Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archived - 5. Promoting Canadian Direct Investment Abroad

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

As a small, open economy, Canada's prosperity is premised on its success as a trading nation. Total exports currently account for 36.4 percent of our GDP (2006).45

Canada is also dependent on international investment as a source of growth. As stated earlier, the stock of inward FDI in Canada was 30.4 percent of GDP in 2006, one of the highest ratios among developed countries.46 Canadian direct investment abroad (CDIA) is even higher at about 35.4 percent of GDP.

Data indicate that globalization is being heavily driven by investment flows, which have increased at three times the rate of global GDP and double the rate of trade flows.47 This reverses the traditional paradigm of trade creating investment opportunities: in the global era, direct investment abroad appears to be a key factor in stimulating increased trade.

Much of Canada's foreign investment is situated in the United States, representing 42.7 percent of the total.48 This is not surprising, given our shared geography as well as the integrative effects of the original Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement and NAFTA over the past 20 years. The second largest recipient of CDIA is the United Kingdom (11.3 percent) where Canada has longstanding historical ties. Following the U.S. and the U.K., CDIA is dispersed among Caribbean countries, France, Ireland and the Netherlands.49 (Figure 10)

CDIA is quite low in rapidly developing markets like China, India and Brazil. For example, Canadians invest more than four times as much in Barbados (7.3 percent) as they do in Brazil (1.6 percent). Indeed, Canadian investment in the relatively small Caribbean economies of Barbados, Bermuda and the Cayman Islands represents 12 percent of total CDIA, while CDIA in large, emerging economies like China, India and Brazil accounts for less than 5 percent.50

In terms of outward investment strategies, Canadian investors in recent years have been relatively less active than investors from other nations in making foreign acquisitions. Canada's M&A investments abroad accounted for only 31 percent of average outward FDI between 2001 and 2006, and averaged only 16 percent of outward FDI between 2005 and 2006. Rather than participating in foreign M&As, CDIA has primarily occurred through other investment flows.

The sectoral composition of CDIA reveals a concentration in financial services (44.1 percent) followed by energy and metallic and minerals (23.2 percent) and services and retailing (13.0 percent).51 (Figure 11) This composition is broadly reflective of traditional Canadian corporate strengths.

The emerging picture of CDIA therefore is one of steady growth but with concentration in relatively few geographic locations and in few sectors. Recent changes in Canada's exchange rate may introduce new opportunities. A key issue for Canada's economic future relates to success in the scope and reach of Canadian enterprises and investors in the global economy.

Formal Barriers

Over the past two decades, barriers to direct investment have been reduced in many host countries. The reduction in barriers is owing in part to trade and investment agreements, but in larger measure to unilateral policy changes that nations have made to attract FDI.

The World Trade Organization (WTO) has few investment undertakings, focussing largely on measures that prohibit members from imposing performance requirements such as employment or export targets on foreign investors. The scope of the General Agreement on Trade in Services (GATS) includes investment in services industries. However, efforts to add investment per se to the WTO negotiating agenda in the current Doha Round of international trade negotiations were abandoned in 2003.

At the OECD, all member countries have committed to publish discriminatory investment measures, but there is at present no mechanism to enforce this practice.

The Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement and NAFTA go beyond WTO undertakings to effectively prohibit any new direct investment restrictions (other than in a few industries) while preserving Canada's right to review large direct takeovers under the ICA. Further, key features of the myriad bilateral trade and investment agreements being negotiated by Canada and other countries are aimed at protecting and promoting foreign investment through legally binding rights and obligations.52 However, these agreements vary greatly in both scope and content.

Thus, while nondiscriminatory treatment of investors is a crucial driver of globalization, the institutionalization of this effort has been challenging.

Informal Barriers

Concerns have been expressed about the informal or noninstitutional barriers to international investment erected by national governments. By their very nature, such barriers are difficult to identify and evaluate; however, there are various measures employed to prevent foreign investors from acquiring significant stakes in domestic firms. Such practices may entail government efforts to effect mergers of national firms to prevent a foreign takeover, governments holding so-called "golden shares" in firms that allow them to outvote other investors and thereby prevent foreign takeovers, using informal arrangements among owners acting under government influence or encouragement, or imposing overly stringent regulations to restrict outside investment in certain firms and industry sectors. Such barriers raise questions of reciprocity in market-based economies that function according to the rule of law.

Canadian Outward Investment Policy

Historically, Canadian public policy has been focussed on promoting exports of goods and services. Like our major competitors, we deploy a network of trade commissioners in foreign posts to assist Canadian companies to penetrate foreign markets. In recent years, investment counsellors have been added to a number of key posts, but their main focus has been on promoting foreign investment in Canada. There has been no specific mandate to promote CDIA, although the government's new Global Commerce Strategy has identified the importance of increasing both inward and outward flows of investment to enhance future Canadian competitiveness and productivity.

The role of Export Development Canada (EDC) and the Canadian Commercial Corporation (CCC) has been to assist in the financing of Canadian exports, particularly for large infrastructure projects and major procurements. EDC has a limited number of CDIA financing initiatives. New regulatory changes will enhance EDC's ability to invest in private equity and venture capital funds to help Canadian companies expand and grow their businesses internationally, particularly in emerging markets.

It has been suggested that Canadian efforts in support of CDIA have been piecemeal. New business models centred on global value chains place a premium on business engagement internationally, whether in the form of investment (both inward and outward), innovation linkages or traditional exports. Competitive pressures on firms to invest abroad are increasing.

PROMOTING CANADIAN DIRECT INVESTMENT ABROAD – QUESTIONS

  1. What barriers, either formal or informal, do Canadian firms face when seeking to make investments and acquisitions abroad?
  2. How should the government adapt its policies to promote increased Canadian direct investment and acquisitions abroad? What measures have been adopted by other countries that are relevant to Canada?
  3. Are there policies or approaches that would be useful in addressing the particular challenges faced by small and medium-sized enterprises as they seek to become global competitors and participants in global value chains?
  4. What impact does a higher-value Canadian dollar have on CDIA?

Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archivée - 5. Promouvoir l'investissement direct canadien à l'étranger

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Étant donné que le Canada est une petite économie ouverte, sa prospérité repose sur son succès en tant que nation commerçante. Les exportations totales représentent actuellement 36,4 p. 100 de son PIB (2006)45.

Le Canada est aussi tributaire des investissements étrangers pour soutenir sa croissance. Tel que précisé précédemment, la valeur de l'IED au Canada représentait 30,4 p. 100 du PIB en 2006, l'un des taux les plus élevés parmi les pays industrialisés46. Le taux de l'investissement direct canadien à l'étranger (IDCE) est encore plus élevé, se situant à 35,4 p. 100 du PIB.

Les données révèlent que ce sont les mouvements des investissements qui donnent le ton à la mondialisation, ces derniers ayant augmenté à un taux trois fois plus rapide que celui du PIB mondial et deux fois plus rapide que le mouvement des échanges47. Cela va à l'encontre du paradigme traditionnel voulant que ce soit le commerce qui crée des possibilités d'investissement : dans une ère de mondialisation, les investissements directs à l'étranger semblent être l'un des facteurs clés qui stimulent le commerce.

Les États-Unis sont la principale destination de l'IDCE, représentant 42,7 p. 100 de l'IDCE total48. Cela n'est pas étonnant étant donné la proximité géographique des deux pays et les dispositions intégratives de l'ALE original et de l'ALENA en vigueur depuis les 20 dernières années. Le Royaume-Uni, qui entretient des liens historiques de longue date avec le Canada, se classe au deuxième rang au chapitre de l'IDCE (11,3 p. 100). Le reste de l'IDCE est réparti entre les pays des Caraïbes, la France, l'Irlande et les Pays-Bas (figure 10)49.

L'IDCE est peu important dans les marchés en croissance rapide, comme la Chine, l'Inde et le Brésil. Par exemple, les Canadiens investissent quatre fois plus à la Barbade (7,3 p. 100) qu'au Brésil (1,6 p. 100). En effet, les investissements canadiens dans des économies relativement petites des Caraïbes, soit la Barbade, les Bermudes et les îles Caïmans, représentent 12 p. 100 de l'IDCE total. Par contre, l'IDCE dans des économies importantes et émergentes comme la Chine, l'Inde et le Brésil totalisent moins de 5 p. 10050.

Quant aux stratégies d'investissement à l'étranger, les investisseurs canadiens ont au cours des dernières années été sensiblement moins dynamiques que les investisseurs d'autres pays au chapitre des acquisitions à l'étranger. Les investissements canadiens à l'étranger sous forme de fusions et acquisitions représentaient seulement 31 p. 100 de l'IED extérieur moyen de 2001 à 2006, et seulement 16 p. 100 en moyenne de 2005 à 2006. Plutôt que de prendre la forme de fusions et acquisitions à l'étranger, l'IDCE correspond surtout à d'autres mouvements d'investissement.

L'IDCE est surtout concentré dans le secteur des services financiers (44,1 p. 100), suivi des secteurs de l'énergie, des métaux et des minéraux (23,2 p. 100), ainsi que des services et du commerce de détail (13,0 p. 100) (figure 11)51. Cette répartition reflète en grande partie les forces traditionnelles des sociétés canadiennes.

L'IDCE affiche donc une croissance soutenue, mais il est concentré dans quelques régions géographiques et secteurs d'activité. Les modifications récentes du taux de change du Canada pourraient créer de nouveaux débouchés. Un enjeu clé pour l'avenir économique du Canada est de réussir à élargir l'envergure et la portée des entreprises et des investisseurs canadiens au sein de l'économie mondiale.

Les obstacles formels

Durant les deux dernières décennies, les obstacles aux investissements directs ont été abaissés dans plusieurs pays d'accueil. Cela est dû en partie aux accords sur le commerce et l'investissement, mais dans une plus large mesure aux changements d'orientation unilatéraux apportés par des pays en vue d'attirer l'IED.

L'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) aa pris quelques engagements en matière d'investissement, qui portent surtout sur les mesures interdisant aux membres d'imposer aux investisseurs étrangers des normes de rendement touchant, entre autres, l'emploi ou les cibles d'exportation. L'Accord général sur le commerce des services traite des investissements dans l'industrie des services. Toutefois, les efforts visant à ajouter les investissements comme tel au programme de l'actuel cycle de Doha de négociations sur le commerce international ont été abandonnés en 2003.

Tous les pays membres de l'OCDE se sont engagés à rendre publiques les mesures discriminatoires concernant les investissements, mais pour l'instant il n'y a pas de mécanisme en place pour mettre en œuvre cet engagement.

L'ALE et l'ALENA vont plus loin que les engagements de l'OMC, interdisant effectivement toute nouvelle restriction relative aux investissements directs (à l'exception de quelques industries), tout en laissant au Canada le droit d'examiner les importantes prises de contrôle en vertu de la Loi sur Investissement Canada. De plus, les éléments clés des très nombreux accords bilatéraux sur le commerce et l'investissement en négociation entre le Canada et d'autres pays visent à protéger et à promouvoir les investissements étrangers par des droits et obligations ayant force obligatoire52. Toutefois, ces accords diffèrent sensiblement quant à leur portée et à leur contenu.

Ainsi, bien que le traitement non discriminatoire des investisseurs soit un moteur de la mondialisation, l'institutionnalisation de ce traitement présente des défis.

Les obstacles informels

Des préoccupations ont été soulevées au sujet des obstacles informels ou non institutionnels à l'investissement international érigés par les gouvernements de plusieurs pays. De par leur nature, ces obstacles sont difficiles à repérer et à évaluer, mais plusieurs mesures sont en place pour empêcher des investisseurs étrangers d'acquérir un intérêt important dans une entreprise nationale. Parmi ces mesures, mentionnons les suivantes : des efforts gouvernementaux en vue d'effectuer des fusions d'entreprises nationales afin d'empêcher une prise de contrôle étrangère, le gouvernement détenant ce qu'on appelle des « actions préférentielles » lui permettant de mettre en minorité d'autres investisseurs et d'empêcher ainsi une prise de contrôle étrangère; l'utilisation d'accords à l'amiable entre les propriétaires agissant sous l'influence de l'État ou avec l'encouragement de celui-ci; et l'imposition d'une réglementation très rigoureuse pour restreindre les investissements extérieurs dans certaines entreprises ou certains secteurs de l'industrie. De telles barrières soulèvent des questions de réciprocité dans des économies de marché qui fonctionnent selon des règles juridiques.

La politique canadienne d'investissement extérieur

Par le passé, la politique officielle canadienne visait surtout à promouvoir l'exportation de biens et de services. Tout comme ses principaux concurrents, le Canada a déployé un réseau de commissaires chargés du commerce dans ses missions à l'étranger pour aider les entreprises canadiennes à se lancer sur les marchés étrangers. Au cours des dernières années, des conseillers en investissement se sont ajoutés dans un certain nombre de missions clés, mais leur objectif principal est de promouvoir les investissements étrangers au Canada. Il n'existe pas de mandat quant à la promotion de l'IDCE, même si la nouvelle stratégie commerciale mondiale du gouvernement souligne l'importance d'accroître les mouvements des investissements intérieurs et extérieurs pour améliorer la compétitivité et la productivité du Canada dans les années à venir.

Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) et la Corporation commerciale canadienne ont pour rôle d'aider à soutenir financièrement les exportations canadiennes, surtout les grands projets d'infrastructure et les approvisionnements principaux. EDC a pris quelques engagements en matière de financement d'IDCE. Grâce à de nouvelles modifications réglementaires, EDC sera davantage en mesure d'investir dans des fonds privés de capitaux propres et de capital-risque pour aider les entreprises canadiennes à prendre de l'expansion et à croître dans les marchés étrangers, surtout les marchés émergents.

D'aucuns ont soutenu que les efforts canadiens à l'appui de l'IDCE ont été fragmentaires. De nouveaux modèles de gestion axés sur les chaînes de valeur mondiales mettent l'accent sur les engagements commerciaux à l'échelle internationale, qu'il s'agisse d'investissements (intérieurs et extérieurs), de maillages en innovation ou d'exportations traditionnelles. Les pressions concurrentielles exercées sur les entreprises en vue d'investir à l'étranger augmentent.

PROMOUVOIR L'INVESTISSEMENT DIRECT CANADIEN À L'ÉTRANGER – QUESTIONS

  1. Quels obstacles, formels ou informels, les entreprises canadiennes doivent-elles franchir au moment d'effectuer des investissements et des acquisitions à l'étranger?
  2. Comment le gouvernement devrait-il adapter ses politiques pour promouvoir les investissements directs et les acquisitions à l'étranger par des Canadiens? Existe-t-il des mesures adoptées par d'autres pays qui sont pertinentes pour le Canada?
  3. Existe-t-il des politiques ou mesures qui seraient utiles pour relever les défis particuliers auxquels les petites et moyennes entreprises doivent faire face lorsqu'elles veulent devenir des concurrents sur la scène internationale et participer à des chaînes de valeur mondiales?
  4. Quelles incidences un dollar canadien ayant une valeur plus élevée a-t-il sur l'investissement direct canadien à l'étranger?