Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archived - Appendix 2 - Canada's Sectoral Investment Regimes

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

There are six sectors of the Canadian economy for which acquisitions of Canadian businesses by non-Canadians are subject to review at lower thresholds under the Investment Canada Act. In addition, Canada has sector-specific legislation and/or foreign ownership restrictions in telecommunications, cultural industries, broadcasting, transportation services and uranium production.57 As well, the financial services sector is subject to ownership restrictions of general application but not specific foreign ownership restrictions.

Telecommunications

The decision to introduce foreign investment restrictions in the telecommunications sector was taken during the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement (FTA) negotiations to mirror existing U.S. restrictions and to ensure these could be "grandfathered" within the FTA. Restrictions also reflected more general concerns about ensuring economic benefits. Other considerations, reflected in the Telecommunications Act's policy objectives, were that telecommunication systems are essential to safeguarding Canada's social and economic fabric, and that increased competition would lead Canadian service providers to use Canadian facilities. There is also the objective of addressing heightened concerns about national security and the use of telecommunication facilities to enable crime and terrorism.

Under the Telecommunications Act (under the responsibility of the Minister of Industry), a carrier is eligible to operate as a Canadian common carrier if it is Canadian owned and controlled.58 With respect to ownership of Canadian telecommunications carriers, the Canadian Telecommunications Common Carrier Ownership and Control Regulations set a minimum for Canadian beneficial ownership of holding companies of Canadian carriers at 66.66 percent of voting shares. Corresponding regulations were established under the Radiocommunication Act (RA) governing radio-based common carriers as an eligibility requirement in order to be issued a radiocommunication licence. The requirements under the RA are the same as those of the Telecommunications Act (TA) and they are applied by the Department of Industry. Under both the TA and the RA, the test provides that the carrier cannot be controlled in fact by non-Canadians. Similar rules apply in broadcasting. Ownership and control restrictions under the Broadcasting Act often apply concurrently with those under the TA and the RA, since many telecommunications carriers have been granted licenses and/or provide services under the Broadcasting Act.

Comparisons to other OECD countries show that Canada has a relatively restrictive foreign investment regime in the telecommunications sector (only Australia, China, South Africa are reported to have an equal or more restrictive regime). However, while some countries have no explicit foreign investment restrictions, they may have public equity investment in main fixed-line carriers (for example in France, Germany, Sweden, and Finland) or rely on other informal barriers. Informal barriers may include national security reviews (for example, by the Committee on Foreign Investment in the United States), licensing or regulatory regimes allowing discretionary control of foreign investments, and imposition of conditions.

Broadcasting

Governments around the world regulate foreign ownership in the broadcasting industry differently, since each country's broadcasting system operates in a different social or cultural environment and competitive marketplace. In Canada, broadcasting policy is the responsibility of the Minister of Canadian Heritage. While some developed countries have no restrictions, others like the U.S., France and Japan have foreign ownership limits on over-the-air broadcasters. In Canada, our relatively small, diverse population and the availability of U.S. broadcasts limit the degree to which market forces alone can ensure the provision of a range of Canadian news and entertainment programming in both official languages. Canadian ownership rules in broadcasting and broadcasting distribution, established under the Broadcasting Act,59 ensure that Canadian news and entertainment programming is made from a Canadian perspective and with Canadian audiences in mind.

Cultural Industries

Given Canada's relatively small, diverse market and given that its cultural businesses are small in comparison with their global competitors, successive Canadian governments have based public policy in this area on the premise that market forces alone are insufficient to ensure the availability of a suitable range of Canadian cultural products.

Cultural exemptions in international trade agreements such as the NAFTA recognize that cultural goods are unlike any other product. The right of countries to maintain measures to protect and promote cultural expression is reaffirmed by the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expression. Canada is open to foreign investment across most sectors of the cultural industries. In sectors where there are policy measures in place, the government maintains targeted, industry-specific policies under the ICA rather than a single broad policy.

In Canada, policy measures in support of culture are the responsibility of the Minister of Canadian Heritage. Such cultural support measures are not unique to Canada. Other countries use a combination of measures to develop and sustain domestic cultural products such as direct funding programs, foreign investment restrictions and/or tax credits.

The areas with policy measures are the book publishing, distribution and retail sectors; the periodical publishing and newspaper publishing sectors; and the film distribution sector. These polices generally prohibit the acquisition of an existing Canadian-owned business and prohibit or set conditions for the establishment of new businesses.

Foreign investments in the sound recording industry, the distribution and retail sectors of the periodical and newspaper industries, as well as the film production, exhibition and retail sectors are subject to "net benefit" definitions under the ICA.

Transportation Services

International air relations are governed largely by bilateral air agreements, which have the status of treaties and which, for the most part, incorporate national designation clauses that state only air carriers that are "substantially owned and controlled" by their government or home country nationals may be designated to operate air services under these agreements. There is no single internationally agreed upon definition for the concepts of "substantial ownership and effective control," and contracting states have discretion in choosing how to interpret it.

Under the Canada Transportation Act, administered by the Minister of Transport, ownership and control of voting interests held in a Canadian air carrier by non-Canadians may not exceed 25 percent. In particular, a Canadian air carrier must be controlled "in fact" by Canadians and at least 75 percent of the voting interests in an air carrier licensed to operate in Canada must be owned and controlled by Canadians. The Canadian Transportation Agency currently has a mechanism in place to review whether a Canadian carrier meets the ownership and de facto control requirements. It should be noted that, pursuant to the Canada Transportation Act, the foreign ownership limit may be increased by regulation as specified by the Governor in Council.

Internationally, some states have eased restrictions to allow up to 49 percent foreign ownership of their carriers. China and India are such examples. In addition, some also permit 100-percent foreign ownership for carriers offering domestic services only, such as Australia and New Zealand (subject to a national interest test) and the European Union (internal market).

Uranium Production

Most countries with significant uranium/nuclear programs have strong policies and programs in place to protect and support their domestic industries. Canada restricts nonresident ownership of uranium mining properties to 49 percent at the stage of first production. Higher levels of nonresident ownership are permitted if it can be demonstrated that the project remains Canadian controlled. The Minister of National Resources Canada can also grant an exemption, subject to Cabinet approval, in cases where it can be demonstrated clearly that no Canadian partners can be found. There are no restrictions in uranium exploration by foreign entities.

Policy approaches in other countries include investment prohibitions or restrictions in some or all parts of the nuclear fuel cycle, control of access to technology, intervention in the market through procurement policies, or direct political intervention. In the U.S., foreign investment is restricted in uranium enrichment and nuclear plants. China and Brazil bar foreign ownership altogether.

Financial Services

Federal financial institutions such as banks and insurance companies play a key role in the Canadian economy, as financial intermediaries engaged in the allocation of credit, in the safeguarding of deposits and other savings, and in the management of risk. Because of this role and because of the importance of minimizing prudential concerns, bank and insurance companies are subject to a unique regulatory framework.

As part of this framework, federal financial institutions are subject to certain ownership restrictions and residency rules.60 Importantly, this sector does not have foreign ownership restrictions: the same rules apply to both foreign and domestic investors. However, large banks and large demutualized life insurance companies are required to be widely held. These rules address the risk of inappropriate self-dealing in order to minimize the risk of failure of our largest institutions to the detriment of the entire financial system. The requirement for wide ownership also encourages transparency and sound governance practices.

The framework for federal financial institutions is reviewed every five years by virtue of a legislative requirement. The framework was most recently updated in March 2007 under Bill C-37. To recognize that valuations in this sector are growing, Bill C-37 raised the threshold that defines a large bank from $5 billion or more in equity to $8 billion or more. As well, the residency requirements for directors were adjusted to allow for financial institutions to appoint more foreign experts while assuring that Canadian directors remain a majority.

Most countries do not have explicit ownership restrictions in their legislation, but it is common for governments to require formal or informal approval of investments in financial institutions. Currently, the five largest banks in the U.S., the U.K., Australia, France and Germany are widely held and are not subsidiaries of a foreign entity. As in Canada, governments examine whether an investor is "fit and proper" to make an investment. Residency requirements for directors are also common in major jurisdictions, as are requirements that the head office be located where the institution is chartered.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archivée - Annexe 2 – Régimes sectoriels d'investissement au Canada

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

En vertu de la Loi sur Investissement Canada, les acquisitions d'entreprises canadiennes par des non-Canadiens sont assujetties, dans six secteurs de l'économie canadienne, à un examen à des seuils inférieurs. Le Canada dispose en outre d'une législation ou de restrictions sectorielles touchant la propriété étrangère dans les secteurs des télécommunications, des industries culturelles, de la radiodiffusion, des services de transport et de la production d'uranium57. Par ailleurs, le secteur des services financiers est assujetti à des restrictions à la propriété d'application générale, mais ne fait l'objet d'aucune restriction touchant la propriété étrangère.

Télécommunications

La décision d'imposer des restrictions sur les investissements étrangers dans le secteur des télécommunications a été prise lors des négociations entourant l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis (ALE), pour refléter les restrictions déjà imposées par les Américains et veiller à ce que celles-ci soient « automatiquement enchâssées » dans l'ALE. Les restrictions étaient aussi le reflet de préoccupations plus générales sur la garantie d'avantages économiques. D'autres facteurs, pris en compte dans les objectifs de politique de la Loi sur les télécommunications, sont que les systèmes de télécommunications sont essentiels pour sauvegarder la structure sociale et économique du Canada et qu'une concurrence plus grande amènerait les fournisseurs de service canadiens à utiliser les installations canadiennes. Les restrictions avaient aussi pour objectif de répondre aux préoccupations grandissantes à l'égard de la sécurité nationale et de l'utilisation d'installations de télécommunications à des fins criminelles ou terroristes.

En vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications (dont est responsable le ministre de l'Industrie), une entreprise est considérée comme une entreprise de télécommunications canadienne si elle est la propriété de Canadiens et sous contrôle canadien58. Le Règlement sur la propriété et le contrôle des entreprises de télécommunication canadiennes stipule par ailleurs que la propriété effective canadienne de sociétés de portefeuille d'entreprises de télécommunications canadiennes doit s'établir à au moins 66,66 p. 100 des actions avec droit de vote. Un règlement correspondant a été adopté en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, qui réglemente les transporteurs de radiocommunications, et rend cette exigence obligatoire avant l'émission d'une licence radio. Les exigences en vertu de la Loi sur la radiocommunication sont identiques à celles de la Loi sur les télécommunications et sont appliquées par Industrie Canada. En vertu des deux lois, les entreprises ne peuvent être sous le contrôle effectif de non-Canadiens. Des règlements similaires sont en vigueur dans le domaine de la radiodiffusion. Les restrictions touchant la propriété et le contrôle en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion s'appliquent souvent en parallèle à celles de la Loi sur les télécommunications et de la Loi sur la radiocommunication, puisque plusieurs entreprises de télécommunications ont obtenu des licences ou distribuent des services en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion.

Les comparaisons avec d'autres pays membres de l'OCDE indiquent que le Canada possède un régime d'investissement étranger dans le secteur des télécommunications assez restrictif (seules l'Australie, la Chine et l'Afrique du Sud possèdent des régimes similaires ou plus restrictifs). Toutefois, bien que certains pays n'aient pas de restrictions explicites concernant l'investissement étranger, ils exercent une participation publique au capital de transporteurs de services fixes principaux (par exemple, la France, l'Allemagne, la Suède et la Finlande) ou se fient à d'autres barrières informelles. Ces barrières informelles peuvent être un examen de la sécurité nationale (par exemple, le comité sur l'investissement étranger aux États-Unis), la mise en place de licences ou de régimes de réglementation assurant un contrôle discrétionnaire des investissements étrangers, ou l'imposition de conditions.

Radiodiffusion

Les gouvernements nationaux ont tous leur propre façon de réglementer la propriété étrangère dans l'industrie de la radiodiffusion puisque dans chaque pays, le système de radiodiffusion fonctionne dans un milieu social ou culturel et un marché concurrentiel différents. Au Canada, la politique en matière de radiodiffusion relève du ministre du Patrimoine canadien. Bien que certains pays industrialisés n'ont aucune restriction en place, d'autres, tels les États-Unis, la France et le Japon imposent des restrictions quant à la propriété des radiodiffuseurs en direct. Au Canada, la population peu élevée et diversifiée ainsi que la disponibilité des stations américaines diminuent la capacité des forces du marché à assurer à elles seules la prestation d'un éventail d'émissions de nouvelles et de divertissement canadiennes dans les deux langues officielles. Les règlements sur la propriété canadienne relatifs à la radiodiffusion et à la distribution de services de radiodiffusion, établis en vertu de la Loi sur la radiodiffusion59, veillent à ce que les émissions canadiennes de nouvelles et de divertissement présentent un point de vue canadien et soient réalisées à l'intention d'un auditoire canadien.

Industries culturelles

Étant donné que le marché canadien est diversifié et relativement petit et que ses entreprises culturelles sont petites par rapport à leurs concurrents mondiaux, les gouvernements successifs du Canada ont fondé leur politique officielle dans ce domaine sur la prémisse que les forces du marché ne suffisent pas à elles seules à assurer la disponibilité d'un éventail acceptable de produits culturels canadiens.

Des exemptions culturelles contenues dans les accords commerciaux internationaux, tels l'ALENA, reconnaissent que les biens culturels sont différents des autres produits. La Convention sur la protection et la promotion de la diversité des expressions culturelles de l'UNESCO réaffirme le droit des pays à mettre en œuvre des mesures visant à protéger et à promouvoir les expressions culturelles. Le Canada permet des investissements étrangers dans la plupart des industries culturelles. Dans les secteurs où des mesures stratégiques sont implantées, le gouvernement tient à jour des politiques ciblées propres à chacun de ces secteurs en vertu de la Loi sur Investissement Canada, plutôt qu'une seule politique générale.

Au Canada, les politiques qui appuient la culture relèvent du ministre du Patrimoine canadien. Le Canada n'est pas le seul à imposer des mesures. D'autres pays utilisent une combinaison de mesures pour contribuer au développement de produits culturels nationaux et à leur soutien, comme des programmes de financement direct, des restrictions touchant les investissements étrangers ou des crédits d'impôt.

Les domaines comportant des politiques sont les secteurs de l'édition, de la distribution et de la vente au détail de livres; le secteur de la publication de périodiques et de journaux; ainsi que le secteur de la distribution des films. Ces politiques interdisent en général l'acquisition d'une entreprise de propriété canadienne existante et interdisent ou établissent des conditions pour la création de nouvelles entreprises.

Les investissements étrangers dans l'industrie de l'enregistrement sonore, les secteurs de la distribution et de la vente au détail de périodiques et de journaux, ainsi que les secteurs de la production, de la présentation et de la vente de films doivent satisfaire aux critères de « l'avantage net » de la Loi sur Investissement Canada.

Services de transport

Des accords aériens bilatéraux régissent en grande partie les relations dans le domaine du transport aérien international. Ces accords sont considérés comme des traités et, pour la plupart, comprennent des clauses nationales de désignation qui stipulent que seuls les transporteurs aériens étant « la propriété substantielle ou sous le contrôle effectif » de leur gouvernement ou de ressortissants du pays peuvent être autorisés à exploiter des services aériens. Étant donné qu'il n'existe pas de définition reconnue internationalement du concept de « propriété substantielle et contrôle effectif », les pays signataires peuvent choisir la façon de l'interpréter.

En vertu de la Loi sur les transports au Canada, qui relève du ministre des Transports, la propriété et le contrôle des actions avec droit de vote détenues par des non-Canadiens dans un transporteur aérien canadien ne peut dépasser 25 p. 100. Notamment, un transporteur aérien canadien doit être sous le contrôle « effectif » de Canadiens, et des Canadiens doivent détenir et contrôler au moins 75 p. 100 des actions avec droit de vote d'un transporteur aérien étant autorisé à offrir des services au Canada. L'Office des transports du Canada a mis en place un mécanisme qui permet de déterminer si un transporteur canadien satisfait aux exigences sur la propriété et le contrôle de fait. Il est à noter que le gouverneur en conseil peut accroître par règlement le pourcentage de propriété étrangère, pour le porter à 49 p. 100 par exemple.

Sur le plan international, certains pays ont assoupli leurs restrictions et permettent que des intérêts étrangers détiennent jusqu'à 49 p. 100 de la propriété de leurs transporteurs aériens. La Chine et l'Inde en sont des exemples. De plus, les transporteurs aériens n'offrant que des services nationaux peuvent être entièrement détenus par des intérêts étrangers dans certaines entités administratives, comme l'Australie et la Nouvelle-Zélande (sous réserve de satisfaire à des critères d'intérêt national) et l'Union européenne (marché intérieur).

Production d'uranium

La plupart des pays dotés d'importants programmes nucléaires ou d'uranium possèdent de solides politiques et programmes pour protéger et soutenir leurs industries nationales. Le Canada restreint la participation des « non-résidents » au capital d'une entreprise exploitant de l'uranium à 49 p. 100 au stade de la première production. Un taux de participation plus élevé des non-résidents est permis si l'on peut établir que le projet demeure sous contrôle canadien. Le ministre des Ressources naturelles peut aussi accorder une exemption, qui doit être approuvée par le cabinet, lorsqu'il est clairement démontré qu'aucun partenaire canadien n'a pu être trouvé. Il n'y a pas de restrictions à l'égard de la prospection uranifère par des entités étrangères.

Les politiques en vigueur dans les autres pays comprennent notamment des interdictions ou des restrictions en matière d'investissement à certaines étapes, voire à toutes les étapes, du cycle du combustible nucléaire; des contrôles sur l'accès à la technologie; l'intervention sur le marché par des politiques d'approvisionnement; ou encore une intervention politique directe. Aux États-Unis, les investissements étrangers se limitent à l'enrichissement de l'uranium et aux centrales nucléaires. La Chine et le Brésil interdisent tout simplement les intérêts étrangers.

Services financiers

Des institutions financières fédérales, comme les banques et les compagnies d'assurances, jouent un rôle de premier plan dans l'économie canadienne à titre d'intermédiaires financiers pratiquant l'allocation de crédits, la protection de dépôts et d'autres épargnes, ainsi que la gestion du risque. En raison de ce rôle et de l'importance de limiter les préoccupations touchant la prudence, les banques et les compagnies d'assurance sont assujetties à un cadre de réglementation unique.

À ce chapitre, les institutions financières fédérales sont assujetties à certaines restrictions applicables à la propriété et à la résidence60. Fait important, ce secteur ne fait pas l'objet de restrictions quant à la propriété étrangère : les mêmes règlements s'appliquent aux investisseurs étrangers et canadiens. Toutefois, la propriété des grandes banques et des compagnies d'assurance-vie démutualisées doit être largement répartie. Ces règlements visent à limiter le risque de transactions d'initiés afin de diminuer le risque de faillite des plus grandes institutions canadiennes au détriment de l'ensemble du système financier. En outre, l'exigence visant la propriété largement répartie encourage la transparence et les pratiques de régie interne saines.

Le cadre des institutions financières fédérales fait l'objet d'un examen tous les cinq ans par exigence réglementaire. Il a été mis à jour récemment, en mars 2007, en vertu du projet de loi C-37. Afin de reconnaître que les valeurs dans ce secteur augmentent, le projet de loi C-37 a fait passer de 5 milliards à 8 milliards de dollars le seuil minimal qui définit une grande banque. Par ailleurs, les exigences relatives à la résidence pour les directeurs ont été ajustées pour permettre aux institutions financières de nommer davantage de spécialistes étrangers tout en veillant à ce que la majorité des directeurs soient canadiens.

La plupart des pays n'ont pas de restrictions législatives explicites concernant la propriété, mais il est fréquent que les gouvernements exigent d'autoriser – formellement ou non – les investissements dans les institutions financières. À l'heure actuelle, la propriété des cinq plus grandes banques des États-Unis, du Royaume-Uni, de l'Australie, de la France et de l'Allemagne est largement répartie et ces banques ne sont pas des filiales d'une entreprise étrangère. Tout comme au Canada, les gouvernements déterminent si un investisseur est « qualifié » pour effectuer un investissement. Les principales autorités législatives imposent souvent des exigences relatives à la résidence des directeurs et exigent que le siège social soit situé là où l'institution est établie en vertu d'une charte.