Archived — Government of Canada Invests in R&D Technology for Joint Strike Fighter Program

Winnipeg, Manitoba, September 2, 2008 — The Honourable Vic Toews, Member of Parliament for Provencher (Manitoba), on behalf of the Honourable Jim Prentice, Minister of Industry, today announced support for a research and development (R&D) project that will sustain Canada's participation in the multinational Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) program. The project, undertaken by Bristol Aerospace Limited — a division of Magellan Aerospace Limited of Mississauga, Ontario — will create and maintain highly skilled jobs in Canada, while contributing to an aerospace composite centre of excellence in Winnipeg.

"Prime Minister Harper and the government are working hard to maximize business opportunities available to Canadian companies under the JSF program," said MP Toews. "This project will build on Canada's strength in the manufacturing of advanced composites and supports our commitment to an international defence effort."

The R&D project, with an estimated total cost of up to $120 million, will develop new processes for composite manufacturing and complex assemblies that incorporate both composite and metallic components. The Government of Canada will be contributing a repayable $43.4-million investment towards the project.

This complicated and innovative technology will provide unparalleled strength to the wing and tail of the F-35 aircraft. The company will receive substantial technical and collaborative support from industry and academia to achieve higher tolerances than previously seen on military or civilian platforms.

"This investment allows Bristol to actively participate in achieving the technical demands required for the development of the world's most advanced fighter aircraft," said Jim Butyniec, President and CEO of Magellan Aerospace Corporation. "Our partnership with the Government of Canada supports next-generation composite manufacturing that will prove to be the catalyst for future programs."

"Winnipeg's Composites Innovation Centre is pleased to collaborate in the research and development needed for this international program," said Sean McKay, Executive Director of the Composites Innovation Centre Manitoba Inc. "This project builds on Canada's strength as a recognized leader in aviation composites and stimulates economic growth in Winnipeg and Western Canada."

This investment is being made through the Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI), which supports strategic industrial research and pre-competitive development projects in the aerospace, defence, space and security industries. SADI is managed by the Industrial Technologies Office, a special operating agency of Industry Canada with a mandate to advance leading-edge R&D by Canadian industries.

The Government of Canada's participation in the JSF program makes it eligible to benefit from preferential conditions and advantages reserved for JSF partners; however, this participation does not commit it to purchase the aircraft.

For further information (media only), please contact:

Bill Rodgers
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Jim Prentice
Minister of Industry
613-995-9001

Media Relations
Industry Canada
613-943-2502


Backgrounders

Government of Canada Invests in R&D Technology for Joint Strike Fighter Program

The Government of Canada is investing $43.4-million in Bristol Aerospace Limited of Winnipeg, Manitoba, for a research and development manufacturing technologies project. The project will focus on developing composite technologies for the multinational Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) program.

The JSF program is a U.S.-led multinational effort to build an affordable, multi-role, fifth-generation stealth fighter aircraft. In February 2002, the Government of Canada signed a memorandum of understanding with the United States Department of Defense, signalling the beginning of Canadian participation in the JSF program and providing the Canadian aerospace industry with access to the largest international defence contract ever awarded. Through this involvement, Bristol has secured business opportunities during the pre-production phase of the F-35 aircraft.

The work Bristol is undertaking will generate many technological and long-term economic benefits for Canadians. An extensive amount of collaboration will occur with industry and research institutions, including Winnipeg's Composites Innovation Centre. This project will support a supply chain of Canadian companies, through direct and indirect relationships. The resulting jobs will be high-technology and knowledge-based focused, with a long-term project life span of 20 years or more.

The project's real value lies in expanding Canada's existing strength in aerospace and defence manufacturing technologies through the leading-edge, highly automated, precision composite and metallic technologies assemblies. The resulting expertise in advanced composite materials will strengthen Winnipeg's position as an aerospace composite centre of excellence. This proficiency can be leveraged to secure future aerospace development work across commercial, defence and space sectors.

The Winnipeg region, home to the largest aerospace industry in Western Canada, is the third largest provider of aerospace goods and services in the country. Manitoba's aerospace industry boasts revenues in excess of $1 billion annually and directly employs over 4000 people.

Bristol Aerospace Limited employs 650 people and is the largest division of the Magellan Aerospace group of companies, which employs 3,700 in operating divisions throughout North America and the United Kingdom.

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI)

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative supports strategic industrial research and pre-competitive development (R&D) projects in the aerospace, defence, space and security (A&D) industries.

Launched on April 2, 2007, this new initiative was developed with three key objectives in mind:

  1. to encourage strategic R&D that will result in innovation and excellence in new products and services;
  2. to enhance the competitiveness of Canadian A&D companies; and
  3. to foster collaboration among research institutes, universities, colleges and the private sector.

By investing in strategic R&D projects, SADI contributes to the development of technologies that focus on next-generation products or services, build on Canadian strengths, and enable Canadian companies to participate in major platforms.

SADI is administered with high standards of transparency and accountability by the Industrial Technologies Office. All project applications undergo extensive evaluation using a clear and rigorous process with published assessment criteria. These criteria include the company's ability to achieve the stated objectives, the project's technology benefits, and the expected social and economic benefits.

All Canadians receive value from SADI's contributions through the technological and economic benefits that result from supported R&D projects. These benefits include spinoffs in diverse sectors of the economy, such as nanotechnology and information technology, as well as the development of collaborative partnerships with universities, colleges and research institutions. Contributions to R&D made through SADI will also contribute to high-quality employment opportunities, strengthen Canada's workforce with talented scientists, engineers and researchers, and leverage private sector investments in R&D.

Canada's A&D industries are recognized around the world for producing leading-edge products and services. Domestically, these industries are important economic drivers in all regions of the country and are collectively significant players in the development of Canada's knowledge-based economy. Among the world leaders, Canada's A&D industries offer competitive and innovative solutions and are backed by a highly skilled workforce.

The Industrial Technologies Office is a Special Operating Agency of Industry Canada, with a mandate to advance leading-edge R&D by Canadian industries.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le Gouvernement du Canada investit dans la recherche-développement pour le programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées

Winnipeg (Manitoba), le 2 septembre 2008 — L'honorable Vic Toews, député de Provencher au Manitoba, au nom de l'honorable Jim Prentice, ministre de l'Industrie, a annoncé aujourd'hui l'appui du gouvernement du Canada à un projet de recherche-développement (R-D) qui permettra de soutenir la participation du Canada au programme multinational de l'avion d'attaque interarmées. Le projet, réalisé par Bristol Aerospace Limited, une division de Magellan Aerospace Limited de Mississauga, en Ontario, permettra de créer et de maintenir des emplois hautement qualifiés au Canada, tout en contribuant à l'établissement d'un centre d'excellence en matériaux composites pour l'aérospatiale à Winnipeg.

« Le premier ministre Harper et le gouvernement ne ménagent pas leurs efforts afin de maximiser les possibilités d'affaires offertes aux entreprises canadiennes dans le cadre du programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées, a affirmé le député Toews. Le projet fera fond sur la force du Canada dans le domaine de la fabrication de matériaux composites avancés et permettra de soutenir notre engagement à l'égard de l'effort de défense international."

Le projet de R-D, dont le coût total prévu sera d'une somme maximale de 120 millions de dollars, permettra la mise au point de nouveaux procédés de fabrication de matériaux composites et d'assemblages complexes qui intègrent à la fois des éléments composites et métalliques. Le gouvernement du Canada fournira une contribution remboursable de 43,4 millions de dollars dans le cadre de ce projet.

Cette technologie perfectionnée et novatrice donnera une force sans égale à l'aile et à la queue de l'avion F-35. La société bénéficiera d'un soutien technique important grâce à la collaboration avec l'industrie et le milieu universitaire en vue d'atteindre des tolérances plus élevées que celles qu'offrent les plateformes militaires ou civiles actuelles.

« Cet investissement permet à Bristol de travailler activement pour satisfaire aux exigences techniques nécessaires au développement du chasseur le plus sophistiqué au monde, a déclaré Jim Butyniec, président et chef de la direction de Magellan Aerospace Corporation. Notre partenariat avec le gouvernement du Canada contribue à soutenir la fabrication des matériaux composites de prochaine génération qui se révéleront être le catalyseur des programmes futurs."

« Le Composites Innovation Centre de Winnipeg est heureux de collaborer à la R-D nécessaire pour la réalisation de ce programme international, a affirmé Sean McKay, directeur général de Composites Innovation Centre Manitoba Inc. Ce projet mise sur la force du Canada en tant que chef de file reconnu dans les matériaux composites pour l'aviation et stimule la croissance économique à Winnipeg et dans l'Ouest du Canada."

Cet investissement est effectué dans le cadre de l'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD), qui permet de soutenir les projets stratégiques de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité. L'ISAD est gérée par l'Office des technologies industrielles, un organisme de service spécial d'Industrie Canada, qui a comme mandat de favoriser la R-D de pointe dans les industries canadiennes.

En participant au programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées, le gouvernement du Canada peut bénéficier de modalités avantageuses offertes aux partenaires du programme. Toutefois, cela n'oblige en rien le gouvernement à acheter des appareils.

Renseignements (médias seulement)  :

Bill Rodgers
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Jim Prentice
Ministre de l'Industrie
613-995-9001

Relations avec les médias
Industrie Canada
613-943-2502


Fiches d'information

Le Gouvernement du Canada investit dans la recherche-développement pour le programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées

Le gouvernement du Canada investit 43,4 millions de dollars dans Bristol Aerospace Limited de Winnipeg, au Manitoba, dans le cadre d'un projet de recherche-développement (R-D) de technologies de fabrication. Le projet sera axé sur la mise au point de technologies des matériaux composites pour le programme multinational de l'avion d'attaque interarmées.

Le programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées est un effort multinational dirigé par les États-Unis visant à construire un avion d'attaque furtif de cinquième génération abordable et polyvalent. En février 2002, le gouvernement du Canada a signé un protocole d'entente avec le département de la Défense des États-Unis, signalant le début de la participation canadienne au Programme et fournissant à l'industrie canadienne de l'aérospatiale l'accès au plus important contrat de défense international jamais octroyé. Grâce à cette participation, Bristol a obtenu des possibilités d'affaires durant la phase de préproduction de l'avion F-35.

Le travail que Bristol entreprend donnera lieu à bon nombre de retombées technologiques et économiques à long terme pour les Canadiens. Il favorisera également une collaboration intensive avec l'industrie et des établissements de recherche, y compris le Composites Innovation Centre de Winnipeg. Le projet permettra en outre de soutenir une chaîne d'approvisionnement de sociétés canadiennes, par des relations directes et indirectes. Les emplois qui en découleront seront dans le domaine de la technologie de pointe et axés sur le savoir. Ils seront fondés sur un projet à long terme dont la durée de vie sera d'au moins 20 ans.

La valeur réelle du projet repose sur le fait qu'il permettra d'accroître la force existante du Canada dans les technologies de fabrication des domaines de l'aérospatiale et de la défense grâce à des assemblages de technologies de précision de pointe hautement automatisés faisant appel à des matériaux composites et métalliques. L'expertise acquise dans les matériaux composites avancés renforcera la position de Winnipeg en tant que centre d'excellence en matériaux composites pour l'aérospatiale. Il sera possible de tirer profit de cette expertise pour obtenir d'autres contrats de développement dans les secteurs commercial, de la défense et de la sécurité du domaine de l'aérospatiale.

La région de Winnipeg, où se trouve la plus importante industrie de l'aérospatiale dans l'Ouest du Canada, est le troisième fournisseur de produits et services de l'aérospatiale au pays. L'industrie de l'aérospatiale du Manitoba affiche des revenus de plus de 1 milliard de dollars par année et emploie directement plus de 4 000 personnes.

Bristol Aerospace Limited emploie 650 personnes et constitue la plus importante entreprise du groupe de société Magellan Aerospace, lequel compte 3 700 employés dans ses divisions opérationnelles en Amérique du Nord et au Royaume-Uni.

L'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD)

L'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD) a pour objet de soutenir les projets de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel (R-D) stratégiques dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité (A-D).

Lancée le 2 avril 2007, cette nouvelle initiative comporte trois objectifs clés :

  1. encourager la R-D stratégique menant à l'innovation et à l'excellence dans les nouveaux produits et services;
  2. améliorer la compétitivité des entreprises canadiennes de l'A-D;
  3. favoriser la collaboration entre les instituts de recherche, les universités, les collèges et le secteur privé.

En investissant dans des projets de R-D stratégiques, l'ISAD contribue à la mise au point de technologies qui sont axées sur les produits ou services de prochaine génération, tirent profit des forces canadiennes et permettent aux entreprises du pays de participer à des plateformes importantes.

L'ISAD est administrée par l'Office des technologies industrielles selon des normes élevées de transparence et de reddition de comptes. Les demandes de projet font toutes l'objet d'une évaluation approfondie au moyen d'un processus clair et rigoureux, dont les critères d'évaluation sont publiés. Parmi ces critères figurent la capacité de l'entreprise d'atteindre les objectifs énoncés, les avantages technologiques du projet et les retombées sociales et économiques escomptées.

Les Canadiens bénéficient tous des contributions de l'ISAD grâce aux retombées technologiques et économiques des projets de R-D soutenus, notamment dans divers secteurs de l'économie comme la nanotechnologie et les technologies de l'information, sans oublier l'établissement de partenariats de collaboration avec les universités, collèges et établissements de recherche. Les contributions de l'ISAD servant à financer la R-D permettront aussi d'offrir des possibilités d'emploi de grande qualité, de renforcer le bassin canadien de main-d'oeuvre en y ajoutant des scientifiques, ingénieurs et chercheurs talentueux, et de mettre à profit les investissements du secteur privé dans la R-D.

Les industries canadiennes de l'A-D sont reconnues partout dans le monde pour leurs produits et services de pointe. Au pays, ces industries sont d'importants moteurs économiques dans toutes les régions et, ensemble, elles contribuent sensiblement au développement de l'économie canadienne du savoir. Chefs de file mondiaux, les industries canadiennes de l'A-D offrent des solutions concurrentielles et novatrices, fortes de leur main-d'oeuvre hautement qualifiée.

L'Office des technologies industrielles, organisme de service spécial d'Industrie Canada, a comme mandat de favoriser la R-D de pointe dans les industries canadiennes.

Date de modification :