contributions, frais ou coûts administratifs du tiers engagés par les tiers ne sont pas admissibles à ces crédits.
  • Quand un tiers gère un groupe d'investissements, les transactions seront présentées à Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada une fois que tous les renseignements pertinents pour chaque investissement auront été identifiés (c'est-à-dire nom de l’entrepreneur, nom de l’entreprise bénéficiaire au Canada, description, valeur, calendriers, etc.). Le rapport annuel contiendra également ces renseignements.
  • Pour les tiers financés par l'État, Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada peut considérer que l'investissement d'un entrepreneur a déjà fait l'objet d'un financement dans le cadre d'un autre programme gouvernemental et qu'il ne répond donc pas aux obligations de causalité et d'apport différentiel de la Politique des RIT. Les entrepreneurs auraient besoin de s'engager suffisamment tôt dans les étapes de planification de ces transactions avec Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, afin de démontrer le rôle de la Politique des RIT dans la prise de décision, ou à quel point les ressources sont optimisées en raison de la Politique des RIT.
Date de modification :