Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archived - 6. Becoming a Destination for Talent, Capital and Innovation

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

FDI for decades has been a significant contributor to Canada's economic performance. The stock of FDI in Canada is higher than in many of our competitors.53 Historically, FDI was the principal means of obtaining access to the Canadian market because of high tariff levels, creating what was called a "branch plant economy."

With tariffs now being relatively low through successive trade rounds and free trade agreements, many foreign-owned companies have rationalized production in Canada for North American and world markets.

The branch plant model has given way to the global value chain model, with R&D, design and production carried out in various geographic locations. Today and in the future, a key to a country's economic success will be to secure participation in global value chains managed by large multinational enterprises (MNEs), whether domestic or foreign.

It is particularly important for a country with a small domestic market like Canada's to participate in these global value chains. In this regard, there is growing evidence that MNEs, regardless of country of ownership, outperform domestic firms on a wide range of factors, including innovation, wages, productivity, exports and profits.

Many Canadian companies have been gaining this MNE advantage by investing abroad. However, for many Canadian firms, this advantage is gained through FDI. For small and medium-sized enterprises as well, once they achieve a certain size, the most attractive option, both for owners to realize value and for employees to expand their career opportunities, is often to become part of a larger corporate structure with global reach. The challenge for Canada, in regard to both its domestically based MNEs and to attract FDI, is to create an environment that can successfully compete for higher-value activities.

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade markets Canada's advantages as an investment location of choice and provides services to potential investors. A network of investment officers in overseas posts promote investment in priority sectors in Canada from key markets.

National Best Practices

Two developed countries offer worthy comparisons for Canada in developing policies to promote inward investment: Ireland and Australia.

Ireland's government has taken a proactive stance in reforming its economic policies to make the country more attractive as a location for investment. A key element in its strategy was a significant reduction in its corporate tax rates, seeking to attract foreign firms to Ireland on the basis of its competitive tax regime. The Irish have been very open in welcoming investment in their country, including actively seeking out foreign firms and investors. Recognizing that global corporations and investors look beyond any single national market, Ireland has also promoted itself as a location from which to access to the larger market of the European Union. As well, the Irish government placed a significant priority on investment in education and training, recognizing the importance of a skilled labour force. Since 1990, Ireland has improved its GDP per capita from one of the worst in the OECD to fourth overall.54

Australia, a country with many similarities to Canada, offers a second comparison, particularly as an example of a country that sought to strike a balance between attracting foreign investment while continuing the development of its domestic industry. From the mid-1990s onward, Australia has demonstrated a strong commitment to taking action on competitiveness issues, a commitment reflected not only in the federal government, but also at the state level. Structural and institutional reforms to its competition regime, as well as a focus on sustained and ongoing review and reform efforts, reflect Australia's dedication to adapting to a new global competitive environment. This structural reform effort is typified by the 1998 establishment of the Productivity Commission, which continues to make a significant contribution to the cause of Australian competitiveness, in terms of both process and advice to the government.55

The Future

How can Canada best compete on a broad basis for investment? Should Canada concentrate on investment primarily for the North American market? Since the implementation of free trade agreements almost two decades ago, Canada has not been the location of choice within North America. In fact, Canada's share of North American inward FDI stock has fallen from over 40 percent in 1980 to 16.3 percent in 2005.56 (Figure 12)

An important factor in the North American context is the signing by the U.S. and Mexico of bilateral trade and investment agreements with many countries, both within the hemisphere and outside it. As a result, both the U.S. and Mexico have the advantage of being investment hubs with radiating spokes to numerous free trade markets.

Still, in a North American context, with Canada representing only 10 percent of the Canada-U.S. market, investing in Canada with a view to exporting into the U.S. requires a compelling case of economic advantage to offset potential border risk. Unfortunately, in the post 9/11 world, that risk is higher than before, particularly in manufactured goods and their intermediate components. These challenges are exacerbated by border disputes that periodically arise between the two countries. An efficient Canada-U.S. border is an important factor in determining Canada's North American competitiveness.

Other factors that influence investment decisions include:

  • macro-economic environment
  • economic infrastructure
  • knowledge infrastructure
  • human capital
  • taxation policies
  • access to and cost of capital
  • regulatory environment
  • quality of management and entrepreneurial culture
  • quality of life indicators
  • energy costs.

Both the Conference Board of Canada and the Institute on Competitiveness and Prosperity have identified many of these factors as important to a nation's attractiveness as a destination for investment.

BECOMING A DESTINATION FOR TALENT, CAPITAL AND INNOVATION – QUESTIONS

  1. How can Canada better promote inward FDI? What policy change could contribute to the achievement of this objective?
  2. In particular, what mix of policy changes would be required to make Canada the preferred point of entry to, and location in, the North American market for the high-value activities of non-North American business entities?
  3. Is the modernization of Canada's competition and investment laws sufficient for successfully attracting foreign direct investment in Canada? What other priorities and policy issues should governments address?
  4. What impact does a higher-value Canadian dollar have on Canada's competitiveness as a destination for investment?
  5. What further could be done in Canada to promote an ongoing review of Canadian competition, investment and productivity performance aimed at Canada's sustained competitiveness?

Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archivée - 6. Attirer le talent, les capitaux et l'innovation

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Depuis plusieurs dizaines d'années, l'IED contribue fortement à la performance économique du Canada. La valeur de l'IED au Canada est plus élevée que celle enregistrée par plusieurs de ses concurrents53. Par le passé, à cause des tarifs élevés du Canada, l'IED était le principal moyen d'accéder au marché canadien, créant ainsi une « économie de succursales ».

Suite à une série de négociations commerciales et aux accords sur le libre-échange, les tarifs ont été abaissés et plusieurs entreprises détenues par des intérêts étrangers ont rationalisé leur production au Canada pour les marchés nord-américains et mondiaux.

Le modèle de succursales a été remplacé par celui de la chaîne de valeur mondiale, dans laquelle la R-D, la conception et la production sont effectuées en divers endroits. Aujourd'hui comme à l'avenir, la clé du succès économique d'un pays dépend de la participation à ces chaînes de valeur mondiales gérées par de grandes multinationales, de propriété nationale ou étrangère.

Un pays possédant un petit marché intérieur, comme le Canada, se doit de participer à ces chaînes de valeur mondiales. À cet égard, la documentation publiée sur l'économie démontre de plus en plus que les multinationales, peu importe le pays d'origine du dirigeant, surclassent les entreprises nationales à bien des égards, notamment sur le plan de l'innovation, de la rémunération, de la productivité, des exportations et des bénéfices.

Plusieurs entreprises canadiennes obtiennent les avantages d'une multinationale en investissant à l'étranger. Toutefois, pour plusieurs d'entre elles, cet avantage est obtenu par l'IED. De même, une fois que les petites et moyennes entreprises atteignent une taille donnée, la meilleure option pour que les propriétaires fassent des gains et que les employés élargissent leurs perspectives de carrière consiste à se joindre à une structure organisationnelle d'envergure mondiale. Le défi du Canada, pour ses multinationales établies au pays et pour attirer l'IED, est de créer un climat susceptible d'attirer les activités de plus grande valeur.

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada fait connaître les avantages qu'offre le Canada en tant qu'endroit privilégié où investir et offre des services aux investisseurs potentiels. Un réseau de conseillers en investissements en poste à l'étranger fait la promotion des investissements dans des secteurs prioritaires canadiens à partir de marchés clés.

Les meilleures pratiques nationales

Au chapitre de l'élaboration de politiques favorables aux investissements intérieurs par des intérêts étrangers, deux pays industrialisés se comparent au Canada : l'Irlande et l'Australie.

Le gouvernement irlandais a adopté une stratégie proactive en restructurant ses politiques économiques pour rendre le pays plus attrayant aux yeux des investisseurs. Un élément clé de sa stratégie a été de réduire sensiblement son taux d'imposition des sociétés, voulant ainsi attirer les sociétés étrangères grâce à un régime fiscal concurrentiel. Les Irlandais sont très ouverts aux investissements dans leur pays, et recherchent même activement des sociétés et des investisseurs étrangers. Estimant que les sociétés et les investisseurs mondiaux ne visent pas qu'un seul marché national, l'Irlande s'est aussi fait connaître comme l'endroit à partir duquel accéder à l'important marché qu'est l'Union européenne. De plus, le gouvernement irlandais accorde une grande priorité à l'investissement dans l'éducation et la formation, reconnaissant ainsi l'importance d'une main-d'œuvre qualifiée. Depuis 1990, le PIB par habitant de l'Irlande, qui était l'un des plus faibles de l'OCDE, est passé au 4e rang de l'ensemble des pays membres de cette organisation54.

L'Australie, pour sa part, est un pays présentant plusieurs similitudes avec le Canada, surtout comme pays essayant d'atteindre un juste équilibre entre deux objectifs : attirer des investissements étrangers et continuer de développer son industrie nationale. Depuis le milieu des années 1990, l'Australie a montré un ferme engagement à adopter des mesures sur la compétitivité, un engagement qui se reflète non seulement au sein de son gouvernement fédéral, mais aussi à l'échelle de ses États. Des réformes structurelles et institutionnelles apportées à son régime de concurrence, ainsi que des efforts soutenus et continus d'examen et de réforme reflètent l'engagement de l'Australie à s'adapter au nouveau climat concurrentiel mondial. Ces efforts de réforme structurelle se sont caractérisés par la création en 1998 d'une commission sur la productivité, qui continue d'apporter une grande contribution à la compétitivité australienne, tant sur le plan des processus que des conseils au gouvernement55.

L'avenir

Comment le Canada peut-il lutter à grande échelle pour obtenir des investissements? Devrait-il se concentrer principalement sur les investissements visant le marché nord-américain? Depuis l'entrée en vigueur des accords de libre-échange il y a près de 20 ans, le Canada n'a pas été l'endroit privilégié où investir en Amérique du Nord. En fait, la part canadienne de la valeur de l'IED nord-américain intérieur a chuté, passant de plus de 40 p. 100 en 1980 à 16,3 p. 100 en 2005 (figure 12)56.

Un élément important du contexte nord-américain est la ratification par les États-Unis et le Mexique d'accords bilatéraux de commerce et d'investissement avec plusieurs pays, à la fois dans notre hémisphère et ailleurs. Ainsi, les États-Unis et le Mexique ont l'avantage d'être des carrefours d'investissement s'étendant vers bon nombre de marchés de libre-échange.

Néanmoins, dans un contexte nord-américain où le Canada ne représente que 10 p. 100 du marché canado-américain, il faut bénéficier d'énormes avantages économiques pour investir au Canada en vue d'exporter aux États-Unis, afin de compenser les risques potentiels associés au passage de la frontière. Malheureusement, depuis les événements du 11 septembre, ce risque est plus élevé que jamais, surtout pour les produits manufacturés et leurs composants intermédiaires. Ces défis sont amplifiés par des querelles frontalières qui surviennent régulièrement entre les deux pays. Un passage de la frontière canado-américaine sans heurts est un facteur important pour la compétitivité du Canada dans le marché nord-américain.

Voici d'autres facteurs qui influent sur les décisions en matière d'investissement :

  • le climat macroéconomique;
  • l'infrastructure économique;
  • l'infrastructure du savoir;
  • le capital humain;
  • les politiques fiscales;
  • l'accès au capital et son coût;
  • le cadre de réglementation;
  • la qualité de la gestion et la culture d'entreprise;
  • les indicateurs de la qualité de vie;
  • les coûts de l'énergie.

Le Conference Board du Canada et l'Institute on Competitiveness and Prosperity ont déterminé que plusieurs de ces facteurs sont importants pour rendre un pays attrayant aux yeux des investisseurs.

ATTIRER LE TALENT, LES CAPITAUX ET L'INNOVATION – QUESTIONS

  1. Comment le Canada peut-il mieux promouvoir l'EID au pays? Quelles modifications à sa politique pourraient contribuer à atteindre cet objectif?
  2. En particulier, quelle combinaison de modifications devraient être apportées aux politiques pour faire du Canada le point d'entrée privilégié sur le marché nord-américain pour les activités à valeur ajoutée des entreprises autres que nord-américaines, et l'endroit de choix où s'établir?
  3. La modernisation des lois sur la concurrence et l'investissement suffirait-elle pour attirer l'IED au Canada? À quels autres priorités et enjeux politiques le gouvernement devrait-il prêter attention?
  4. Quelles incidences un dollar canadien ayant une valeur plus élevée a-t-il sur l'attrait concurrentiel du Canada pour les investisseurs?
  5. Quelles autres mesures pourraient être prises au Canada afin d'encourager un examen continu de la performance du pays en matière de concurrence, d'investissement et de productivité, en vue de maintenir sa compétitivité?