Archived — World Accreditation Day 2013: Accreditation Benefits Exporters

Stuart Beck, Director of Certification, Nemko Canada Inc., was the guest speaker at SCC's World Accreditation Day 2013 event held in June. The theme of the event was Accreditation: Facilitating World Trade.

Stuart Beck, Director of Certification, Nemko Canada Inc., was the guest speaker at SCC's World Accreditation Day 2013 event held in June. The theme of the event was Accreditation: Facilitating World Trade.

World trade, manufacturing and global competitiveness were just a few of the topics discussed at the World Accreditation Day 2013 event held in Ottawa, Ontario, in June. The event was hosted by the Standards Council of Canada (SCC) and its theme was Accreditation: Facilitating World Trade.

Canada was among the more than 90 countries celebrating World Accreditation Day 2013. The annual event raises global awareness of the importance of accreditation and certification procedures, standards, regulations and testing in ensuring the safety of products and services, regardless of their country of origin.

"According to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, both standards and related conformity assessment—verifying that products and services meet [technical] standards—have an impact on 80 percent of the world's trade," SCC's Chief Executive Officer John Walter told the more than 80 participants at the World Accreditation Day 2013 event. "That's a significant amount and shows standards and accreditation go hand in hand."

John Walter, SCC's CEO, told the more than 80 participants at the World Accreditation Day 2013 event that the SCC is committed to facilitating world trade and that it has made significant inroads in creating standardization and accreditation solutions that directly benefit key industries.

John Walter, SCC's CEO, told the more than 80 participants at the World Accreditation Day 2013 event that the SCC is committed to facilitating world trade and that it has made significant inroads in creating standardization and accreditation solutions that directly benefit key industries.

"SCC is committed to facilitating world trade, and we have made significant inroads in creating standardization and accreditation solutions that directly benefit key industries," said Mr. Walter. "We have been working with the Canada–United States Regulatory Cooperation Council Secretariat to support regulatory cooperation through the alignment of standards and certification requirements."

SCC's premier World Accreditation Day event featured presentations by John Walter; Chantal Guay, SCC's Vice-President, Accreditation Services; and guest speaker Stuart Beck, Director of Certification, Nemko Canada Inc. As well, the event included a moderated discussion between Fred Leber, Owner and CEO of Leber/Rubes Inc., and Doug Thorn, Senior Marketing Support Specialist at Honeywell.

Addressing global challenges

Mr. Beck, Mr. Leber and Mr. Thorn addressed key challenges facing exporters and how to compete internationally by having products, services and systems certified to technical standards. Exporting challenges, they said, include:

  • the deregulation of certain industries;
  • the heavy regulation of other industries; and
  • legal and technical requirements within a particular market.

It can also be challenging to have manufacturing bases and sales in multiple countries and to therefore face country-specific technical regulations, standards and codes.

Certification benefits, they maintained, include allowing products to be more cost-effectively produced offshore while assuring Canadian standards are being met. Standardization promotes competition, helping to create a more level playing field (ideal in heavily regulated markets) and to lower consumer costs.

Guest speaker Stuart Beck, Director of Certification, Nemko Canada Inc., said that there's a movement toward common standardization globally, making it easier for manufacturers to compete.

Guest speaker Stuart Beck, Director of Certification, Nemko Canada Inc., said that there's a movement toward common standardization globally, making it easier for manufacturers to compete.

Supporting new technologies

As a multinational, multidivisional organization, Honeywell produces a wide range of products—including home thermostats, fans and security alarms as well as airplane engines—and is therefore certified by many different certification bodies.

"Honeywell is constantly moving toward developing new technologies and trying to apply the new technologies to the various markets that they [these technologies] have," said Mr. Thorn. "If you don't know what the current standard [for a product] is, you can't design a product. Multiple lab accreditation is good for competition." Many of the certification bodies that certify Honeywell's products are accredited by SCC.

Mr. Leber agreed with Mr. Thorn, adding, "Many of our international projects employ North American standards at the request of our international clients. The product is provided locally and may be certified or approved to North American standards by local laboratories," he said. "Compliance with North American standards is then assured, and we are able to provide services on an international basis with the knowledge that our design intent is being met."

For many small and medium-sized enterprises, certification to international standards can be perceived as a daunting, and even insurmountable, task. Mr. Leber explained that the benefits of certification far outweigh the effort.

Certification reduces trade barriers

SCC-accredited certification is an important solution for Canadian organizations wanting to tap into export markets with confidence.

Chantal Guay, SCC's Vice-President, Accreditation Services, moderated a discussion on the benefits of accreditation and certification between Doug Thorn, Senior Marketing Support Specialist at Honeywell (far left), and Fred Leber, Owner and CEO, Leber/Rubes Inc.

Chantal Guay, SCC's Vice-President, Accreditation Services, moderated a discussion on the benefits of accreditation and certification between Doug Thorn, Senior Marketing Support Specialist at Honeywell (far left), and Fred Leber, Owner and CEO, Leber/Rubes Inc.

"In today's global arena, a Canadian product may contain components that are produced in several countries," said Ms. Guay. "As a result, a small or medium-sized exporter's global supply chain can be very complex. Also, because the products that the exporter produces may be sold in many markets, the products will have to meet technical standards—perhaps harmonized or aligned standards—across multiple markets."

Ms. Guay indicated that certification is recognized as a means of reducing trade barriers. "By being certified, exporters can show upfront that they already meet technical requirements for doing business within their target markets."

Helping exporters expand

Another reason for obtaining certification is SCC's international standardization memberships with organizations such as the International Accreditation Forum (IAF) and the International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC). Both IAF and ILAC promote the mutual recognition of accreditations and certifications worldwide.

"These organizations strengthen consumer confidence in products from different economies and in the components of those products," added Ms. Guay.

Being certified by an SCC-accredited body provides you with the benefits of our international memberships, making it easier for organizations to export and to broaden their export reach.

Looking forward

According to Mr. Thorn, accreditation will remain the cornerstone of many industries in years to come. "As international communities and companies become more aware of their risks as users of products and services, they are demanding excellence to the best standards available," he said. "These organizations are demanding accreditation to recognized standards and codes."

"Access to global markets will definitely be increased where international clients and authorities accept certified products that are manufactured and certified in other countries," indicated Mr. Leber.

Mr. Beck told the audience, "We're moving toward common standardization [globally], which makes it easier for manufacturers [to compete]. We're going in the right direction with harmonization. Lots of organizations have the same goal."

To see how accreditation can help your business, visit the SCC's Accreditation Services web page.

For the full story on SCC's World Accreditation Day 2013 event, view SCC's videotaped presentations.

World Accreditation Day 2014 will be held in June, and SCC's World Standards Day 2013 event will take place October 16, 2013, in Vancouver, British Columbia.

Date modified:

Archivé — La Journée mondiale de l’accréditation 2013 : l’accréditation est avantageuse pour les exportateurs

Stuart Beck, directeur de la certification chez Nemko Canada Inc., a été invité comme conférencier à l'événement de la CCN tenu en juin 2013 pour célébrer la Journée mondiale de l'accréditation sous le thème L'accréditation : Faciliter le commerce mondial.

Stuart Beck, directeur de la certification chez Nemko Canada Inc., a été invité comme conférencier à l'événement de la CCN tenu en juin 2013 pour célébrer la Journée mondiale de l'accréditation sous le thème L'accréditation : Faciliter le commerce mondial.

Le commerce mondial, le secteur manufacturier et la compétitivité sur la scène internationale ne sont que quelques-uns des thèmes qui ont été abordés lors de l'événement organisé par le Conseil canadien des normes (CCN) dans le cadre de la Journée mondiale de l'accréditation 2013. Tenu en juin à Ottawa, en Ontario, l'événement portait sur le thème L'accréditation : Faciliter le commerce mondial.

Le Canada comptait donc parmi plus de 90 pays qui ont célébré la Journée mondiale de l'accréditation 2013. L'événement annuel vise à souligner l'importance des méthodes, des normes, des règlements et des essais d'accréditation et de certification afin d'assurer la sécurité des produits et services, et ce, peu importe le pays.

« Selon l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, la normalisation et l'évaluation de la conformité qui s'y rattache — c'est-à-dire vérifier si les produits et services respectent les normes techniques — ont une incidence sur 80 % du commerce mondial, a expliqué le directeur général du CCN, John  Walter, aux quelque 80 participants qui ont pris part à l'événement. C'est un pourcentage élevé qui montre que la normalisation et l'accréditation vont de pair. »

John Walter, directeur général du CCN, explique aux quelque 80 participants à l'événement tenu dans le cadre de la Journée mondiale de l'accréditation que le CCN s'est engagé à faciliter le commerce mondial et qu'il a fait des percées importantes en élaborant des solutions de normalisation et d'accréditation qui profitent directement aux principales industries.

John Walter, directeur général du CCN, explique aux quelque 80 participants à l'événement tenu dans le cadre de la Journée mondiale de l'accréditation que le CCN s'est engagé à faciliter le commerce mondial et qu'il a fait des percées importantes en élaborant des solutions de normalisation et d'accréditation qui profitent directement aux principales industries.

« Le CCN s'est engagé à faciliter le commerce mondial et il a fait des percées importantes en élaborant des solutions de normalisation et d'accréditation qui profitent directement aux principales industries, a souligné M. Walter. Nous avons fait équipe avec le Secrétariat du Conseil de coopération en matière de réglementation Canada–États-Unis pour appuyer l'effort de coopération grâce à l'harmonisation des normes et des exigences de certification. »

Au cours de cette activité de premier plan organisée par le CCN pour souligner la Journée mondiale de l'accréditation, des exposés ont été présentés par John Walter; Chantal Guay, vice-présidente aux Services d'accréditation du CCN; et Stuart Beck, conférencier invité et directeur de la certification chez Nemko Canada Inc. De plus, une discussion a été animée entre Fred Leber, propriétaire et directeur général de Leber/Rubes Inc. et Doug Thorn, spécialiste principal en promotion chez Honeywell.

Relever les défis à l'échelle mondiale

MM. Beck, Leber et Thorn ont mis en lumière les principaux défis qui attendent les exportateurs et expliqué comment ceux-ci pouvaient soutenir la concurrence à l'étranger en faisant certifier leurs produits, leurs services ou leurs systèmes selon des normes techniques. Selon eux, les défis à l'exportation comprennent :

  • la déréglementation de certaines industries;
  • la réglementation stricte de certaines autres;
  • les exigences juridiques et techniques qui s'appliquent sur un marché donné.

Le fait de fabriquer et de vendre des produits dans de nombreux pays peut aussi poser problème; en effet, les entreprises dans cette situation sont aux prises avec des codes, des normes et des réglementations techniques spécifiques à chacun des pays.

D'après eux, les avantages de la certification tiennent notamment à la fabrication plus rentable des produits à l'étranger, ce qui permet en outre aux entreprises de s'assurer du respect des normes canadiennes. Par ailleurs, la normalisation favorise la concurrence et, conséquemment, une lutte à armes égales (idéale sur les marchés fortement réglementés), ce qui entraîne une diminution des prix à la consommation.

Appuyer les nouvelles technologies

En tant que multinationale multidivisionnelle, Honeywell (anglais seulement) fabrique une large gamme de produits, dont des thermostats, des ventilateurs et des systèmes d'alarme résidentiels, de même que des moteurs d'avion. Ainsi, la certification de ses produits passe par de nombreux organismes de certification différents.

Stuart Beck, conférencier invité et directeur de la certification chez Nemko Canada Inc., affirme qu'on se dirige vers une normalisation commune à l'échelle mondiale, ce qui augmente la compétitivité des fabricants.

Stuart Beck, conférencier invité et directeur de la certification chez Nemko Canada Inc., affirme qu'on se dirige vers une normalisation commune à l'échelle mondiale, ce qui augmente la compétitivité des fabricants.

« Honeywell cherche constamment à développer de nouvelles technologies et à les appliquer sur les nombreux marchés où il est possible de les exploiter, a indiqué M. Thorn. On ne peut concevoir un produit si on ne connaît pas les normes qui le régissent. L'accréditation d'un grand nombre de laboratoires stimule la concurrence. » Bon nombre des organismes qui certifient les produits d'Honeywell sont accrédités par le CCN.

M. Leber est de l'avis de M. Thorn : « Beaucoup de nos projets internationaux recourent à des normes nord-américaines à la demande de nos clients étrangers, a-t-il ajouté. Le produit est fourni localement et peut être certifié ou approuvé selon des normes nord-américaines par des laboratoires locaux, ce qui nous permet de garantir le respect de ces normes et de fournir nos services à l'échelle mondiale tout en sachant que le but recherché est atteint. »

Pour de nombreuses petites et moyennes entreprises, la certification selon des normes internationales peut paraître une tâche décourageante, voire insurmontable. M. Leber a expliqué que les efforts déployés pour obtenir la certification sont largement récompensés par les avantages qu'elle procure.

La certification réduit les obstacles au commerce

La certification par un organisme accrédité par le CCN est une excellente solution pour les organisations canadiennes qui souhaitent pénétrer les marchés d'exportation avec assurance.

Chantal Guay, vice-présidente aux Services d'accréditation du CCN, anime une discussion sur les avantages de l'accréditation et de la certification entre Doug Thorn, spécialiste principal en promotion chez Honeywell (à gauche) et Fred Leber, propriétaire et directeur général de Leber/Rubes Inc.

Chantal Guay, vice-présidente aux Services d'accréditation du CCN, anime une discussion sur les avantages de l'accréditation et de la certification entre Doug Thorn, spécialiste principal en promotion chez Honeywell (à gauche) et Fred Leber, propriétaire et directeur général de Leber/Rubes Inc.

« Dans notre économie mondialisée, un produit canadien peut être constitué de composantes provenant de plusieurs pays, a souligné Mme Guay. Par conséquent, la chaîne d'approvisionnement mondiale d'une petite ou d'une moyenne entreprise exportatrice peut s'avérer très complexe. Comme l'exportateur peut vendre ses produits dans une foule de pays, les produits doivent respecter les normes techniques, possiblement harmonisées, qui prévalent sur des marchés différents. »

Elle a également affirmé que la certification était reconnue comme un moyen de réduire les obstacles au commerce. « En étant certifiés, les exportateurs peuvent montrer dès le départ qu'ils répondent aux exigences techniques nécessaires pour mener des activités dans leurs marchés cibles. »

Aider les exportateurs à prospérer

Les entreprises ont une autre raison de vouloir obtenir une certification : les adhésions internationales du CCN auprès d'organisations comme l'International Accreditation Forum (IAF) (anglais seulement) et l'International Laboratory Accreditation Cooperation (ILAC). Ces deux entités favorisent la reconnaissance mutuelle des accréditations et des certifications partout dans le monde.

« L'IAF et l'ILAC renforcent la confiance des consommateurs dans les produits provenant de différents pays ainsi que dans leurs composantes, a ajouté Mme Guay.  »

En obtenant une certification d'un organisme accrédité par le CCN, les exportateurs retirent des avantages de nos adhésions internationales, ce qui facilite leurs exportations et l'expansion de leurs activités.

Ce que l'avenir nous réserve

D'après M. Thorn, l'accréditation demeurera la pierre angulaire du succès de beaucoup d'industries dans les années à venir. « À mesure que les collectivités et les entreprises internationales prennent conscience des risques auxquels elles s'exposent comme utilisatrices de produits et services, elles exigent les normes les plus strictes du marché, explique-t-il. Ces organisations demandent l'accréditation selon des codes et des normes reconnus. »

De l'avis de M. Leber, l'accès aux marchés mondiaux s'intensifiera là où les clients et les autorités internationales accepteront des produits fabriqués et certifiés dans d'autres pays.

« Nous nous dirigeons vers une normalisation commune à l'échelle mondiale, ce qui augmente la compétitivité des fabricants, a indiqué M. Beck. En ce qui concerne l'harmonisation des normes, nous allons dans la bonne direction; bien des organisations tendent vers un même but. »

Pour savoir comment l'accréditation peut aider votre entreprise, consultez la page Web des Services d'accréditation du CCN.

Pour en savoir davantage au sujet de l'événement tenu par le CCN dans le cadre de la Journée mondiale de l'accréditation, visionnez les vidéos des exposés (anglais seulement).

La Journée mondiale de l'accréditation 2014 aura lieu en juin prochain. Le CCN tiendra par ailleurs un événement visant à souligner la Journée mondiale de la normalisation 2013 le 16 octobre 2013, à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique.

Date de modification :