Archived — Minister of Industry Announces $27-Million Repayable Contribution in the Development of Innovative Landing Gear Technologies

Longueuil, Quebec, September 3, 2008 — The Honourable Jim Prentice, Minister of Industry, announced today a $27-million repayable contribution in Héroux Devtek Inc. for the research and development (R&D) of advanced landing gear technologies. The $77-million project will focus on improving the reliability and performance of landing gear systems, as well as reducing their impact on the environment.

"Across the country, Canada's aerospace and defence (A&D) industries are important innovators, creating economic and technological benefits for Canadians," said Minister Prentice. "Héroux Devtek is helping Canada put its best foot forward."

The project undertaken by Héroux Devtek, headquartered in Longueuil, Quebec, comprises several components. In addition to exploring materials and manufacturing processes that will improve the performance and reduce the environmental footprint of landing gear, the company will also develop landing gear components for the next generation of aircraft, such as in-flight monitoring and electronic systems. These technologies will make landing gear more secure and reliable, and will help to detect problems before they occur.

Héroux Devtek will also use this project to strengthen its design, development and integration capabilities to manufacture complete landing gear systems.

The investment for this project is being made through the Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI), which supports strategic industrial research and pre-competitive development projects in the aerospace, defence, space and security industries.

"We welcome this opportunity to partner with the federal government through SADI," said Gilles Labbé, President and CEO of Héroux Devtek. "This will enable us to enhance our design and manufacturing capabilities in order to more efficiently integrate landing gear components into complete systems. This will allow the company to expand its role as a supplier of fully integrated systems, in addition to being a supplier of components."

SADI is managed by the Industrial Technologies Office, a special operating agency of Industry Canada with a mandate to advance leading-edge R&D by Canadian industries.

For further information (media only), please contact:

Bill Rodgers
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Jim Prentice
Minister of Industry
613-995-9001

Media Relations
Industry Canada
613-943-2502


Backgrounders

$27-million Repayable Investment in Innovative Landing Gear Technologies

The Government of Canada is making a repayable investment of $27 million in a $77-million project undertaken by Héroux Devtek Inc. for the industrial research and pre-competitive development of landing gear technologies.

This investment will help the company to develop and integrate new technologies into landing gear systems, design and manufacture. These technologies will increase the reliability of landing gear through the use of in-flight monitoring systems; improve their performance through electronic systems, known as fly-by-wire systems, and the use of new materials that reduce the weight of aircraft; and lessen their environmental impact through the reduction or elimination of harmful manufacturing products.

Héroux Devtek will also use this project to enhance its manufacturing capabilities in order to more efficiently integrate landing gear components into complete systems. This will allow the company to expand its role as a supplier of fully integrated systems, in addition to being a supplier of parts.

In addition to the technological and environmental benefits resulting from improved technologies for landing gear systems, this project will have a positive economic impact on the Montréal region. It will create highly skilled employment opportunities for engineers and will encourage collaboration within the landing gear supply chain.

Headquartered in Longueuil, Quebec, Héroux Devtek specializes in the design, development, manufacturing and repair of aerospace and industrial products. The company employs 1300 workers, including 1000 at its eight plants in Canada and 300 at its six plants in the United States.

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI), launched in April 2007, supports private sector industrial research and pre-competitive development in Canada's aerospace, defence, security and space industries through repayable investments. For more information about SADI, please visit the Industrial Technologies Office website.

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI)

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative supports strategic industrial research and pre-competitive development (R&D) projects in the aerospace, defence, space and security (A&D) industries.

Launched on April 2, 2007, this new initiative was developed with three key objectives in mind:

  1. to encourage strategic R&D that will result in innovation and excellence in new products and services;
  2. to enhance the competitiveness of Canadian A&D companies; and
  3. to foster collaboration among research institutes, universities, colleges and the private sector.

By investing in strategic R&D projects, SADI contributes to the development of technologies that focus on next-generation products or services, build on Canadian strengths, and enable Canadian companies to participate in major platforms.

SADI is administered with high standards of transparency and accountability by the Industrial Technologies Office. All project applications undergo extensive evaluation using a clear and rigorous process with published assessment criteria. These criteria include the company's ability to achieve the stated objectives, the project's technology benefits, and the expected social and economic benefits.

All Canadians receive value from SADI's contributions through the technological and economic benefits that result from supported R&D projects. These benefits include spinoffs in diverse sectors of the economy, such as nanotechnology and information technology, as well as the development of collaborative partnerships with universities, colleges and research institutions. Contributions to R&D made through SADI will also contribute to high-quality employment opportunities, strengthen Canada's workforce with talented scientists, engineers and researchers, and leverage private sector investments in R&D.

Canada's A&D industries are recognized around the world for producing leading-edge products and services. Domestically, these industries are important economic drivers in all regions of the country and are collectively significant players in the development of Canada's knowledge-based economy. Among the world leaders, Canada's A&D industries offer competitive and innovative solutions and are backed by a highly skilled workforce.

The Industrial Technologies Office is a Special Operating Agency of Industry Canada, with a mandate to advance leading-edge R&D by Canadian industries.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le ministre de l’industrie annonce un investissement remboursable de 27 millions de dollars dans le développement de technologies liées aux trains d’atterrissage

Longueuil, Québec, le 3 septembre 2008 — L'honorable Jim Prentice, ministre de l'Industrie, a annoncé aujourd'hui un investissement remboursable de 27 millions de dollars dans Héroux-Devtek Inc. pour la réalisation de travaux de recherche-développement (R-D) portant sur des technologies avancées liées aux trains d'atterrissage. Le projet de 77 millions de dollars vise à accroître la fiabilité et le rendement des trains d'atterrissage et à réduire l'incidence de ceux-ci sur l'environnement.

« Pour toutes les régions du pays, les industries canadiennes de l'aérospatiale et de la défense sont des innovateurs importants qui génèrent des retombées économiques et technologiques pour les Canadiens, a souligné le ministre Prentice. Héroux-Devtek aide le Canada à se présenter sous son meilleur jour. »

Le projet entrepris par Héroux-Devtek, dont le siège social est situé à Longueuil, au Québec, comporte plusieurs volets. En plus d'explorer les options quant aux matériaux et aux procédés de fabrication qui permettraient d'améliorer le rendement et de réduire l'empreinte écologique des trains d'atterrissage, l'entreprise mettra au point des composantes de trains d'atterrissage pour les aéronefs de la prochaine génération, comme des systèmes de surveillance en vol et des systèmes électroniques. Ces technologies permettront d'accroître la sécurité et la fiabilité des trains d'atterrissage et aideront à déceler les problèmes potentiels.

Ce projet permettra également à Héroux-Devtek d'augmenter ses capacités sur les plans de la conception, de la mise au point et de l'intégration afin de fabriquer des trains d'atterrissage complets.

Cet investissement est effectué dans le cadre de l'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD), qui permet de soutenir les projets stratégiques de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité.

« Nous nous félicitons de cette occasion de travailler en partenariat avec le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de l'ISAD, a souligné Gilles Labbé, président-directeur général de Héroux-Devtek. Cela nous permettra d'accroître nos capacités sur le plan de la conception et de la fabrication afin d'intégrer de façon plus efficace des composantes de trains d'atterrissage dans des systèmes complets. L'entreprise pourra ainsi élargir son rôle en tant que fournisseur de systèmes complètement intégrés, en plus d'être un fournisseur de composantes. »

L'ISAD est gérée par l'Office des technologies industrielles, un organisme de service spécial d'Industrie Canada, qui a comme mandat de favoriser la R-D de pointe dans les industries canadiennes.

Renseignements (médias seulement)  :

Bill Rodgers
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Jim Prentice
Ministre de l'Industrie
613-995-9001

Relations avec les médias
Industrie Canada
613-943-2502


Fiches d'information

Investissement remboursable de 27 millions de dollars dans le développement de technologies avancées liées aux trains d'atterrissage

Le gouvernement du Canada effectue un investissement remboursable de 27 millions de dollars dans un projet de 77 millions de dollars réalisé par Héroux-Devtek Inc. pour la recherche industrielle et le développement préconcurrentiel de technologies liées aux trains d'atterrissage.

Cet investissement aidera la société à créer et à intégrer de nouvelles technologies dans la conception et la fabrication de systèmes de trains d'atterrissage. Ces technologies permettront d'accroître la fiabilité des trains d'atterrissage grâce à l'utilisation de systèmes de contrôle de vol; d'améliorer leur performance au moyen de systèmes électroniques et de l'emploi de nouveaux matériaux qui réduisent le poids de l'appareil; et d'atténuer leur incidence environnementale par la réduction ou l'élimination des produits de fabrication nuisibles.

Héroux-Devtek utilisera aussi ce projet pour accroître ses capacités sur les plans de la conception et de la fabrication afin d'intégrer de façon plus efficace des composantes de trains d'atterrissage dans des systèmes complets. L'entreprise pourra ainsi élargir son rôle en tant que fournisseur de systèmes complètement intégrés, en plus d'être un fournisseur de composantes.

Outre les avantages technologiques et environnementaux résultant de l'amélioration des technologies des systèmes de trains d'atterrissage, ce projet aura une incidence économique positive sur la région de Montréal. Il offrira des possibilités d'emplois hautement qualifiés à des ingénieurs, tout en encourageant la collaboration au sein de la chaîne d'approvisionnement des trains d'atterrissage.

Héroux-Devtek, dont le siège social est situé à Longueuil, au Québec, se spécialise dans la conception, le développement, la fabrication et la réparation de produits de l'aérospatiale et industriels. La société emploie 1 300 personnes, dont 1 000 dans ses huit usines au Canada et 300 dans ses six usines aux États-Unis.

L'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD), lancée en avril 2007, soutient des projets de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel dans le secteur privé canadien, plus particulièrement dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de la sécurité et de l'espace, grâce à des investissements remboursables. Pour obtenir plus d'information au sujet de l'ISAD, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Office des technologies industrielles.

L'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD)

L'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD) a pour objet de soutenir les projets de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel (R-D) stratégiques dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité (A-D).

Lancée le 2 avril 2007, cette nouvelle initiative comporte trois objectifs clés :

  1. encourager la R-D stratégique menant à l'innovation et à l'excellence dans les nouveaux produits et services;
  2. améliorer la compétitivité des entreprises canadiennes de l'A-D;
  3. favoriser la collaboration entre les instituts de recherche, les universités, les collèges et le secteur privé.

En investissant dans des projets de R-D stratégiques, l'ISAD contribue à la mise au point de technologies qui sont axées sur les produits ou services de prochaine génération, tirent profit des forces canadiennes et permettent aux entreprises du pays de participer à des plateformes importantes.

L'ISAD est administrée par l'Office des technologies industrielles selon des normes élevées de transparence et de reddition de comptes. Les demandes de projet font toutes l'objet d'une évaluation approfondie au moyen d'un processus clair et rigoureux, dont les critères d'évaluation sont publiés. Parmi ces critères figurent la capacité de l'entreprise d'atteindre les objectifs énoncés, les avantages technologiques du projet et les retombées sociales et économiques escomptées.

Les Canadiens bénéficient tous des contributions de l'ISAD grâce aux retombées technologiques et économiques des projets de R-D soutenus, notamment dans divers secteurs de l'économie comme la nanotechnologie et les technologies de l'information, sans oublier l'établissement de partenariats de collaboration avec les universités, collèges et établissements de recherche. Les contributions de l'ISAD servant à financer la R-D permettront aussi d'offrir des possibilités d'emploi de grande qualité, de renforcer le bassin canadien de main-d'oeuvre en y ajoutant des scientifiques, ingénieurs et chercheurs talentueux, et de mettre à profit les investissements du secteur privé dans la R-D.

Les industries canadiennes de l'A-D sont reconnues partout dans le monde pour leurs produits et services de pointe. Au pays, ces industries sont d'importants moteurs économiques dans toutes les régions et, ensemble, elles contribuent sensiblement au développement de l'économie canadienne du savoir. Chefs de file mondiaux, les industries canadiennes de l'A-D offrent des solutions concurrentielles et novatrices, fortes de leur main-d'oeuvre hautement qualifiée.

L'Office des technologies industrielles, organisme de service spécial d'Industrie Canada, a comme mandat de favoriser la R-D de pointe dans les industries canadiennes.

Date de modification :