Archived — Government of Canada Invests in R&D Technology for Joint Strike Fighter Program

The Honourable Vic Toews, PC, QC, MP
Member of Parliament for Provencher

On Behalf Of

The Honourable Jim Prentice, PC, QC, MP
Minister of Industry

Bristol Aerospace Limited

Winnipeg, Manitoba

September 2, 2008

(check against delivery)

Good day, everyone. Thank you for your kind introduction. I would like to warmly welcome our out-of-town guests to Manitoba on this important occasion.

Winnipeg is a vibrant centre! It's an important regional centre of commerce, industry, culture, finance and government. It's also home to the largest aerospace industry in Western Canada — the third largest provider of aerospace goods and services in our country.

It is a hub for world-class companies that employ thousands of Manitobans in good, high-paying jobs. The industry puts Manitoba on the cutting edge of research, innovation, education and skills training.

A member of Winnipeg's business community for almost 80 years, Bristol Aerospace Limited — a division of Magellan Aerospace Limited — is one of the country's leading aerospace companies. Its commitment to innovation in both civil and defence aerospace has earned the company a good reputation in the global marketplace.

Today, I'm here to announce a repayable investment of $43.4 million in Bristol through the Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI).

This investment will support the company in a research and development (R&D) effort focused on advanced composite technologies required for the multinational Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) program.

Canada is one of nine countries involved in the JSF program. This U.S.-led multinational effort is dedicated to developing the F-35 — an affordable, multi-role, fifth-generation stealth fighter aircraft.

The government's commitment to this program provides the Canadian aerospace industry with access to the largest international defence contract ever awarded.

Opportunities for private sector R&D, such as the JSF program, are essential. But so is ensuring that Canada has the right business conditions to promote innovation.

This is where the government's Science and Technology (S&T) Strategy, Mobilizing Science and Technology to Canada's Advantage, plays an important role.

The S&T Strategy seeks to encourage private sector investment in R&D, so that companies can continue to innovate, transforming ideas into wealth and prosperity for Canadians. Making R&D investments through SADI — in the aerospace, defence, space and security industries — is one way the government is doing this.

This investment in Bristol will help the company to develop new processes for composite manufacturing and complex assemblies.

These innovative technologies will push the boundaries of manufacturing precision and tolerances. The result will be new and advanced manufacturing processes and qualifications for the Canadian supply chain.

In addition to its benefits for Bristol, the government's investment will have a positive impact on the Winnipeg region and Canada as a whole.

Composite materials are at the forefront of today's aerospace technology. As part of this project, Bristol will work with the Composites Innovation Centre Manitoba — a partnership that will help strengthen Winnipeg's position as a composite centre of excellence.

The jobs that will be generated through this project will be high-technology, knowledge-based positions. As one of Winnipeg's largest industrial employers, Bristol's highly trained workforce will benefit from being at the leading edge of composite expertise.

Finally, the technological know-how acquired by Bristol through this project will give Canada's aerospace and defence industries a competitive edge. This will be important as the application of these manufacturing processes migrates from the JSF program into other aerospace and defence platforms.

Our commitment to continued excellence in this important sector has also been demonstrated through the Canada First procurement policy.

Our industrial benefits policy ensures that every dollar spent on defence procurement gets invested back into the Canadian economy in high-technology projects. This will bring tremendous opportunities to Winnipeg and communities throughout Canada.

On behalf of my colleagues, I would like to offer my congratulations to Bristol Aerospace on today's announcement. I wish you the best of luck as you undertake this important project.

Thank you.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le Gouvernement du Canada investit dans la recherche-développement pour le programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées

L'honorable Vic Toews, C.P., C.R.
Député de Provencher

Au nom de

L'honorable Jim Prentice, C.P., C.R., député
Ministre de l'Industrie

Bristol Aerospace Limited

Winnipeg (Manitoba)
Le 2 septembre 2008

(La version prononcée fait foi)

Bonjour à tous. Merci pour cette aimable présentation. Je suis très heureux d'être avec vous ici à Winnipeg pour souligner cette importante occasion avec nous.

Winnipeg est un centre dynamique! En effet, c'est un important centre régional de commerce, d'industrie, de culture, de finances et d'administration publique. C'est aussi l'endroit où se trouve la plus grande industrie de l'aérospatiale dans l'Ouest du Canada, et le troisième fournisseur de produits et services de l'aérospatiale dans notre pays.

Il s'agit d'un carrefour pour les entreprises de classe mondiale qui offrent de bons emplois avec un salaire concurrentiel à des milliers de Manitobains. L'industrie place le Manitoba à la fine pointe de la recherche, de l'innovation, de l'éducation et de la formation.

Membre du milieu des affaires de Winnipeg depuis près de 80 ans, Bristol Aerospace Limited, une division du groupe Magellan Aerospace Limited, est l'une des principales sociétés d'aérospatiale du Canada. Son engagement à l'égard de l'innovation dans les domaines de l'aérospatiale civile et de l'aérospatiale de la défense a permis à la société de se tailler une solide réputation sur le marché mondial.

Aujourd'hui, je suis ici pour annoncer un investissement remboursable de 43,4 millions de dollars dans Bristol dans le cadre de l'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD).

Cet investissement permettra de soutenir la société dans son effort de recherche-développement (R-D) visant à créer les technologies des matériaux composites avancés nécessaires au programme multinational de l'avion d'attaque interarmées.

Le Canada est l'un des neuf pays qui participent à ce programme. Cet effort multinational dirigé par les États-Unis vise à mettre au point le F-35, un avion d'attaque furtif de cinquième génération abordable et polyvalent.

Grâce à l'engagement du gouvernement à l'égard de ce programme, l'industrie canadienne de l'aérospatiale a accès au plus important contrat de défense international jamais octroyé.

Les possibilités qu'offre la R-D dans le secteur privé, comme le programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées, sont essentielles. Mais il est tout aussi vital de faire en sorte que le Canada offre un environnement d'affaires propre à favoriser l'innovation.

C'est là où la stratégie des sciences et de la technologie (S et T) de notre gouvernement, Réaliser le potentiel des sciences et de la technologie au profit du Canada, joue un rôle important.

La stratégie des S et T vise en effet à stimuler les investissements du secteur privé dans la R-D, afin que les entreprises puissent continuer à innover, en transformant les idées en richesse et en prospérité pour les Canadiens. Pour ce faire, le gouvernement investit, notamment par l'entremise de l'ISAD, dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité.

Cet investissement dans Bristol aidera la société à créer de nouveaux procédés pour la fabrication de matériaux composites et d'assemblages complexes.

Ces technologies novatrices repousseront les frontières de la précision et des tolérances de la fabrication. Il en résultera des qualifications et des procédés de fabrication nouveaux et avancés pour la chaîne d'approvisionnement canadienne.

Outre ses avantages pour Bristol, l'investissement du gouvernement aura une incidence positive sur la région de Winnipeg et l'ensemble du Canada.

Les matériaux composites sont à l'avant-garde de la technologie aérospatiale d'aujourd'hui. Dans le cadre de ce projet, Bristol travaillera avec le Composites Innovation Centre Manitoba. Ce partenariat contribuera à renforcer la position de Winnipeg en tant que centre d'excellence en matériaux composites.

Les emplois créés grâce à ce projet seront dans des domaines de pointe et seront axés sur le savoir. En tant qu'un des plus importants employeurs industriels de Winnipeg, la main-d'œuvre hautement formée de Bristol profitera de son expertise à la fine pointe des matériaux composites.

Enfin, le savoir-faire technologique acquis par Bristol grâce à ce projet permettra de procurer un avantage concurrentiel aux industries canadiennes de l'aérospatiale et de la défense. Cela sera important lorsque l'application de ces procédés de fabrication migrera du programme de l'avion d'attaque interarmées à d'autres plateformes de l'aérospatiale et de la défense.

Dans la politique d'approvisionnement « Le Canada d'abord », nous avons aussi démontré notre engagement à l'égard de l'excellence dans cet important secteur.

Notre politique des retombées industrielles permet de faire en sorte que chaque dollar dépensé dans un projet d'acquisition de défense soit réinvesti dans l'économie canadienne et dans des projets à forte composante technologique. Winnipeg et les autres collectivités d'un bout à l'autre du Canada pourront ainsi profiter de formidables possibilités.

Au nom de mes collègues du Parlement, j'aimerais féliciter Bristol Aerospace pour l'annonce d'aujourd'hui. Je vous souhaite bonne chance alors que vous entreprenez cet important projet.

Merci.

Date de modification :