Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Nanotechnology Coatings for Joint Strike Fighter Program

Ottawa, September 3, 2008 — The Honourable Jim Prentice, Minister of Industry, today announced federal government support for the research and development (R&D) of next-generation nanotechnology-based coatings for the multinational Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) program.

"Prime Minister Harper and the government recognize the world-class ability of our aerospace and defence industries to conduct innovative R&D," said Minister Prentice. "Our partnership with Integran Technologies Inc. demonstrates our commitment to science and technology, and to helping Canadian companies remain on the leading edge of such a competitive industry."

Based in Toronto, Ontario, this project will expand Integran's technological capabilities in composite tooling. The project aims to develop a hard metal coating called Nanovate NV™ (Nanovar) to apply to aerospace tools to improve tool lifespan and durability, and to achieve cost savings. The Government of Canada is contributing a $4.6-million repayable investment to the project.

"As a research-based company, Integran is committed to staying at the forefront of nanostructured material technologies," said Dr. Gino Palumbo, President and CEO of Integran. "Our partnership with the federal government and the JSF program will help us sustain our position as a leading international player within the growing nanotechnology sector."

Integran will also collaborate with University of Toronto graduate students on this innovative nanotechnology R&D project, supporting knowledge transfer in the region.

"Participating in this project will allow our young innovators to gain hands-on professional experience with one of Canada's most exciting and innovative companies, and together they will become conveyers of advanced knowledge and technology to Canada's aerospace industry," said Doug Perovic, professor and Chairman of the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Toronto.

This investment is being made through the Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI), which supports strategic industrial research and pre-competitive development projects in the aerospace, defence, space and security industries. SADI is managed by the Industrial Technologies Office, a special operating agency of Industry Canada, whose mandate is to advance leading-edge R&D by Canadian industries.

The Government of Canada's participation in the JSF program makes it eligible to benefit from preferential conditions and advantages reserved for JSF partners; however, this participation does not commit it to purchase the aircraft.

For further information (media only), please contact:

Bill Rodgers
Director of Communications
Office of the Honourable Jim Prentice
Minister of Industry
613-995-9001

Media Relations
Industry Canada
613-943-2502


Backgrounders

Minister of Industry Announces $4.6-Million Repayable Investment in Nanotechnology Coatings for Joint Strike Fighter Program

The Government of Canada is investing $4.6-million in Integran Technologies Inc. of Toronto, Ontario, for the research and development (R&D) of next-generation nanotechnology-based coatings for the Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) program.

Nanotechnology is a science that manipulates the size and assembly of molecules and atoms to make novel devices and materials 100 nanometres or smaller. Integran is developing Nanovate NV™ (Nanovar), which is a very hard nanometal surface coating for carbon fibre reinforced plastic (CFRP) aerospace tools, designed to protect them from damage. These CFRP tools will be used to form and shape the various parts of an airplane. The coating will be very useful to the JSF program, since the coating is intended to improve the durability and lifespan of composite tooling and to reduce costs.

The aerospace industry requires a large investment in tooling to manufacture advanced structural CFRP components, and the projected outcome of the Integran project is to provide long-term reliable service to the aerospace and defence industries. The technology has the potential to move the aerospace composite industry into the next generation of composite moulding capabilities.

This investment in R&D demonstrates the Government of Canada's commitment to innovation and promoting prosperity for all Canadians. In addition to reaping the technological benefits resulting from improved technologies for composite tooling, Integran will be collaborating with the University of Toronto's graduate program in materials engineering. Students will gain hands-on experience, and the opportunity will foster knowledge and technology transfer in the region, contributing to a strong workforce in Canada.

The JSF program is a U.S.-led multinational effort to build an affordable and multi-role fifth-generation stealth fighter aircraft. In February 2002, the Government of Canada signed a memorandum of understanding with the United States Department of Defense, signalling the beginning of Canadian participation in the JSF program, which provides the Canadian aerospace industry with access to the largest international defence contract ever awarded.

In 2006, Canada continued its participation in the JSF program by signing the Production, Sustainment and Follow-on Development Memorandum of Understanding. This Memorandum of Understanding is a roadmap that details the rules that Canada would follow should it elect to buy, sustain and further develop the aircraft. Canada's participation in the JSF program makes it eligible to benefit from preferential conditions and advantages reserved for JSF partners, should Canada decide to purchase the aircraft.

Integran is a privately owned, metallurgical applications engineering company with 35 employees and is a leader in advanced nanotechnologies.

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI), launched in April 2007, supports private sector industrial research and pre-competitive development in Canada's aerospace, defence, security and space industries through repayable investments. For more information about SADI, please visit the Industrial Technologies Office website.

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI)

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative supports strategic industrial research and pre-competitive development (R&D) projects in the aerospace, defence, space and security (A&D) industries.

Launched on April 2, 2007, this new initiative was developed with three key objectives in mind:

  1. to encourage strategic R&D that will result in innovation and excellence in new products and services;
  2. to enhance the competitiveness of Canadian A&D companies; and
  3. to foster collaboration among research institutes, universities, colleges and the private sector.

By investing in strategic R&D projects, SADI contributes to the development of technologies that focus on next-generation products or services, build on Canadian strengths, and enable Canadian companies to participate in major platforms.

SADI is administered with high standards of transparency and accountability by the Industrial Technologies Office. All project applications undergo extensive evaluation using a clear and rigorous process with published assessment criteria. These criteria include the company's ability to achieve the stated objectives, the project's technology benefits, and the expected social and economic benefits.

All Canadians receive value from SADI's contributions through the technological and economic benefits that result from supported R&D projects. These benefits include spinoffs in diverse sectors of the economy, such as nanotechnology and information technology, as well as the development of collaborative partnerships with universities, colleges and research institutions. Contributions to R&D made through SADI will also contribute to high-quality employment opportunities, strengthen Canada's workforce with talented scientists, engineers and researchers, and leverage private sector investments in R&D.

Canada's A&D industries are recognized around the world for producing leading-edge products and services. Domestically, these industries are important economic drivers in all regions of the country and are collectively significant players in the development of Canada's knowledge-based economy. Among the world leaders, Canada's A&D industries offer competitive and innovative solutions and are backed by a highly skilled workforce.

The Industrial Technologies Office is a Special Operating Agency of Industry Canada, with a mandate to advance leading-edge R&D by Canadian industries.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le Gouvernement du Canada investit dans les nanorevêtements pour le programme de l’avion d’attaque interarmées

Ottawa, le 3 septembre 2008 — L'honorable Jim Prentice, ministre de l'Industrie, a annoncé aujourd'hui le soutien du gouvernement fédéral à des travaux de recherche-développement (R-D) sur des nanorevêtements de prochaine génération destinés au programme multinational de l'avion d'attaque interarmées.

« Le premier ministre Harper et le gouvernement reconnaissent que nos industries de l'aérospatiale et de la défense ont la capacité d'effectuer de la R-D innovatrice de calibre mondial, a déclaré le ministre Prentice. Notre partenariat avec Integran Technologies Inc. démontre notre engagement en faveur de la science et des technologies, et notre volonté d'aider les entreprises canadiennes à demeurer à la fine pointe d'une industrie extrêmement compétitive. »

Ce projet mené à Toronto, en Ontario, rehaussera les capacités d'usinage de composites d'Integran. Il vise à mettre au point un revêtement métallique très dur appelé Nanovate NVMD (Nanovar), qui sera appliqué aux outils de l'aérospatiale pour prolonger leur durée de vie utile, augmenter leur durabilité et réaliser des économies. Le gouvernement du Canada fournira une contribution remboursable de 4,6 millions de dollars dans le cadre de ce projet.

« En tant qu'entreprise axée sur la recherche, Integran est déterminée à rester à l'avant-garde des technologies des matériaux nanostructurés, a déclaré le président et chef de la direction d'Integran, Gino Palumbo. Notre partenariat avec le gouvernement fédéral et le programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées nous aidera à rester un acteur international de pointe dans le secteur en plein essor de la nanotechnologie. »

Integran collaborera avec des étudiants diplômés de l'Université de Toronto dans ce projet de R-D innovateur en nanotechnologie. Cette association favorisera le transfert de connaissances dans la région.

« Le fait de participer à ce projet permettra à nos jeunes innovateurs d'acquérir de l'expérience professionnelle auprès de l'une des entreprises les plus dynamiques et innovatrices au Canada, en collaboration avec laquelle ils transmettront des connaissances et des technologies de pointe à l'industrie canadienne de l'aérospatiale », a ajouté Doug Perovic, professeur et président du Département des sciences et du génie des matériaux à l'Université de Toronto.

Cet investissement est effectué dans le cadre de l'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD), qui permet de soutenir les projets stratégiques de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité. L'ISAD est gérée par l'Office des technologies industrielles, un organisme de service spécial d'Industrie Canada, qui a comme mandat de favoriser la R-D de pointe dans les industries canadiennes.

En participant au programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées, le gouvernement du Canada peut bénéficier de modalités avantageuses offertes aux partenaires du programme. Toutefois, cela n'oblige en rien le gouvernement à acheter des appareils.

Renseignements (médias seulement) :

Bill Rodgers
Directeur des communications
Cabinet de l'honorable Jim Prentice
Ministre de l'Industrie
613-995-9001

Relations avec les médias
Industrie Canada
613-943-2502


Fiches d'information

Le ministre de l'industrie annonce un investissement remboursable de 4,6 millions de dollars dans les nanorevêtements pour le programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées

Le gouvernement du Canada investit 4,6 millions de dollars dans Integran Technologies Inc., de Toronto, pour des travaux de recherche-développement (R-D) sur des nanorevêtements de prochaine génération destinés au programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées.

La nanotechnologie est une science qui manipule la taille et l'assemblage de molécules et d'atomes pour créer des dispositifs novateurs et des matériaux d'une taille de 100 nanomètres ou moins. Integran s'emploie à mettre au point le Nanovate NVMD (Nanovar), un nanorevêtement métallique très dur pour outils en plastique renforcé de fibre de carbone (PRFC), destiné à les protéger. Des outils en PRFC sont utilisés pour former les diverses composantes d'un avion. Ce revêtement est souhaitable dans le programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées puisqu'il vise à augmenter la durabilité de l'outillage composite, prolonger sa durée de vie utile et réaliser des économies.

L'industrie de l'aérospatiale a besoin de grands investissements en outillage pour produire des composantes structurelles d'avant-garde en PRFC. On prévoit que ce projet d'Integran permettra d'assurer un service fiable à long terme à l'industrie de l'aérospatiale et de la défense. La technologie pourrait doter l'industrie des composites de l'aérospatiale de capacités de façonnage de prochaine génération.

Cet investissement en R-D démontre l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada en faveur de l'innovation et sa volonté de favoriser la prospérité de tous les Canadiens. En plus de produire des retombées technologiques grâce à la mise au point de technologies supérieures pour l'outillage composite, Integran collaborera avec le programme d'études supérieures en génie des matériaux de l'Université de Toronto. Les étudiants obtiendront de l'expérience pratique et pourront effectuer un transfert de connaissances et de technologie dans la région, ce qui contribuera au renforcement de la main-d'œuvre au Canada.

Le programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées est un projet multinational dirigé par les États-Unis et visant à construire un avion d'attaque furtif de cinquième génération abordable et polyvalent. En février 2002, le gouvernement du Canada a conclu avec le département de la Défense des États-Unis un protocole d'entente marquant le début de la participation canadienne au programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées et assurant à l'industrie canadienne de l'aérospatiale un accès au plus grand marché international de défense jamais octroyé.

En 2006, le Canada a poursuivi sa participation au programme en signant un protocole d'entente sur la production, le maintien et le soutien. Ce protocole d'entente énonce la marche à suivre si le Canada décidait d'acheter l'appareil, de l'utiliser et d'en poursuivre la mise au point. En participant au programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées, le gouvernement du Canada pourrait bénéficier de modalités avantageuses offertes aux partenaires du programme, s'il décidait d'acheter l'appareil.

Integran est une société privée d'étude d'applications métallurgiques possédant un effectif de 35 employés. Elle est un chef de file dans les nanotechnologies de pointe.

L'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD), lancée en avril 2007, soutient des projets de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel dans le secteur privé canadien, plus particulièrement dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de la sécurité et de l'espace, grâce à des investissements remboursables. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet de l'ISAD, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Office des technologies industrielles.

L'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD)

L’Initiative stratégique pour l’aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD) a pour objet de soutenir les projets de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel (R-D) stratégiques dans les industries de l’aérospatiale, de la défense, de l’espace et de la sécurité (A-D).

Lancée le 2 avril 2007, cette nouvelle initiative comporte trois objectifs clés :

  1. encourager la R-D stratégique menant à l’innovation et à l’excellence dans les nouveaux produits et services;
  2. améliorer la compétitivité des entreprises canadiennes de l’A-D;
  3. favoriser la collaboration entre les instituts de recherche, les universités, les collèges et le secteur privé.

En investissant dans des projets de R-D stratégiques, l’ISAD contribue à la mise au point de technologies qui sont axées sur les produits ou services de prochaine génération, tirent profit des forces canadiennes et permettent aux entreprises du pays de participer à des plateformes importantes.

L’ISAD est administrée par l’Office des technologies industrielles selon des normes élevées de transparence et de reddition de comptes. Les demandes de projet font toutes l’objet d’une évaluation approfondie au moyen d’un processus clair et rigoureux, dont les critères d’évaluation sont publiés. Parmi ces critères figurent la capacité de l’entreprise d’atteindre les objectifs énoncés, les avantages technologiques du projet et les retombées sociales et économiques escomptées.

Les Canadiens bénéficient tous des contributions de l’ISAD grâce aux retombées technologiques et économiques des projets de R-D soutenus, notamment dans divers secteurs de l’économie comme la nanotechnologie et les technologies de l’information, sans oublier l’établissement de partenariats de collaboration avec les universités, collèges et établissements de recherche. Les contributions de l’ISAD servant à financer la R-D permettront aussi d’offrir des possibilités d’emploi de grande qualité, de renforcer le bassin canadien de main-d’oeuvre en y ajoutant des scientifiques, ingénieurs et chercheurs talentueux, et de mettre à profit les investissements du secteur privé dans la R-D.

Les industries canadiennes de l’A-D sont reconnues partout dans le monde pour leurs produits et services de pointe. Au pays, ces industries sont d’importants moteurs économiques dans toutes les régions et, ensemble, elles contribuent sensiblement au développement de l’économie canadienne du savoir. Chefs de file mondiaux, les industries canadiennes de l’A-D offrent des solutions concurrentielles et novatrices, fortes de leur main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée.

L’Office des technologies industrielles, organisme de service spécial d’Industrie Canada, a comme mandat de favoriser la R-D de pointe dans les industries canadiennes.

Date de modification :