Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archived - 3. Globalization and the Pace of Change

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Canada is competing with other nations in a global economy in which powerful secular trends are changing the competitive landscape at an ever-quickening pace. An appreciation of these trends is essential to an analysis of Canada's position and to the development of measures to improve Canadians' standard of living. The Panel's recommendations have been developed with these trends in mind.

Economic globalization is not a new phenomenon. However, over the past 50 years, global economic forces have accelerated significantly in pace and intensity. Canadians must adapt to a global market that is undergoing rapid transformation as individuals and firms take advantage of the opportunities created by new enabling information and communications technologies, a substantial decrease in transportation costs, the spread of market-based economic ideologies, and countries' increased openness to trade and investment.

The Increasing Pace of Technological Advance

"Capitalism is taking us toward a future of accelerating change. The first twenty years of the twentieth century saw as much technological progress as the entire nineteenth century. Currently, industrial societies appear to be doubling their rate of technological progress every ten years. If this continues, and there is every reason to suppose that it will, the twenty-first century will experience the equivalent of twenty thousand years of 'normal' human progress."

— Walter R. Mead, God and Gold: Britain, America and the Making of the Modern World (Knopf: New York, October 2007).

Technological developments, including containerization, improvements in information processing and the introduction of lower-cost, more reliable systems for communicating voice, data and video, have greatly facilitated the internationalization of businesses. Over four decades, transportation and warehousing costs have declined by about a third as a share of the cost of the inputs used to produce goods and services in Canada.1

These forces have changed the frame of reference for economic activity from local to regional to continental and now to global. The notion of whom we compete with has changed. Today, Canadian firms compete against others not only in their city or region, but also across Canada, the continent and the world.

Globalization has increased the incentive for firms to search out the lowest-cost suppliers of materials and services, no matter where they are located. For the most part, multinational enterprises need no longer establish separate production facilities within a country to overcome tariff barriers. They base activities in a country or purchase materials and services from independent suppliers in a country only where this contributes to the overall efficiency of their operations.

Canada's Wine Industry — The Importance of Openness

The Canadian wine industry had long been relying on hardy native species of grapes, producing low-quality wines that were protected from foreign competition. The Canada–US Free Trade Agreement (FTA) put an end to industry protection and required wine growers to innovate or perish. They uprooted the native grape varieties and planted high-quality European grapes. They introduced Vintners Quality Alliance (VQA) standards, which enhanced the reputation of Canadian wines. Canadian vineyards became tourist attractions and promoted new, unique products, further building the world-class reputations of Canadian wineries. Increased foreign competition can drive innovation and enhance competitiveness.2

The transition to a larger marketplace has been foreshadowed for a generation. For Canada, the 1965 Auto Pact with the US signalled the evolution of economic activity from a national to a continental scope. The 1989 Canada–US Free Trade Agreement (FTA) and the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) in 1994 advanced the integration of Canada into a North American economy anchored by the US. As a result, Canadians began to compete not only with other Canadians, but also with firms and workers from across North America.

The international community has implemented similar agreements governing world trade, beginning with the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) in 1948 and continuing to the World Trade Organization (WTO) in 1995. They opened up huge new market opportunities and increased global competition.

The Fundamentals of Global Competition

As firms and countries rethink their strategies for achieving success, they must recognize the following key trends arising from the current wave of globalization.

Greater Mobility of People and Capital

International migration has increased markedly as people seek the best jobs and opportunities. The US, Germany and Canada are expected to be the top three net recipients of international migrants over the next half-century.

Table 1 — Top Six Net Immigration and Net Emigration Countries, 2005–2050
Net Immigration Countries Net Emigration Countries
Rank Country Migration (thousands) Rank Country Migration (thousands)
1 United States 1107 1 China -327
2 Germany 202 2 Mexico -293
3 Canada 200 3 India -241
4 United Kingdom 130 4 Philippines -180
5 Italy 120 5 Indonesia -164
6 Australia 100 6 Pakistan -154
Source: United Nations Economic and Social Affairs, World Population Prospects: The 2006 Revision.

The availability of skilled talent is a key determinant of investment decisions and the location of economic activity. Many countries have increased their focus on immigration to acquire needed skills. The availability of skilled labour is a key to ensuring sustained growth in all regions and sectors.

Slowing population growth and the aging of the population in developed countries will become an important factor in labour mobility. In the future, new skilled labour will come increasingly from developing economies.3

Global foreign direct investment (FDI) flows have grown a hundredfold from 1970 to 2006.4 FDI expansion significantly outpaced growth in gross domestic product and trade over this period.5 This FDI growth has been largely driven by cross-border mergers and acquisitions, and has featured an increasing involvement of private equity funds and sovereign wealth funds.6

Going forward, being an attractive destination for skilled immigrants and foreign investment will be a critical success factor for developed countries.

Broader Competition for Raw Materials and Natural Resources

Accelerating global growth has increased world demand for raw materials ranging from food to base metals. Prices have increased rapidly over a broad range of commodity groups.7 The growing demand for resources and the rise in associated prices, notably for energy and food, has had wide-ranging impacts, driving up the relative value of commodity-weighted currencies, raising costs for individuals, and obliging businesses and industries to find new strategies to adapt.

"Scale" Can Now Be Defined in Global Terms

In industries that benefit from economies of scale, large multinational enterprises increasingly dominate because they are able to achieve scale on a global basis. This scale in turn permits global operations, attracts talent and increases each firm's capacity to make investments and take political risks.

For example, the mining sector has recently experienced major structural change, with consolidation at all levels and the emergence of very large privately owned diversified corporations. For them, acquisitions are critical for securing new projects and diversifying portfolios in terms of commodities and geography. Canadian giant Alcan was acquired in 2007 for US$43 billion by Rio Tinto.8

Companies that have built global efficiencies often establish global and regional product mandates within their enterprise. A company may have several divisional or regional offices. A nation's productivity and competitiveness are important factors in helping business units dispersed across the world win global product mandates.

The Growth of "Global Value Chains"

Changing business dynamics are putting additional competitive pressures on firms. Cost pressures have increased as production cycles shorten to more quickly respond to changes in consumer demand. As new competitors emerge from anywhere in the world, business lines can move from profitability to loss with unprecedented speed.

Firms have responded to these challenges by casting aside the traditional paradigm of firms offering finished goods produced in a country for sale domestically or across a border. More firms now seek to organize their activities or position themselves within "global value chains."

A global value chain is the process whereby the production of increasingly complex goods and services is organized across international borders.9 The term "value chain" captures the linkages in activity required to bring a product from conception through final production to market. This can include design, production, marketing, distribution and support activities. Whether a complex product like an aircraft or BlackBerry, or something as "simple" as a fashionable article of clothing, firms are competing for participation in successive stages of production.

Figure 1 — Bombardier's Global Express, Component Source by Country

Figure 1 - Bombardier's Global Express, Component Source by Country

Source: Industry Canada.

click here if you would like the text equivalent of image

Many of the same phenomena described above that have contributed to globalization (e.g., declining trade barriers, burgeoning investment flows, decreasing transportation costs) have also contributed to the growth in global value chains.10

Firms have become more flexible, horizontally organized enterprises, converting from geographically concentrated production networks to geographically dispersed networks.11

Siemens Medical Body Scanners

SIEMENS has been global since the 19th century. Today it operates in 190 countries, with 80 percent of its sales, 70 percent of its factories and 66 percent of its workers abroad. Siemens "goes further than mere off-shoring of low-value-added work; [it] also does much of its research and product development abroad. For instance, a lower-cost version of one of its expensive medical body scanners, tailor-made for the Chinese market, was initially developed jointly at its headquarters in Munich and in China, where it is also being manufactured; but the latest version was developed entirely in China. This Chinese Siemens product is now sold in developing countries round the world."12

New Competitors Are Emerging

Economic relations between developed and developing countries are being altered by globalization. Capital no longer flows primarily from developed countries to developing countries. Capital today also flows from developing countries into developed countries.

In the past, developed countries maintained their advantage by using their advanced technology and skilled labour to export manufactured goods to developing countries. Then, companies reoriented their operations, designing products in developed countries but assembling products in lower-cost developing countries. Now, competition can come from anywhere, and high-tech products can be designed and engineered in what was formerly referred to as the developing world and disseminated via global distribution networks.13

In 2007, emerging economies produced just over half of world output and accounted for more than half of the increase in global gross domestic product.14 These economies are rapidly becoming a major force in the world economy. As their prosperity increases, so will their demand for resources. Since the early 1990s, for example, China's shares in world consumption of oil, aluminum and steel have doubled.15

Figure 2 — Brazil, Russia, India, China (BRIC) Projected Share of Gross Domestic Product, 2006–2050

Figure 2 - Brazil, Russia, India, China (BRIC) Projected Share of Gross Domestic Product, 2006-2050

Source: Goldman Sachs Global Economics Paper No. 153, "The N-11: More Than an Acronym," March 28, 2008.

click here if you would like the text equivalent of image

The Internet as an Agent of Change

The Internet is the dominant technology platform for a growing number of information and communications products that are radically changing how people around the world live and work and how businesses operate and generate wealth.16 The Internet's pervasiveness is being felt across developing as well as developed countries. In 1997, nearly three quarters of the world's population living in developing countries accounted for just 5 percent of the world's Internet users. Now they account for over 30 percent.17 Global mobile connections passed the one billion mark in 2004 and reached the three billion mark in 2008, with much of this growth occurring within developing countries. Today, new connections are being added to global mobile networks at the rate of 15 per second, 1.3 million per day.18

The Internet is bringing new competition into Canadian and global markets. Both buyers and sellers have more easily accessible information on market conditions and prices. Transaction costs for buying and selling goods and services are reduced, often significantly. New online businesses are being created, and the borders of formerly isolated national markets are more permeable. The Internet is also a force for productivity growth because it promotes the more efficient use of business resources.

A country's competitiveness depends on governments welcoming, rather than seeking to control, the new freedom and choices brought by the Internet as an agent of change.

The Challenge of Globalization and Change

Globalization has become a critical challenge to Canadian competitiveness. Canadians cannot be shielded from global forces. To chart our future, we must confront these forces and deal with them. This will require us to challenge some long-held notions that harken back to a different era. Strategies that were successful in the past must be replaced with new strategies that respond to a larger global marketplace.

In the new world economy, Canada must be ready to keep pace with change and develop a global mindset that is open to two-way trade, investment and talent. Canada's economic success will be determined by how well we deal with the economic, social and political forces that are driving globalization. The future well-being of Canadian businesses, jobs and incomes depends on concerted and continuing actions by all Canadians.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archivée - 3. La mondialisation et le rythme du changement

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Le Canada est en concurrence avec d’autres nations dans une économie mondiale caractérisée par de fortes tendances séculaires qui modifient le paysage concurrentiel à un rythme accéléré. Il faut comprendre ces tendances pour pouvoir analyser la position du Canada et mettre au point des mesures visant à améliorer le niveau de vie des Canadiens. Les recommandations du Groupe d’étude ont été élaborées en tenant compte de ces tendances.

La mondialisation économique n’a rien de nouveau. Cependant, au cours des 50 dernières années, le rythme et l’intensité des forces économiques mondiales ont fortement augmenté. Les Canadiens doivent s’adapter à un marché mondial qui connaît une transformation rapide, à mesure que des particuliers et des entreprises tirent parti des occasions générées par les nouvelles techologies de l’information et des communications habilitantes, une forte diminution des frais de transport, la diffusion des idéologies économiques fondées sur le marché et l’ouverture accrue des pays au commerce et à l’investissement.

L'accélération des Progrès Technologiques

« Le capitalisme nous plonge dans un avenir de changements effrénés. Les 20 premières années du XXe siècle ont connu autant de progrès technologique que tout le XIXe. À l’heure actuelle, les sociétés industrialisées semblent doubler le rythme de ce progrès tous les dix ans. À cette cadence, il est permis de croire que le XXIe siècle vivra l’équivalent de vingt mille années de progrès humain normal. » [TRADUCTION]

– Walter R. Mead, God and Gold: Britain, America and the Making of the Modern World, Knopf, New York, octobre 2007.

Les développements technologiques, dont l’utilisation de conteneurs, l’évolution du traitement de l’information et l’introduction de systèmes moins chers et plus fiables de communication de la voix, de données et de vidéo, ont grandement facilité l’internationalisation des affaires. En quatre décennies, les coûts de transport et d’entreposage ont chuté du tiers en pourcentage du coût des intrants servant à produire des biens et services au Canada1.

Ces forces ont transformé le cadre de référence de l’activité économique, qui est passé de local à régional, puis à continental et est maintenant mondial. L’idée que nous nous faisons de nos concurrents a changé. Aujourd’hui, les entreprises canadiennes se livrent mutuellement concurrence non seulement dans leur ville ou leur région, mais aussi à l’échelle du Canada, du continent et du monde.

La mondialisation a intensifié l’incitatif entrepreneurial à trouver les fournisseurs de matières et de services les moins chers, peu importe leur origine. Règle générale, les entreprises multinationales n’ont plus à se doter d’installations distinctes de production dans un pays pour contourner des barrières commerciales. Elles basent des activités ou achètent des matières et des services de fournisseurs indépendants dans un pays donné seulement si cela contribue à l’efficacité générale de leurs opérations.

L’Industrie Canadienne du vin – L’Importance de la Politique d' Ouverture

L’industrie canadienne du vin s’est longtemps restreinte à des variétés de raisin rustiques locales donnant des vins de piètre qualité à l’abri de la concurrence étrangère. L’Accord de libre-échange Canada–États-Unis (ALE) a mis fin au protectionnisme industriel et forcé les viticulteurs à innover ou périr. Ils ont arraché les variétés locales de raisin et planté des vignes européennes de qualité supérieure. Ils ont lancé les normes de la Vintners Quality Alliance (VQA), ce qui a rehaussé la réputation des vins canadiens. Les vignobles canadiens sont devenus des attraits touristiques et les viticulteurs canadiens ont fait la promotion de produits nouveaux et uniques, ce qui contribué à étoffer leur réputation internationale. Un surcroît de concurrence étrangère peut pousser à l’innovation et accroître la compétitivité2.

La transition à un plus grand marché était prévue depuis une génération. Pour le Canada, le Pacte de l’automobile de 1965 avec les États-Unis a annoncé le passage de l’activité économique du niveau national au niveau continental. L’Accord de libre-échange Canada–États-Unis (ALE) de 1989 et l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) de 1994 ont fait progresser l’intégration du Canada dans une économie nord-américaine centrée sur les États-Unis. En conséquence, les Canadiens se sont mis non seulement à se livrer concurrence entre eux, mais également à livrer concurrence avec des entreprises et des travailleurs situés partout en Amérique du Nord.

La communauté internationale s’est dotée d’ententes semblables, qui régissent le commerce international. Il y a d’abord eu l’Accord général sur les tarifs douaniers et le commerce (GATT) en 1948, puis l’Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) en 1995. Ces ententes ont entraîné de très grandes possibilités de nouveaux marchés et une concurrence mondiale accrue.

Les fondements de la concurrence mondiale

À mesure que les entreprises et les pays repensent leurs stratégies de réussite, ils doivent reconnaître les principales tendances suivantes déclenchées par la vague actuelle de mondialisation.

Mobilité accrue des gens et des capitaux

La migration internationale connaît une forte croissance, à mesure que les travailleurs se cherchent de meilleurs emplois et perspectives d’avenir. On s’attend à ce que les États-Unis, l’Allemagne et le Canada soient les trois plus grandes destinations de migrants internationaux au cours du prochain demi-siècle.

Tableau 1 – Les six pays à plus forte immigration nette et les six pays à plus forte émigration nette, 2005-2050
Pays à immigration nette Pays à émigration nette
Rang Pays Migration (milliers) Rang pays Migration (milliers)
1 États-Unis 1 107 1 Chine -327
2 Allemagne 202 2 Mexique -293
3 Canada 200 3 Inde -241
4 Royaume-Uni 130 4 Philippines -180
5 Italie 120 5 Indonésie -164
6 Australie 100 6 Pakistan -154
Source : Nations Unies, Affaires économiques et sociales, Perspectives de la population mondiale : Révision de 2006.

La disponibilité de travailleurs qualifiés est un déterminant clef des décisions d’investissement et de l’emplacement des activités économiques. De nombreux pays portent davantage attention à l’immigration pour se doter des compétences dont ils ont besoin. La disponibilité de travailleurs qualifiés est un facteur clef d’une croissance durable dans toutes les régions et tous les secteurs.

Le ralentissement de la croissance de la population et le vieillissement de la population actuelle dans les pays industrialisés deviendront d’importants éléments sous-tendant la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre. À l’avenir, les nouveaux travailleurs qualifiés proviendront de plus en plus des économies en voie de développement3.

Les flux d’investissement étranger direct (IED) à l’échelle mondiale se sont multipliés par 100 entre 1970 et 20064. La hausse de l’IED a été beaucoup plus forte que la croissance du produit intérieur brut et du commerce pendant cette période5. Cette croissance de l’IED est due principalement à des fusions et des acquisitions transfrontalières et s’est caractérisée par la participation accrue des fonds d’actions privés et des fonds souverains6.

À compter de maintenant, le fait d’être une destination attrayante aux yeux d’immigrants qualifiés et des investisseurs étrangers sera un élément essentiel de la réussite des pays industrialisés.

Concurrence accrue pour les matières premières et les ressources naturelles

L’accélération de la croissance mondiale a augmenté la demande mondiale de matières premières, tant les aliments que les métaux communs. Nous avons récemment assisté à une flambée des prix d’une vaste gamme de produits de base7. La demande croissante de ressources et l’augmentation du prix de ces ressources, notamment en ce qui a trait à l’énergie et aux aliments, a eu de vastes répercussions et a fait grimper la valeur relative des monnaies fortement axées sur les produits de base. Il en a découlé une augmentation des coûts pour les particuliers et l’obligation pour les entreprises et les industries d’élaborer des stratégies d’adaptation.

Le terme « échelle » peut maintenant se définir sur une base mondiale

Dans les industries qui tirent parti des économies d’échelle, les grandes entreprises multinationales sont de plus en plus dominantes car elles peuvent bénéficier d’économies d’échelle sur une base mondiale. Ces économies permettent à leur tour des opérations mondiales, attirent des talents et augmentent la capacité de chaque entreprise d’investir et d’assumer des risques politiques.

Par exemple, le secteur de l’exploitation minière a récemment vécu des grands changements structuraux, accompagnés de consolidations à tous les niveaux et de l’émergence de gigantesques entreprises privées diversifiées. Dans leur cas, les acquisitions sont essentielles pour décrocher de nouveaux projets et diversifier leurs portefeuilles en matière de produits de base et d’emplacements géographiques. Le géant canadien Alcan a été acquis en 2007 pour 43 milliards de dollars américains par Rio Tinto8.

Les entreprises qui se sont dotées de structures efficientes à l’échelle mondiale décrochent souvent des mandats mondiaux et régionaux pour des produits. Une entreprise peut disposer de plusieurs bureaux divisionnaires ou régionaux. La productivité et la compétitivité d’un pays sont d’importants facteurs qui aident des établissements commerciaux dispersés dans le monde à décrocher des mandats mondiaux de produits.

La croissance des « chaînes de valeur mondiales »

L’évolution de la dynamique des affaires s’ajoute aux pressions concurrentielles qui pèsent sur les entreprises. La pression des coûts s’accroît à mesure que les cycles de production se resserrent pour répondre plus rapidement à l’évolution des attentes des consommateurs. Avec l’émergence de nouveaux concurrents pouvant venir de n’importe où dans le monde, un secteur d’activité peut passer à toute vitesse de la rentabilité à la perte.

Les entreprises ont réagi à ces défis en rejetant le paradigme traditionnel d’entreprises offrant des biens finis, produits dans un pays pour vente à l’interne ou à l’étranger. Davantage d’entreprises cherchent maintenant à structurer leurs activités ou à se positionner au sein de « chaînes de valeur mondiales ».

Une chaîne de valeur mondiale est un processus par lequel la production de biens et services de plus en plus complexes est structurée en mode transfrontalier9. L’expression « chaîne de valeur » saisit une suite d’activités requises pour qu’un produit passe de la conception à sa production finale et ensuite au marché. Ceci peut comprendre la conception, la production, le marketing, la distribution et les activités de soutien. Qu’il s’agisse d’un produit complexe comme un avion ou un BlackBerry, ou de quelque chose d’aussi simple qu’un article de mode, des entreprises se livrent concurrence pour participer aux étapes successives de la production.

Plusieurs phénomènes similaires déjà décrits, qui ont contribué à la mondialisation (abaissement de barrières commerciales, croissance des flux d’investissement, baisse des coûts de transport) ont également contribué à la croissance des chaînes de valeur mondiales10.

Les entreprises ont acquis de la flexibilité, se sont structurées horizontalement et sont passées de réseaux de production concentrés à un endroit à des réseaux géographiquement dispersés11.

Figure 1 – Le Global Express de Bombardier : origine des composants, par pays

Figure 1 - Le Global Express de Bombardier : origine des composants, par pays

Source : Industrie Canada.

Cliquez ici pour voir le texte correspondant à l'image

Émergence de nouveaux concurrents

La mondialisation perturbe les relations économiques entre les pays industrialisés et ceux en voie de développement. Les capitaux ne se déplacent plus essentiellement des premiers vers les seconds, mais vont également des pays en voie de développement vers les pays industrialisés.

Scanners Médicaux Siemens

SIEMENS vit la mondialisation depuis le XIXe siècle. Aujourd’hui, cette entreprise a des installations dans 190 pays, avec 80 % de ses ventes, 70 % de ses usines et 66 % de ses travailleurs à l’étranger. Siemens fait plus qu’exporter des emplois de bas d’échelle, elle fait la plupart de ses recherches et de son développement de produits à l’étranger. Par exemple, une version moins chère de ses scanners médicaux, faite sur mesure pour le marché chinois, a d’abord été développée conjointement dans ses sièges sociaux de Munich et de Chine, où ils sont également fabriqués; cependant la version la plus récente a été développée entièrement en Chine. Ce produit Siemens chinois est maintenant vendu dans des pays en voie de développement du monde entier12.

Par le passé, les pays industrialisés conservaient leur avantage en se servant de leur technologie de pointe et de leur main-d’œuvre spécialisée pour exporter des biens manufacturés vers les pays en voie de développement. Ensuite, nombre d’entreprises ont repensé leurs opérations en concevant des produits dans les pays industrialisés, mais en les assemblant à bon compte dans des pays en voie de développement. Maintenant, la concurrence peut arriver de n’importe où, et des produits de haute technologie peuvent être conçus et exécutés sur plans d’ingénieurs dans ce qu’on appelait jadis le monde en voie de développement, pour ensuite être disséminés par l’entremise de réseaux mondiaux de distribution13.

En 2007, les économies émergentes représentaient juste un peu plus de 50 % de la production mondiale et plus de la moitié de la croissance du produit intérieur brut mondial14. Ces économies deviennent rapidement une grande force de l’économie mondiale. À mesure que leur prospérité croîtra, leur demande de ressources augmentera également. Depuis le début des années 1990, par exemple, la part chinoise de la consommation de pétrole, d’aluminium et d’acier a doublé15.

Figure 2 – Part prévue du produit intérieur brut du groupe Brésil, Russie, Inde et Chine (BRIC), 2006-2050

Figure 2 – Part prévue du produit intérieur brut du groupe Brésil, Russie, Inde et Chine (BRIC), 2006-2050

Source : Goldman Sachs Global Economics, « The N-11: More than an Acronym », Paper No. 153, mars 2008.

Cliquez ici pour voir le texte correspondant à l'image

Internet en tant qu’agent de changement

Internet est la plateforme technologique dominante d’un nombre croissant de produits de l’information et des communications qui modifient radicalement la façon dont les gens du monde entier vivent et travaillent et dont les entreprises sont exploitées et génèrent de la richesse16. L’omniprésence d’Internet se fait sentir tant dans les pays industrialisés qu’en voie de développement. En 1997, près des trois quarts de la population mondiale vivaient dans des pays en voie de développement mais ils ne représentaient que 5 % des usagers d’Internet. Maintenant, ils comptent pour plus de 30 %17. Les connexions mobiles mondiales ont franchi la barre du milliard en 2004 et celle du 3 milliards en 2008, une grande partie de cette croissance s’étant produite dans les pays en voie de développement. Aujourd’hui, les réseaux mobiles mondiaux croissent à un rythme de 15 connexions par seconde, soit 1,3 million par jour 18.

Internet fait entrer de nouveaux concurrents dans les marchés canadiens et mondiaux. Tant les acheteurs que les vendeurs ont un meilleur accès aux données sur les conditions et les prix du marché. Les coûts de transaction d’achat et de vente de biens et services ont baissé, parfois considérablement. De nouvelles entreprises en ligne se créent et les frontières de marchés nationaux auparavant isolés deviennent plus perméables. Internet est également un stimulant de la croissance de la productivité parce qu’il encourage l’utilisation plus efficace des ressources commerciales.

Pour assurer la compétitivité d’un pays, le gouvernement de ce pays doit réserver un accueil favorable à cette nouvelle liberté et aux choix que permet Internet comme agent de changement, et non essayer d’exercer un contrôle.

Le défi de la mondialisation et du changement

La mondialisation est maintenant devenue un défi critique pour la compétitivité canadienne. Les Canadiens ne peuvent échapper aux forces mondiales. Pour décider de notre avenir, nous devons faire face à ces forces et nous en accommoder. Ceci exigera que nous remettions en question certains concepts qui nous sont chers, mais reflètent une ère révolue. Les stratégies qui auparavant marchaient bien doivent céder leur place à de nouvelles stratégies qui embrassent un marché mondial plus vaste.

La nouvelle économie mondiale exige que le Canada demeure au fait du changement et adopte une attitude mondiale ouverte aux échanges bidirectionnels en matière de commerce, d’investissements et de talents. La réussite économique du Canada sera déterminée par la mesure dans laquelle le pays arrivera à composer avec les forces économiques, sociales et politiques qui sous-tendent la mondialisation. La santé future des entreprises canadiennes, des emplois et des revenus dépend de gestes concertés et soutenus, posés par tous les Canadiens.