Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archived - 4. What We Heard and What We Learned

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

In developing our recommendations, we relied on what we heard during our consultations and what we learned from existing and original research, tempered by our own experiences as business people in competitive markets.

Canadians can take great pride in our economic performance over the past decade as Canada enjoyed economic growth and prosperity. We saw unprecedented budget surpluses, falling unemployment, strong growth in the service sector and the creation of millions of new jobs. In financial markets, Canadians experienced stable and low rates of inflation, falling interest rates and a rising Canadian dollar against other currencies, particularly the US dollar. More recently, as a resource-rich nation, Canada has benefited from growing world demand and rising natural resource prices.

But we heard from Canadians that they are worried about the current economic outlook and are less confident about the future. They spoke to us of risks and uncertainties arising from an array of indicators such as plant closures and job losses, little growth in earnings, escalating prices for basic staples such as food and energy, and the threats of new global rivals whose population and productivity are growing at a faster pace than Canada's. Canadians believe that something is wrong.

However, it became clear to us that Canadians do not perceive that there is an imminent crisis. What they want to avoid is a decline in Canada's standing in the world as other more nimble and aggressive countries rise to displace Canada. But Canadians do not appear to have a view about what needs to be done to avoid this outcome, nor a common view of the root causes of their unease. In the balance of this chapter, we set out the Panel's view of the key warning signs that Canadians told us they see and our conclusions about the underlying issues.

Hollowing Out — the Loss of Canadian Icons

We heard concern that Canadian businesses are being swallowed by foreign competitors in an era of global consolidation. The recent increase in foreign direct investment (FDI) in Canada, particularly through mergers and acquisitions (M&As), has raised concerns in many quarters about diminished control and influence by Canadians over the domestic economy. As multinational enterprises have consolidated, foreign investors have acquired a number of well-established Canadian companies, including Alcan, Falconbridge, Inco and Hudson's Bay Company. Such firms have been significant employers and anchors of Canadian communities.

These transactions sparked questions regarding Canada's foreign investment policies as well as about the effect of losing corporate head offices and associated high-value jobs and services. The transactions have also highlighted the global nature of industry restructuring. Canada's biggest recent M&A transactions were initiated by firms based in the US, the United Kingdom, Switzerland, Brazil, Australia, the Netherlands and the United Arab Emirates.

The debate over the "hollowing out" of the Canadian economy has been emotionally charged. In the first half of this decade, Canada was the world's second most popular site for foreign takeovers.1 It has been argued that, relative to the size of its domestic capital market, Canada has been both the biggest net seller of companies in the world and the easiest country in which to acquire firms.2 Yet overall, the data indicate that the share of assets in Canada's non-financial industries under foreign control has not changed noticeably in recent years.3

Research in Motion

When Mike Lazaridis and Doug Fregin started their electronics company in 1984 with a small government grant and a family loan, they could hardly have predicted what the future had in store for Research In Motion (RIM). The pair knew only that they were pretty handy with a circuit board. Within four years, their electronics company focused on the transmission of wireless data. Co-chairman Jim Balsillie came on board in 1992 and began driving RIM's series of inventions to market. In 1998, RIM introduced the first BlackBerry with basic email, which it has turned into a popular consumer and corporate product for CEOs and soccer moms alike. The BlackBerry reached 1 million subscribers in 2004 and 10 million subscribers in 2007. RIM is expanding to Europe and Asia-Pacific. RIM is now the most valuable company in Canada, based on its market capitalization of nearly $60 billion.4

In fact, we see the increasing success of Canadian companies growing on the global stage. The number of Canadian-owned and headquartered firms that ranked in the top five of their respective industries grew from 15 to 40 over the past two decades.5 Indeed, this period witnessed world-leading Canadian-based multinational enterprises such as Manulife Financial, Research In Motion (RIM) and SNC-Lavalin succeed in growing their international presence. While Canada has lost a number of leading companies in recent years, we are also the host country for a number of growing Canadian champions.

SNC-Lavalin

SNC-Lavalin (a leading group of engineering and construction companies) shows how an international orientation can provide access to large markets and hedge against economic downturns in a company's home economy. SNC-Lavalin leveraged its world-class technical expertise to develop an international network and a strong global supply chain. It consciously built on Canada's good reputation abroad.6

We do not believe that it is desirable — or possible — to stop the natural rhythm of creative destruction and renewal, which is a key tenet of a market-based economy. The benefits of competition are too great. However, we share the concern of Canadians about the effects on Canada and on opportunities for Canadians.

Declining Share of Foreign Investment

In contrast to the concern about foreign takeovers of Canadian companies, some analysts have noted that, over recent decades, Canada has become less successful in attracting international investment. Canada's share of the world FDI stock has fallen from almost 16 percent in 1970 to just over 3 percent in 2006. In terms of FDI relative to gross domestic product, Canada over the past 25 years has experienced the greatest decline in the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).7

New Labour Market Dynamics

As business competition has become more global and companies have shifted some operations to lower-cost locations, many Canadian workers have faced painful labour market adjustments. Overall, Canada's economy has adjusted well, adding many more new jobs, benefiting from the recent commodity boom and registering an unemployment rate near a three-decade low. In some sectors, strong economic growth has created significant skills shortages, a problem that will worsen as our population ages and indigenous workforce growth declines.

Workers in some sectors have been hard hit by recent global changes, particularly in sectors such as forestry and manufacturing, which have been heavily affected by the rapid appreciation of the Canadian dollar against the US dollar and other challenges.

Canada Has a Limited Presence in Markets Other than the US

Canada's primary trading partner is, and for the foreseeable future will continue to be, the United States.8 But growing markets in the expanding European Union, South America and Asia present new opportunities.

For example, strong growth is forecast in developing markets, including the so-called "BRIC" countries (Brazil, Russia, India and China), where Canada has very limited presence.9 There are expected to be significant opportunities in these markets, driven by the emergence of a vast middle class of many millions of new consumers that their economic growth represents. It is estimated that these new markets may account for as much as 50 percent of the world economy in the coming generation. However, priorities will have to be established to avoid deploying our efforts so widely that they become ineffective in specific markets.

Figure 3 - Geographical Distribution of Canadian Exports, 2007

Figure 3 - Geographical Distribution of Canadian Exports, 2007

*BRIC excluded from Asia, Latin America and Europe.
Source: Industry Canada Trade Data Online.

click here if you would like the text equivalent of image

In part, our lack of presence in growing markets is due to the structure of the Canadian economy, which is characterized by small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) that tend not to be "first movers" into new markets.10 In a world of global integration, the necessity to trade, invest and create strategic alliances will only intensify, and larger enterprises are better placed to meet these challenges. Pressure from low-cost, knowledge-oriented firms elsewhere means increased competition for Canadian firms at home and abroad.11

Canada's Cost Advantage Relative to the US Has Eroded

Canadian productivity is lagging behind that of the US, our biggest trading partner. When our dollar was valued as low as 63 cents per US dollar,12 some Canadian companies grew complacent. Canada enjoyed a large trade surplus as the advantage went to Canadian exporters. The increase in our dollar relative to the US dollar occurred so quickly that firms have struggled to make the necessary adjustments to their operations at the same pace, and some have not been able to cope. Now, with exchange rate parity, the cost advantage is gone and Canada's poor productivity performance is exposed. This challenge is compounded by the "thickening" of the Canada–US border as a result of a US preoccupation with security and international terrorism.

Weak Innovation

Much of Canada's poor productivity performance can be attributed to the comparatively poor performance of Canadian firms with respect to innovation. We rank poorly across almost all aspects of innovation: the creation of knowledge, the diffusion of knowledge, the transformation of knowledge and the use of knowledge through commercialization. This is seen by the Conference Board of Canada as "a serious weakness in Canada's overall performance and [an] alarming portent for the future."13 Other research also indicates that Canadian firms lag behind firms in other major industrialized countries on a number of measures of innovation.14

Weak Productivity Growth

A number of these issues relate to one underlying problem — productivity. Figure 4 illustrates the deeply troubling fact that Canada's productivity growth lagged behind that of most industrialized countries over a 25-year period.15

Figure 4 — Labour Productivity Growth,a Selected OECD Countries, 1981–2006

Figure 4 — Labour Productivity Growth,a Selected OECD Countries, 1981–2006

aReal gross domestic product per hour worked.
G7 countries shaded.
Source: OECD, Labour Productivity Database, July 2007.

click here if you would like the text equivalent of image

In the business sector, labour productivity in Canada was only about 75 percent of the level in the US in 2007 (Figure 5). The gap has been growing, especially in the manufacturing sector. By 2007, the gap between Canadian and US labour productivity levels in manufacturing was estimated to be close to 40 percent.

Figure 5 — Relative Labour Productivity Gap in Canada, 1991–200716

Figure 5 — Relative Labour Productivity Gap in Canada, 1991–2007

Source: Industry Canada calculations based on data from Statistics Canada, CANSIM VI409153, and US Bureau of Labor Statistics, BLS: PRS840006093

click here if you would like the text equivalent of image.

The impact of Canada's weak productivity growth has been dramatic — the median real earnings of Canadian workers have not grown in a quarter-century.17 Even during a period when the economy grew and Canadians became more educated, average earnings remained virtually the same. In fact, for the bottom fifth of earners, real earnings dropped by about 20 percent, and earnings of immigrants to Canada fell even further. Of course, much of this coincided with a period of rising employment and participation in the workforce, particularly for Canadian women. Consequently, total family incomes rose over this period, to some extent masking individual performance.

More recently (2002–2006), Canada's standard of living has increased faster than that of the US.18 An important underlying factor was the takeoff in commodity prices after 2002 and the consequent improvement in Canada's terms of trade. This resulted in a strong increase in Canadian purchasing power, which benefited Canadians relative to Americans, who were largely unaffected by movements in their own country's terms of trade. In addition, the labour market has been much more buoyant in Canada than in the US during the past decade, making it easier for more of the population who want to work to obtain jobs. This favourable performance over a short time period does not change the long-term picture.

To sum up, Canada's weak personal earnings growth is cause for concern. This trend will be exacerbated in coming decades as Canada's population ages and labour force growth slows. This can be turned around only if Canadian businesses and governments urgently take steps to increase productivity performance.

When we assess what we heard and what we learned in the light of our premises about the benefits of productivity growth and the central importance of competition in achieving those benefits, we conclude that improving Canada's competitive position is the key to ensuring that future generations of Canadians will enjoy the levels of opportunity and prosperity that Canadians have come to expect. We also conclude that the factors driving the changes described above are unavoidable and irreversible, and represent either a serious threat or a great opportunity, depending on whether Canada rises to the challenges of globalization. Finally, we conclude that the longer Canada waits to address these issues, the greater will be the costs and dislocation arising from their resolution. Time is of the essence.

Liens de la barre de menu commune

  •  

Archivée - 4. Ce que nous avons entendu et ce que nous avons appris

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Pour élaborer nos recommandations, nous nous sommes fiés sur ce que nous avons entendu lors des consultations et sur ce que nous avons appris des recherches disponibles et de celles commandées, en tenant compte de notre expérience en tant que gens d’affaires travaillant dans des marchés concurrentiels.

Les Canadiens peuvent être très fiers de la performance économique du pays au cours de la dernière décennie, période pendant laquelle nous avons connu croissance économique et prospérité. Le Canada a affiché des excédents budgétaires sans précédent, une chute du chômage, une croissance forte dans le secteur des services et la création de millions d’emplois. Du côté des marchés financiers, les Canadiens ont connu des taux d’inflation stables et faibles, une chute des taux d’intérêt et une hausse du dollar canadien par rapport aux autres monnaies, particulièrement le dollar américain. Plus récemment, en sa qualité de pays riche en ressources, le Canada a profité d’une hausse de la demande mondiale et des prix des ressources naturelles.

Toutefois, nombre de Canadiens nous ont dit que les perspectives économiques actuelles les préoccupent et qu’ils ont moins confiance en l’avenir. Ils nous ont parlé de risques et d’incertitudes émanant d’une foule d’indicateurs, dont les suivants : fermetures d’usines et pertes d’emplois; faible croissance des revenus; flambée des prix des produits de base, dont les aliments et l’énergie; et menaces provenant de nouveaux rivaux mondiaux où la population et la productivité croissent à un rythme plus vigoureux qu’au Canada. Les Canadiens croient que quelque chose ne tourne pas rond.

Cependant, nous avons vu clairement que les Canadiens ne craignent pas une crise imminente. Ils veulent éviter que la position du Canada dans le monde recule à mesure que des pays plus agiles et agressifs émergent et nous délogent. Néanmoins, les Canadiens ne semblent pas saisir ce qu’il faut faire pour éviter un tel scénario, ni avoir un point de vue commun sur les racines de leur malaise. Dans le reste de ce chapitre, nous présentons la compréhension qu’a le Groupe d’étude des principaux signaux d’alerte que les Canadiens nous disent avoir perçus, ainsi que nos conclusions quant aux enjeux qui les sous-tendent.

Perte d’entreprises – la perte d’icônes canadiennes

On nous a parlé de la préoccupation découlant de la « prise » d’entreprises canadiennes par des concurrents étrangers en cette ère de mondialisation. La croissance récente des investissements étrangers directs (IED) au Canada, particulièrement par des fusions et acquisitions, a soulevé des préoccupations dans de nombreux milieux au sujet d’une diminution du contrôle et de l’influence des Canadiens sur l’économie nationale. À mesure que les entreprises multinationales se sont consolidées, des investisseurs étrangers ont acquis plusieurs fleurons canadiens bien établis, dont Alcan, Falconbridge, Inco et la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. Ces entreprises sont de gros employeurs et des piliers de certaines collectivités canadiennes.

Ces transactions ont déclenché des questions touchant aux politiques d’investissement étranger du Canada, ainsi qu’aux conséquences de la perte de sièges sociaux et des emplois et services de grande valeur qui y sont associés. Ces transactions ont également souligné la nature mondiale de la restructuration des industries. Les fusions et acquisitions les plus imposantes au Canada ont été faites par des entreprises ayant leur siège social aux États-Unis, au Royaume-Uni, en Suisse, au Brésil, en Australie, aux Pays-Bas et dans les Émirats arabes unis.

Le débat tournant autour des pertes pour l’économie canadienne a suscité de vives émotions. Entre 2000 et 2005, le Canada se classait au deuxième rang pour ce qui est des prises de contrôle par des intérêts étrangers1. On a avancé, en raison de la taille de son marché intérieur des capitaux, que le Canada a été à la fois le plus gros vendeur net d’entreprises et le pays où il était le plus facile d’acheter des entreprises2. Pourtant, dans l’ensemble, les données montrent que la part des avoirs des industries non financières du Canada sous contrôle étranger n’a guère changé au cours des dernières années3.

Research in Motion

Quand Mike Lazaridis et Doug Fregin ont lancé leur entreprise d’électronique en 1984 avec une modeste subvention du gouvernement et un prêt familial, ils n’auraient pu prédire ce que l’avenir réservait à Research In Motion (RIM). Ils savaient simplement qu’ils s’y connaissaient en circuits imprimés. En moins de quatre ans, leur entreprise s’était axée sur la transmission de données sans fil. Le co-président Jim Balsillie s’est joint à eux en 1992 et a commencé à amener sur le marché une série d’inventions de RIM. En 1998, RIM a lancé son premier BlackBerry avec courriel rudimentaire, qui est devenu un produit populaire de consommation et corporatif pour des chefs d’entreprise et des mères au volant. Il avait 1 million d’abonnés en 2004 et 10 millions en 2007. RIM a pénétré les marchés d’Europe et de l’Asie-Pacifique. RIM est maintenant l’entreprise canadienne ayant le plus de valeur, si l’on considère sa capitalisation boursière de près de 60 milliards de dollars4.

En fait, nous constatons que les entreprises canadiennes réussissent de plus en plus à se tailler une place sur la scène mondiale. Le nombre d’entreprises appartenant à des Canadiens et ayant leur siège social au Canada, qui se classent parmi les cinq plus grandes de leur secteur, est passé de 15 à 40 au cours des deux dernières décennies5. De fait, pendant cette période on a vu des entreprises multinationales de grand renom et basées au Canada, dont Financière Manuvie, Research In Motion (RIM) et SNC-Lavalin, réussir à accroître leur présence sur la scène internationale. Si le Canada a perdu plusieurs grandes entreprises au cours des dernières années, il demeure néanmoins le pays hôte de nombreux champions canadiens en pleine croissance.

Nous ne croyons pas qu’il soit souhaitable – ou possible – de bloquer le rythme naturel de la destruction créative et du renouveau, qui constituent un pilier de l’économie de marché. Les avantages associés à la concurrence sont trop grands. Cependant, nous partageons la préoccupation des Canadiens quant aux conséquences des pertes d’entreprises sur le Canada et sur les perspectives de développement des Canadiens.

SNC-Lavalin

SNC-Lavalin (un géant de l’ingénierie et de la construction) montre à quel point une orientation internationale peut ouvrir de grands marchés et protéger une entreprise contre les revers économiques dans son pays d’origine. SNC-Lavalin a utilisé son savoir-faire technique de grand renom comme levier pour se constituer un réseau international et une solide chaîne mondiale d’approvisionnement. L’entreprise a délibérément assis son développement sur la réputation du Canada à l’étranger6.

Déclin de la part des investissements étrangers

En opposition au souci soulevé par les prises de contrôle d’entreprises canadiennes par des intérêts étrangers, certains analystes ont remarqué qu’au cours des dernières décennies, le Canada a moins bien réussi à attirer des capitaux étrangers. La part canadienne du stock d’IED mondial a chuté, passant de près de 16 % en 1970 à juste un peu plus de 3 % en 2006. En ce qui a trait au ratio de l’IED par rapport au produit intérieur brut, le Canada a, au cours des 25 dernières années, affiché le déclin le plus marqué des pays membres de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE)7.

La nouvelle dynamique du marché du travail

À mesure que la concurrence s’est mondialisée et que des entreprises ont déplacé certaines opérations dans des régions offrant des coûts de production moindres, de nombreux travailleurs canadiens ont vécu des ajustements pénibles du marché du travail. Dans l’ensemble, l’économie canadienne s’en est bien tirée, créant beaucoup d’emplois, tirant parti du récent boom des produits de base et abaissant son taux de chômage à un niveau plancher non atteint depuis près de trois décennies. Dans certains secteurs, la croissance économique robuste a entraîné des insuffisances de main-d’œuvre spécialisée, un problème qui s’aggravera à mesure que la population vieillira et que la croissance du nombre de travailleurs au pays diminuera.

Les travailleurs ont été fortement touchés par les changements à l’échelle mondiale dans certains secteurs, surtout ceux de la foresterie et de la fabrication, qui ont été gravement affectés par la remontée rapide du dollar canadien par rapport au dollar américain, ainsi que par d’autres défis.

Faible présence du Canada dans les marchés autres que celui des États-Unis

Les États-Unis sont le principal partenaire commercial du Canada, et le resteront dans un avenir prévisible8. Cependant, les marchés croissants dans l’Union européenne, elle-même en expansion, en Amérique du Sud et en Asie ouvrent de nouvelles portes.

Par exemple, on prévoit une croissance robuste dans les marchés émergents, notamment ceux du groupe BRIC (Brésil, Russie, Inde et Chine) où le Canada est peu présent9. Les occasions qu’offrent ces marchés en pleine croissance sont importantes, compte tenu de l’émergence de leurs classes moyennes respectives comptant plusieurs millions de nouveaux consommateurs. On estime que ces nouveaux marchés pourraient représenter jusqu’à 50 % de l’économie mondiale lors de la prochaine génération. Cependant, il faut établir des priorités pour éviter de diluer nos efforts dans un tel nombre de régions que nous pourrions devenir inefficaces dans des marchés précis.

Figure 3 – Répartition géographique des exportations canadiennes, 2007

Figure 3 – Répartition géographique des exportations canadiennes, 2007

* Le groupe BRIC est exclu de l’Asie, de l’Amérique latine et de l’Europe.
Source : Données commerciales en ligne d’Industrie Canada.

Cliquez ici pour voir le texte correspondant à l'image

La faible présence du Canada dans des marchés en croissance est due en partie à la structure de l’économie nationale, laquelle se caractérise par des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) qui n’ont pas tendance à ouvrir la voie vers de nouveaux marchés10. Dans un milieu d’intégration mondiale, l’impératif des échanges, des investissements et de la création d’alliances stratégiques ne fera que s’intensifier, et ce sont les grandes entreprises qui sont les mieux placées pour faire face à ces défis. La pression créée par des entreprises étrangères axées sur le savoir et dont les coûts sont faibles impose une concurrence accrue aux entreprises canadiennes, au pays et à l’étranger11.

Érosion de l’avantage des coûts du Canada par rapport à celui des États-Unis

La productivité canadienne traîne de la patte par rapport à celle des États-Unis, le plus important partenaire commercial du Canada. Quand le dollar canadien a chuté à 63 cents américains12, certaines entreprises canadiennes se sont reposées sur leurs lauriers. Le Canada bénéficiait d’un fort excédent commercial, les exportateurs canadiens ayant un avantage. La hausse du dollar canadien par rapport au dollar américain a été si subite que nombre d’entreprises ont eu de la difficulté à mettre en œuvre les ajustements tout aussi rapides qui s’imposaient, et d’autres n’ont pas été capables de s’adapter. Maintenant que la parité est de mise, l’avantage des coûts s’est évaporé et la piètre performance du Canada au titre de la productivité est apparue au grand jour. À ce défi s’ajoute un alourdissement de la frontière canado-américaine, dans le sillage des préoccupations américaines en matière de sécurité et de terrorisme international.

Innovation faible

La piètre productivité du Canada peut en grande partie être mise sur le compte de la performance plutôt faible des entreprises canadiennes en matière d’innovation. Le Canada se classe très mal, peu importe le domaine d’innovation – création, diffusion, transformation et utilisation commerciale de connaissances. Le Conference Board du Canada y voit une grave faiblesse de performance généralisée au Canada et un alarmant présage pour l’avenir13. D’autres recherches laissent aussi entendre que les entreprises canadiennes tirent de l’arrière par rapport aux autres grands pays industrialisés pour ce qui est de nombreux indicateurs de l’innovation14.

Faible croissance de la productivité

Plusieurs de ces enjeux relèvent d’un seul problème de base – la productivité. La figure 4 illustre un fait profondément troublant : depuis 25 ans, la croissance de la productivité au Canada est inférieure à celle de la plupart des pays industrialisés15.

Figure 4 – Croissance de la productivité du travaila dans divers pays de l’OCDE, 1981-2006

Figure 4 – Croissance de la productivité du travaila dans divers pays de l’OCDE, 1981-2006

aProduit intérieur brut réel par heure travaillée.
Pays du G7 en foncé.
Source : OCDE, Base de données sur la productivité du travail, juillet 2007.

Cliquez ici pour voir le texte correspondant à l'image

Dans le secteur commercial, la productivité canadienne n’a atteint que 75 % de celle des États-Unis en 2007 (figure 5). L’écart va grandissant, surtout dans le domaine manufacturier. Dès 2007, l’écart entre les niveaux de productivité du travail au Canada et aux États-Unis dans le secteur de la fabrication était estimé à près de 40 %.

Figure 5 – Écart relatif de la productivité du travail au Canada, 1991-200716

Figure 5 – Écart relatif de la productivité du travail au Canada, 1991-2007

Sources : Calculs d’Industrie Canada à partir des données de Statistique Canada, CANSIM VI409 153; et U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, BLS, PRS840006093.

Cliquez ici pour voir le texte correspondant à l'image

Les répercussions de la faible croissance de la productivité au Canada ont été très marquées – le revenu réel médian des travailleurs canadiens n’a pas augmenté depuis un quart de siècle17. Même pendant une période de croissance économique et de meilleure éducation des Canadiens, les revenus moyens n’ont pratiquement pas bougé. En fait, pour les salariés du quintile inférieur, les revenus nets ont diminué de 20 %, alors que les revenus des immigrants chutaient encore davantage. Ce phénomène a toutefois coïncidé avec une période de croissance de l’emploi et un plus fort pourcentage de la population au travail, particulièrement chez les Canadiennes. Par conséquent, les revenus totaux des familles ont augmenté pendant cette période, masquant ainsi, jusqu’à un certain point, la faible performance individuelle.

Plus récemment (2002-2006), le niveau de vie a augmenté plus rapidement au Canada qu’aux États-Unis18. La flambée des prix des produits de base et l’amélioration subséquente de la position canadienne en matière d’échanges commerciaux ont été un important facteur sous-jacent. Il en est résulté une forte augmentation du pouvoir d’achat canadien, ce qui a avantagé les Canadiens par rapport aux Américains, qui n’ont à toute fin utile pas été touchés par les changements en matière d’échanges commerciaux dans leur pays. De plus, le marché du travail a été beaucoup plus soutenu au Canada qu’aux États-Unis au cours de la dernière décennie, ce qui a permis à une plus grande part de la population désireuse de travailler de se trouver un emploi. Cette performance favorable à court terme ne modifie toutefois pas les perspectives à long terme.

En résumé, la piètre croissance des revenus individuels au Canada pose problème. Cette tendance s’accentuera au cours des prochaines décennies, à mesure que la population canadienne vieillit et que la croissance de la main-d’œuvre ralentit. La tendance ne pourra se renverser que si les entreprises canadiennes et les gouvernements prennent de toute urgence des mesures correctives pour redresser la performance en matière de productivité.

Lorsque nous faisons le bilan de ce que nous avons entendu et de ce que nous avons appris, en tenant compte de nos prémisses quant aux avantages découlant de la croissance de la productivité et à l’importance capitale de la concurrence pour bénéficier de ces avantages, nous concluons que l’amélioration de la compétitivité du Canada est la clef qui permettra aux prochaines générations de Canadiens de bénéficier d’un niveau de possibilités et de prospérité similaire à celui que les Canadiens tiennent pour acquis. Nous concluons également que les facteurs qui sous-tendent les changements décrits ci-dessus sont inévitables et irréversibles et qu’ils représentent soit une menace grave, soit une superbe occasion, selon que le Canada relève ou non les défis de la mondialisation. Finalement, nous concluons que plus le Canada attend pour faire face à ces enjeux, plus lourds seront les coûts et les perturbations associés à leur résolution. Il n’y a pas de temps à perdre.