Archived — The Standards Council of Canada (SCC) is holding its World Standards Day event on October 16, 2013. Register today.

International standards ensure positive change is the theme for this year's World Standards Day event.

International standards ensure positive change is the theme for this year's World Standards Day event.

Join the Standards Council of Canada (SCC) for World Standards Day (WSD) 2013 and discover how international laboratory standards are calibrated to deliver positive change and improve both the quality of results and patient care.

Under the global theme "International standards ensure positive change," SCC's World Standards Day 2013 event on October 16, 2013 will highlight how international standards ensure quality laboratory results. Each year in mid-October, SCC joins the international community in celebrating WSD and marking the importance of standardization-related activities.

SCC invites all interested stakeholders to attend its thought-provoking half-day event, featuring a panel discussion on how international standards ensure quality laboratory results. This dynamic session will bring together industry, government and standards development experts to discuss the accreditation process and key international standards for testing laboratories and to share success stories and lessons learned. In addition to the panel discussion, there will be keynote speakers, networking opportunities and exhibitors.

Speakers at the WSD 2013 event include the following:

  • John Walter, SCC's Chief Executive Officer, and Kathy Milsom, SCC Chair
  • Dr. Mike Moss, Provincial Medical Director, LifeLabs BC, who will deliver the keynote address
  • Dr. Michael Noble, Chair of the University of British Columbia Program Office for Laboratory Quality Management, who will moderate the panel discussion
  • Panel members:
    • Anita Kwong, Director, Laboratory Quality and Process Improvement, Lower Mainland Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Fraser Health, Providence Health Care, Provincial Health Services Authority, and Vancouver Coastal Health
    • Dr. Mike Moss, Provincial Medical Director, LifeLabs BC
    • Jane Weitzel, expert in lab accreditation, ISO/IEC 17025 and analytical chemistry, and former auditor for pharmaceutical companies
    • Toby Yan, Manager, National Client Services for the Ontario/Atlantic Market, Accreditation Canada

WSD will highlight two key international standards that profoundly impact laboratory results: ISO/IEC 17025, the laboratory accreditation standard, and ISO 15189 for medical laboratories. These two standards ensure that laboratories have the competence to carry out specific testing methods. More specifically, ISO 15189 helps health care and medical laboratory communities ensure greater accuracy of test results and improve patient safety through traceability of laboratory procedures.

Join us for the World Standards Day 2013 event

SCC's WSD 2013 event will take place from 1:00 to 4:30 p.m. (PDT) on Wednesday, October 16, 2013, at the Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel, 1133 Hastings Street West, Vancouver, British Columbia. Register today.

The event, which also includes SCC's 2013 Annual Public Meeting, will open with networking and registration at 1:00 p.m. Participants may attend the WSD 2013 event in person or via webcast. There is no fee to attend. All stakeholders are invited to attend. The SCC event is a prelude to the University of British Columbia's Quality Management Conference for Laboratory Medicine, scheduled to take place from October 16–18, 2013 at the Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside Hotel.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le Conseil canadien des normes tiendra une activité dans le cadre de la Journée mondiale de la normalisation le 16 octobre prochain. Inscrivez-vous dès aujourd'hui.

Le thème de la Journée mondiale de la normalisation de cette année est : Les normes internationales garantissent des changements positifs.

Le thème de la Journée mondiale de la normalisation de cette année est : Les normes internationales garantissent des changements positifs

Joignez-vous au Conseil canadien des normes (CCN) pour célébrer la Journée mondiale de la normalisation 2013 et découvrez comment les normes internationales sont établies de façon à engendrer des changements positifs et à améliorer à la fois la qualité des résultats de laboratoire et les soins donnés aux patients.

Sous le thème « Les normes internationales garantissent des changements positifs », l'activité prévue par le CCN dans le cadre de la Journée mondiale de la normalisation 2013, le 16 octobre prochain, illustrera le rôle des normes internationales dans la qualité des résultats de laboratoire. Chaque année à la mi-octobre, le CCN se joint à la communauté internationale pour célébrer la Journée mondiale de la normalisation et souligner l'importance des activités de normalisation.

Le CCN invite tous les intervenants intéressés à participer à cette activité enrichissante d'une demi-journée qui comprendra une table ronde sur la façon dont les normes internationales assurent la qualité des résultats de laboratoire. Cette activité dynamique rassemblera des experts de l'industrie, du gouvernement et du milieu de l'élaboration des normes. Ceux-ci discuteront du processus d'accréditation et des normes internationales clés visant les laboratoires d'essais, et feront part de leurs réussites et des leçons retenues. En plus de cette table ronde, il y aura des allocutions prononcées par des conférenciers d'honneur, des possibilités de réseautage et des stands tenus par des exposants.

Liste des conférenciers à la Journée mondiale de la normalisation 2013 :

  • John Walter, directeur général du CCN, et Kathy Milsom, présidente du conseil d'administration du CCN
  • Dr Mike Moss, directeur provincial du service médical, LifeLabs BC, qui présentera le discours-programme
  • Dr Michael Noble, président du Bureau du Programme de management de la qualité des laboratoires de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, qui animera la table ronde
  • Membres de la table ronde :
    • Anita Kwong, directrice, Qualité des laboratoires et amélioration des processus, Lower Mainland Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Fraser Health, Providence Health Care, Provincial Health Services Authority, et Vancouver Coastal Health
    • Dr Mike Moss, directeur provincial du service médical, LifeLabs BC
    • Jane Weitzel, experte en accréditation des laboratoires, au sujet de la norme ISO/CEI 17025 et en chimie analytique, et ancienne auditrice d'entreprises pharmaceutiques
    • Toby Yan, gestionnaire du marché de l'Ontario et de l'Atlantique, Services à la clientèle nationale, Agrément Canada

Au cours de l'activité de la Journée mondiale de la normalisation du CCN, on mettra en lumière deux normes internationales clés qui ont une incidence déterminante sur les résultats de laboratoire : la norme ISO/CEI 17025 d'accréditation des laboratoires et la norme ISO 15189 pour les laboratoires médicaux. Ces deux normes veillent à ce que les laboratoires possèdent les compétences voulues pour appliquer des méthodes d'essai données. Plus précisément, la norme ISO 15189 aide les établissements de soins de santé et les laboratoires médicaux à accroître l'exactitude des résultats d'analyse et à améliorer la sécurité des patients en assurant la traçabilité des procédures de laboratoire.

Joignez-vous à nous à l'occasion de la Journée mondiale de la normalisation 2013

L'activité de la Journée mondiale de la normalisation du CCN aura lieu de 13 h à 16 h 30 (HAP) le mercredi 16 octobre 2013, à l'hôtel Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside, au 1133, rue Hastings Ouest, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique). Inscrivez-vous dès aujourd'hui.

L'événement, qui comprend aussi l'Assemblée publique annuelle de 2013 du CCN, débutera à 13 h par l'inscription et une période de réseautage. Les participants pourront assister à l'activité en personne ou y participer au moyen de la webdiffusion. Veuillez noter que la participation à cet événement est gratuite et que tous les intervenants sont invités à y assister. L'activité du CCN ouvrira la voie au colloque sur la gestion de la qualité pour la médecine de laboratoire de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique (anglais seulement), qui se tiendra également à l'hôtel Renaissance Vancouver Harbourside du 16 au 18 octobre 2013.

Date de modification :