Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archived - 1. Introduction

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

In its long-term economic plan, Advantage Canada, the Government of Canada committed to create the conditions for Canadians to succeed in the new global economy. Recognizing that a new international competitive environment has changed the ground rules, Advantage Canada focuses on five economic advantages, all aimed at establishing a policy framework and competitive playing field on which Canadians can continue to succeed in creating growth, opportunity and good jobs.

With Budget 2007, the government pledged to undertake a review of Canada's competition policies and its framework for foreign investment policy, to enhance Canada's economic performance and to ensure that Canada's markets remain competitive. To that end, on July 12, 2007 the Ministers of Industry and Finance announced the creation of the Competition Policy Review Panel. The Panel is chaired by L. R. Wilson, who is joined by N. Murray Edwards, Isabelle Hudon, Thomas Jenkins and Brian Levitt.

The Panel is mandated to review key elements of Canada's competition and investment policies to ensure that they are working effectively. It will receive submissions from interested parties, consult widely, listen and learn, and commission focussed research to support its work. The Panel is supported by a secretariat and is targeting to report back to the Minister of Industry on behalf of the government by June 30, 2008.

Our Mandate: Productivity and Competitiveness

The fundamental task of the Panel's review is to provide recommendations to the government on how to enhance Canadian productivity and competitiveness, as these are keys to generating wealth and creating jobs and opportunity in a fast-changing global economic environment. The Panel will examine a range of issues with an eye to ensuring that Canada's policies are modern and effective, and reflect a competitive environment that is global in scope and typified by fierce competition between national jurisdictions seeking to attract investment, people and economic opportunities. Following the Industry Minister's statement on October 9, 2007, issues related to state-owned enterprises and implications for national security will not be subject to review by the Panel, as the government has signalled its intention to provide more immediate attention to these issues in the period prior to the Panel's report.1

The Panel does not seek to insulate Canadians from international competition. Indeed, Canada's record of economic success has been predicated on the ability of Canadian firms to access foreign markets, and on openness to foreign investment and immigration. In the twenty-first century, economic success will not be achieved by being backward or inward looking. The goal is to foster the development of Canadian businesses and to maximize the opportunity for Canadians to capitalize on global trade, investment and competition. The Panel's mandate is therefore to make recommendations to the government on ways to establish the domestic conditions that both encourage Canadian firms to be active and aggressive investors at home and abroad, and maximize Canada's attractiveness as a destination for new investment and talent.

The Panel will orient its work under four broad themes:

Investment Policies

It has long been recognized that foreign direct investment (FDI) brings benefits to Canada through new sources of capital, ideas and know-how. As well, direct investment by Canadian firms in foreign markets enables them to be more productive and competitive and, ultimately, to create more and better jobs in Canada.

Both Canadian and international experience strongly suggest that the free flow of capital is something to be encouraged. At the same time, FDI has raised concerns among many Canadians about excessive foreign control of Canadian industry. The Panel therefore will review the Investment Canada Act, the government's principal instrument for reviewing foreign investment in Canada. In particular, the Panel will examine the Investment Canada Act's "net benefit" test, with an eye to ensuring that it effectively delivers economic benefits to Canadians without discouraging investment.

The Panel has also been asked to review the restrictions that are currently in place on foreign and domestic ownership of firms in specific industry sectors.

Competition Policies

Fair and transparent competition policies are a key building block in the foundation of modern commerce. However, the establishment of these policies is more complex in a global economy where the marketplace extends beyond Canada's borders. The Panel will therefore review Canadian policies affecting competition, including an examination of the Competition Act, to ensure that they foster competition in the Canadian market.

As part of this review, the Panel will look to international best practices and see how they may be adapted to fit the Canadian context. In undertaking its review, the Panel's principal focus will be whether Canada's competition policies enhance our ability to both serve the interests of domestic consumers and enable our most successful enterprises to grow beyond Canada.

Outward Investment by Canadians

A fundamental element of economic competitiveness is the ability of a nation's firms to capitalize on economic opportunities that arise outside its national borders. With our small domestic market, Canada must look outward. To that end, the Panel has been mandated to investigate how best to encourage outward investment by Canadian firms. The aim is to examine what policies would enhance Canada as an environment from which Canadian enterprises would emerge and prosper globally. Of importance in the Canadian economic context is facilitating the participation of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in global commerce.

Canada as a Destination for Investment and Opportunity

A key aim for any country in the global era is to be a preferred location for the capital, talent and innovative activity that drive the modern economy. Canada is no different. A country's markets and overall economic environment are crucial in attracting the innovative and ambitious individuals and firms that shape a country's economy. Whether through the removal of barriers that inhibit aspiring firms, or through the refinement of policies that are the foundation of economic activity, the government has a significant role to play in establishing the conditions that will assure Canada's position as an attractive destination for investment, both by Canadians and those from abroad. Robust investment drives economic development, and underpins Canada's prosperity and quality of life.

Challenges and Opportunities

If Canada is to continue to be successful and if Canadians are to continue to enjoy the prosperity to which we have become accustomed, choices will have to be made, and decisions taken.

Canadian policies affecting competition and investment have served the country well. However, the global business environment that has evolved over the past 20 years has ushered in a new era, one where governments must formulate policy that reflects a competitive dynamic that has changed fundamentally. The balance to be struck in policy formation for open economies like Canada's is to capitalize on the opportunities that globalization provides while ensuring that the national interest is accorded appropriate weight.

Our global competitors are growing in number and are becoming more competitive. Unless we adapt and change, Canada and its enterprises risk falling behind others in the global economy, eroding our quality of life. Our sound economic fundamentals and recent performance place us in a strong position from which to respond to new global pressures, but this should not give us cause to be complacent.

The objective should not be to insulate Canada from global competition. Rather, the goal is to ensure that the Canadian economic policy framework positions Canada and Canadian enterprises to compete globally. The public policy objective is to maximize opportunity for our domestic firms to grow into global champions and for our existing champions to further expand their reach.

The potential benefits are substantial. Opportunities abound in the globalizing economy. The developing economies of China and India alone represent a market of more than two billion people. Free trade and open international markets provide ambitious firms having global aspirations the opportunity to become more productive and to deliver their products and services to the world. Many Canadian firms already do just that. The question is: How can we update our public policy framework to enable more to do so?

The answers will not come from the Panel or the government alone. The Panel recognizes the primary role to be played by the management and boards of Canada's private sector companies. While the focus of the Panel's work is on public policy, Canadian success will depend on the commitment and abilities of Canada's private sector.

Consultations

A central concern of the Panel is for its recommendations to the government to reflect Canadian interests. This paper will guide the consultation process, establish the context in which the Panel is conducting its review, and frame the issues under consideration. This paper also presents both the overarching questions and specific areas of policy on which the Panel is seeking input. The Panel therefore invites written submissions on the policy issues and questions presented in this paper.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archivée - 1. Introduction

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Dans la foulée de son plan économique à long terme, Avantage Canada, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à mettre en place les conditions nécessaires pour que les Canadiens puissent prospérer au sein de la nouvelle économie mondiale. Se basant sur le fait que le nouveau climat de concurrence mondiale a changé les règles de base, Avantage Canada est axé sur cinq avantages économiques visant tous à établir un cadre stratégique et un marché concurrentiel sur lesquels les Canadiens pourront s'appuyer pour continuer à assurer la croissance économique, des débouchés et de bons emplois.

Dans son budget de 2007, le gouvernement s'est engagé à revoir les politiques en matière de concurrence du Canada et son cadre de politique d'investissement étranger, pour améliorer le rendement économique du pays et veiller à ce que les marchés canadiens demeurent concurrentiels. À cette fin, le 12 juillet 2007, les ministres de l'Industrie et des Finances ont annoncé la création du Groupe d'étude sur les politiques en matière de concurrence. Celui-ci est présidé par L. R. Wilson, et ses membres sont N. Murray Edwards, Isabelle Hudon, Thomas Jenkins et Brian Levitt.

Le Groupe d'étude a pour mandat de revoir les principaux éléments des politiques canadiennes en matière de concurrence et d'investissement pour s'assurer de leur efficacité. Il recevra des mémoires des parties intéressées, effectuera des consultations, écoutera et commandera des études ciblées pour appuyer ses travaux. Le Groupe d'étude a son propre secrétariat et projette de faire rapport au ministre de l'Industrie, qui représente le gouvernement, au plus tard le 30 juin 2008.

Le mandat du Groupe d'étude : la productivité et la compétitivité

La tâche principale du Groupe d'étude consiste à fournir des recommandations au gouvernement sur la façon d'améliorer la productivité et la compétitivité canadiennes, ces dernières étant les piliers de la création de richesse, d'emplois et de débouchés dans une économie mondiale en pleine évolution. Le Groupe d'étude se penchera sur une série d'enjeux, en ayant pour objectif de veiller à ce que les politiques canadiennes soient modernes et efficaces et reflètent le climat concurrentiel d'envergure mondiale qui est caractérisé par une chaude lutte entre les gouvernements pour attirer les investisseurs, les travailleurs et les occasions d'affaires. À la suite de la déclaration faite par le ministre de l'Industrie le 9 octobre 2007, les enjeux reliés aux sociétés d'État et les incidences sur la sécurité nationale ne seront pas étudiés par le Groupe d'étude puisque le gouvernement a annoncé son intention de se pencher sur ces questions avant la parution du rapport du Groupe d'étude1.

Le Groupe d'étude ne veut pas que les Canadiens soient mis à l'écart de la concurrence mondiale. De fait, les succès économiques remportés par le Canada reposent sur la capacité de ses entreprises à accéder aux marchés étrangers et sur son ouverture aux investissements étrangers et à l'immigration. Au XXIe siècle, le succès économique ne sera pas atteint en ayant le regard tourné vers l'arrière ou en étant centré sur soi. L'objectif consiste à encourager le développement des entreprises canadiennes et à maximiser les occasions qui s'offrent aux Canadiens de tirer profit du commerce, de l'investissement et de la concurrence à l'échelle mondiale. Le mandat du Groupe d'étude est donc de faire des recommandations au gouvernement sur les façons de mettre en place au Canada les conditions qui encouragent les entreprises canadiennes à devenir des investisseurs actifs et dynamiques au pays et à l'étranger, et de rendre le Canada le plus attrayant possible aux yeux des investisseurs et des travailleurs compétents.

Le Groupe d'étude orientera ses travaux selon quatre grands thèmes, décrits ci-après.

Politiques en matière d'investissement

Il est établi depuis fort longtemps que l'investissement étranger direct (IED) procure des avantages au Canada par le truchement de nouvelles sources de capitaux, d'idées et de savoir-faire. De plus, les investissements directs que les entreprises canadiennes effectuent à l'étranger permettent à celles-ci d'être plus productives et concurrentielles et, au bout du compte, de créer des emplois plus nombreux et de meilleure qualité au Canada.

Les faits observés au Canada et à l'échelle internationale indiquent clairement qu'il faut favoriser la libre circulation des capitaux. Parallèlement, l'IED suscite chez de nombreux Canadiens des préoccupations quant à un contrôle étranger excessif de l'industrie canadienne. Le Groupe d'étude se penchera donc sur la Loi sur Investissement Canada, le principal instrument du gouvernement pour l'examen de l'investissement étranger au Canada. Tout particulièrement, il étudiera les critères de « l'avantage net » énoncés dans la Loi sur Investissement Canada, pour veiller à ce que l'IED apporte effectivement des avantages économiques aux Canadiens sans nuire aux investissements.

Le Groupe d'étude a aussi reçu pour mandat de revoir les restrictions que le Canada impose à l'heure actuelle à la propriété étrangère et canadienne dans certains secteurs d'activités.

Politiques en matière de concurrence

Le commerce moderne repose essentiellement sur des politiques en matière de concurrence justes et transparentes. Toutefois, la mise en œuvre de ces politiques est plus difficile au sein d'une économie mondiale où le marché va au-delà des frontières canadiennes. Le Groupe d'étude étudiera donc les politiques canadiennes en matière de concurrence, y compris la Loi sur la concurrence, pour veiller à ce que celles-ci encouragent la concurrence dans le marché canadien.

Dans le cadre de son examen, le Groupe d'étude étudiera les meilleures pratiques internationales et la façon dont elles peuvent être adaptées au contexte canadien. Il tâchera surtout de savoir si les politiques canadiennes en matière de concurrence renforcent la capacité du pays à servir les intérêts des consommateurs canadiens et permettent à ses entreprises les plus prospères de pénétrer d'autres marchés.

Investissements étrangers par des Canadiens

Un élément fondamental de la compétitivité économique est la capacité des entreprises d'un pays donné à profiter des débouchés qui s'offrent à l'extérieur de ses frontières. Puisque son marché est petit, le Canada doit se tourner vers l'étranger. À cet égard, le Groupe d'étude s'est vu confier le mandat de trouver les meilleures façons d'encourager les sociétés canadiennes à investir à l'étranger. L'objectif est d'examiner les politiques qui pourraient créer au Canada un climat permettant aux entreprises canadiennes de croître et de prospérer sur la scène internationale. Il est important, dans le contexte économique canadien, d'aider les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) à se lancer dans le commerce mondial.

Le Canada, un endroit propice aux investissements et aux débouchés

En cette ère de mondialisation, un objectif clé pour tout pays est de devenir un emplacement de choix pour l'investissement de capitaux, la main-d'œuvre et les activités innovatrices qui constituent le moteur de l'économie moderne. Il en va de même pour le Canada. Le marché intérieur et le climat économique sont les éléments clés qui attirent le talent et les entreprises innovatrices et ambitieuses qui façonnent l'économie d'un pays. Qu'il s'agisse de faire disparaître les barrières qui freinent les entreprises ou de peaufiner des politiques sur lesquelles repose l'activité économique, le gouvernement a un rôle important à jouer en mettant en place les conditions qui feront du Canada un lieu où les Canadiens et les étrangers voudront investir. Des investissements solides favorisent le développement économique et sous-tendent la prospérité et la qualité de vie canadiennes.

Les défis et les débouchés

Pour que le Canada puisse poursuivre sur sa lancée et que les Canadiens continuent de jouir de la prospérité à laquelle ils sont habitués, il faut faire des choix et prendre des décisions.

Les politiques canadiennes en matière de concurrence et d'investissement ont bien servi les besoins du pays. Toutefois, la mondialisation du commerce qui s'est accentuée au cours des 20 dernières années a donné le jour à une nouvelle ère, celle où les gouvernements doivent élaborer des politiques qui encouragent une dynamique concurrentielle qui a radicalement changé. L'équilibre à atteindre lors de l'élaboration de politiques pour des économies ouvertes comme celle du Canada est de profiter des débouchés offerts par la mondialisation, tout en veillant à accorder une juste importance à l'intérêt national.

Le nombre de concurrents mondiaux augmente sans cesse, et ceux-ci deviennent de plus en plus compétitifs. À moins de s'adapter et de changer, le Canada et ses entreprises pourraient accuser un retard au sein de l'économie mondiale, érodant ainsi la qualité de vie des Canadiens. Grâce à sa base économique saine et à sa récente performance, le Canada est en bonne position pour répondre aux nouvelles pressions exercées par la mondialisation, mais il ne doit pas pour autant se reposer sur ses lauriers.

L'objectif n'est pas de mettre le Canada à l'écart de la concurrence mondiale, mais plutôt de veiller à ce que son cadre stratégique économique le place, lui et ses entreprises, en bonne position pour soutenir la concurrence sur la scène internationale. La politique publique a pour objectif de maximiser les débouchés pour que les entreprises nationales deviennent des champions mondiaux et que les champions nationaux actuels élargissent encore leur marché.

Les retombées éventuelles sont importantes. Les débouchés au sein de l'économie mondiale sont nombreux. Les économies naissantes de la Chine et de l'Inde représentent à elles seules un marché de plus de deux milliards de personnes. Le libre-échange et les marchés internationaux ouverts sont pour les entreprises ambitieuses ayant des visées mondiales l'occasion d'accroître leur productivité et d'offrir leurs produits et services au monde entier. Plusieurs entreprises canadiennes le font déjà. La question est de déterminer la façon de mettre à jour le cadre de politique officielle du Canada pour que d'autres entreprises le fassent également.

Le Groupe d'étude ou le gouvernement ne peuvent, à eux seuls, donner des réponses. Le Groupe d'étude reconnaît que les dirigeants et les conseils d'administration des entreprises du secteur privé joueront un rôle primordial. Bien que les travaux du Groupe d'étude portent surtout sur les politiques publiques, les succès canadiens dépendront de l'engagement et des compétences du secteur privé canadien.

Les consultations

Le Groupe d'étude juge qu'il est important que ses recommandations au gouvernement reflètent les intérêts canadiens. Le présent document servira de guide durant le processus de consultation, définira le contexte dans lequel le Groupe d'étude mènera son examen et encadrera les enjeux discutés. Il présente à la fois les questions très importantes et les aspects précis des politiques sur lesquels le Groupe d'étude veut obtenir des commentaires. Par conséquent, le Groupe d'étude aimerait recevoir des mémoires sur les enjeux de politique et les questions présentés dans ce document.