Archived — Minister of Industry Invests in Innovative Research and Development Projects for Emergency Services

Minister of Industry Tony Clement at Norsat Plant

Richmond, British Columbia, January 15, 2009—The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister of Industry, has demonstrated the Canadian government's commitment to stimulating the Canadian economy through investments in innovation. Today, he announced a repayable investment in Norsat International Inc. (Norsat) to research and develop the next generation of portable ground satellite telecommunications technologies.

"These technologies are going to help military personnel, emergency response teams and disaster recovery missions communicate better during a crisis," said Minister Clement. "They are also going to help Norsat develop a better project. This investment demonstrates the government's commitment to promoting excellence and accelerating innovation in Canada's aerospace and defence industries."

"In the recent Speech from the Throne, the Government of Canada recognized the strategic importance of the Canadian manufacturing sector and the challenging financial conditions and global competitiveness it faces," Minister Clement added. "That is why we are implementing specific measures to strengthen these industries."

Based in Richmond, British Columbia, this $17-million-eligible R&D project will expand Norsat's technical capabilities in several ways, improving the effectiveness of satellite communications used in the field. Norsat's R&D activities include developing components that allow ground satellite systems to operate reliably over significant temperature ranges and in extreme environmental conditions, examining flat antenna technologies to increase satellite system portability, and integrating automatic control consoles that make it possible for non-technical users to operate ground-based satellite equipment. Under this project funding, Norsat will also design products that operate over wireless communications networks.

"This partnership with the federal government is key for Norsat because it enables us to pursue the R&D necessary to enhance and expand our product portfolio, furthering the technology leadership of our portable satellite terminals," said Dr. Amiee Chan, President and CEO of Norsat.

Norsat will also collaborate with Simon Fraser University graduate students on this project for the research and design of certain components, promoting knowledge and technology transfer in the region.

"Having involvement in this project presents a valuable opportunity for Simon Fraser University," said Dr. Rodney Vaughan, Professor of the School of Engineering Science. "It creates opportunities for our engineering students to gain practical experience, which is indispensable as they look toward entering Canada's workforce."

Today's repayable investment totalled $5.97 million. This investment is being made through the Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI), which supports strategic industrial research and pre-competitive development projects in the aerospace, defence, space and security industries. SADI is managed by the Industrial Technologies Office, a special operating agency of Industry Canada with a mandate to advance leading-edge R&D by Canadian industries.

For further information (media only), please contact:

Pema Lhalungpa
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Tony Clement
Minister of Industry
613-995-9001

Media Relations
Industry Canada
613-943-2502


Backgrounders

Minister of Industry Invests in Innovative Research and Development Projects for Emergency Services

The Government of Canada has made a repayable investment of $5.97 million in an industrial research and pre-competitive development (R&D) project being undertaken by Norsat International Inc. (Norsat) of Richmond, British Columbia, to develop next-generation technologies for portable ground-based satellite systems.

The $17-million eligible R&D project focuses on several areas of ground-based satellite technology. These include designing products that operate over a larger range of frequency bands and over wireless communications networks, and improving upon current antenna technologies to aid in the portability of ground satellite systems. Norsat will develop satellite capabilities that allow non technical users to set up and operate ground-based satellite systems, eliminating the need for communications technicians or engineers to be on site. This is especially useful if a portable ground satellite system must be deployed quickly without notice, as in an emergency or defence situation. This project also seeks to improve the quality of telecommunications over portable ground-based satellite systems and increase the reliability of these systems for operation over large temperature ranges and in extreme environmental conditions.

The main benefit of the government's investment is that it will help the company continue to expand its portfolio of portable satellite systems for use in the field by military personnel, emergency response teams and disaster recovery missions.

Throughout the project, Norsat will work with other small and medium-sized companies in British Columbia, fostering knowledge and technology transfer in the region. In addition, collaboration with Simon Fraser University will contribute to the professional development of engineering students, helping to strengthen Canada's knowledge-based workforce.

Advances in science and technology are essential to strengthening the competitiveness of Canada's economy. This investment in R&D undertaken by Norsat demonstrates the Government of Canada's commitment to set the right conditions for business innovation, promoting prosperity for all Canadians.

Norsat designs and develops ground-based satellite equipment for high-speed transmission of data, audio and video information. With 40 employees at its head office in Richmond, Norsat has additional offices in Seoul, South Korea and Rome, Italy. The company also has two wholly owned subsidiaries in the United States and the United Kingdom.

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI), launched in April 2007, supports private sector industrial research and pre-competitive development in Canada's aerospace, defence, security and space industries through repayable investments. For more information about SADI, please visit the Industrial Technologies Office's website.

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI)

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative supports strategic industrial research and pre-competitive development (R&D) projects in the aerospace, defence, space and security (A&D) industries.

Launched on April 2, 2007, this new initiative was developed with three key objectives in mind:

  1. to encourage strategic R&D that will result in innovation and excellence in new products and services;
  2. to enhance the competitiveness of Canadian A&D companies; and
  3. to foster collaboration among research institutes, universities, colleges and the private sector.

By investing in strategic R&D projects, SADI contributes to the development of technologies that focus on next-generation products or services, build on Canadian strengths, and enable Canadian companies to participate in major platforms.

SADI is administered with high standards of transparency and accountability by the Industrial Technologies Office. All project applications undergo extensive evaluation using a clear and rigorous process with published assessment criteria. These criteria include the company's ability to achieve the stated objectives, the project's technology benefits, and the expected social and economic benefits.

All Canadians receive value from SADI's contributions through the technological and economic benefits that result from supported R&D projects. These benefits include spinoffs in diverse sectors of the economy, such as nanotechnology and information technology, as well as the development of collaborative partnerships with universities, colleges and research institutions. Contributions to R&D made through SADI will also contribute to high-quality employment opportunities, strengthen Canada's workforce with talented scientists, engineers and researchers, and leverage private sector investments in R&D.

Canada's A&D industries are recognized around the world for producing leading-edge products and services. Domestically, these industries are important economic drivers in all regions of the country and are collectively significant players in the development of Canada's knowledge-based economy. Among the world leaders, Canada's A&D industries offer competitive and innovative solutions and are backed by a highly skilled workforce.

The Industrial Technologies Office is a Special Operating Agency of Industry Canada, with a mandate to advance leading-edge R&D by Canadian industries.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le Ministre de l’Industrie investit dans des projets de recherche-développement innovateurs visant les services d’urgence

Ministre de l'Industrie Tony Clement aux installations de Norsat

Richmond (Colombie-Britannique), le 15 janvier 2009 — L'honorable Tony Clement, ministre de l'Industrie, a montré que le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à stimuler l'économie canadienne grâce à des investissements dans l'innovation. Le ministre a annoncé aujourd'hui un investissement remboursable dans Norsat International Inc. (Norsat) en vue de soutenir la recherche-développement (R-D) relative à la prochaine génération de technologies de télécommunication par satellite pour systèmes terrestres portables.

« Ces technologies permettront au personnel militaire, aux équipes d'intervention d'urgence et aux intervenants des missions de rétablissement des activités après un sinistre de mieux communiquer en période de crise, a déclaré le ministre Clement. Elles permettront également à Norsat de mener un projet plus solide. Cet investissement témoigne de la détermination du gouvernement à favoriser l'excellence et à accélérer l'innovation dans les industries canadiennes de l'aérospatiale et de la défense. »

« Dans le récent discours du Trône, le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l'importance stratégique du secteur manufacturier canadien ainsi que la conjoncture financière difficile et la concurrence mondiale auxquelles ce secteur doit faire face, a ajouté le ministre Clement. C'est pourquoi nous prenons des mesures précises pour renforcer ces industries. »

Mené à Richmond, en Colombie-Britannique, ce projet de R-D admissible à un financement de 17 millions de dollars renforcera les capacités techniques de Norsat de plusieurs façons, notamment par l'amélioration de l'efficacité des systèmes de communication par satellite utilisés sur le terrain. Les activités de R-D de Norsat comprennent la mise au point de composantes pour assurer un fonctionnement fiable des systèmes terrestres de satellite dans des plages de température très diverses et des conditions ambiantes extrêmes; l'examen des technologies d'antenne plate en vue d'augmenter la portabilité des systèmes de satellite; l'intégration de dispositifs de contrôle automatiques permettant à des utilisateurs sans compétences techniques de faire fonctionner le matériel terrestre pour satellite. Grâce au financement de ce projet, Norsat concevra également des produits servant à exploiter les réseaux de communication sans fil.

« Ce partenariat avec le gouvernement fédéral est essentiel pour Norsat parce qu'il nous permet d'effectuer la R-D nécessaire à l'amélioration et à l'élargissement de notre gamme de produits, et de renforcer la prédominance technologique de nos terminaux portables pour satellite », a déclaré Amiee Chan, présidente-directrice générale de Norsat.

Dans le cadre de ce projet, Norsat collaborera également avec des étudiants des cycles supérieurs de l'Université Simon Fraser, en vue d'effectuer de la recherche et de mettre au point certaines composantes, ce qui favorisera le transfert des connaissances et des technologies dans la région.

« La participation de l'Université Simon Fraser à ce projet représente une possibilité intéressante pour cette dernière, a déclaré Rodney Vaughan, professeur à l'École de génie et des sciences appliquées (School of Engineering Science). Elle permet en effet à nos étudiants en génie d'acquérir une expérience pratique, qui est indispensable pour leur entrée sur le marché du travail au Canada. »

L'investissement remboursable annoncé aujourd'hui s'élève à 5,97 millions de dollars et est effectué dans le cadre de l'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD), qui soutient les projets stratégiques de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité. L'ISAD est gérée par l'Office des technologies industrielles, un organisme de service spécial d'Industrie Canada ayant pour mandat de promouvoir la R-D de pointe des industries canadiennes.

Renseignements (médias seulement) :

Pema Lhalungpa
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Tony Clement
Ministre de l'Industrie
613-995-9001

Relations avec les médias
Industrie Canada
613-943-2502


Fiches d'information

Le ministre de l'Industrie investit dans des projets de recherche-développement innovateurs visant les services d'urgence

Le gouvernement du Canada a fait un investissement remboursable de 5,97 millions de dollars dans un projet de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel (R-D) entrepris par Norsat International Inc. (Norsat) de Richmond, en Colombie Britannique, afin de mettre au point des technologies de la prochaine génération qui seront utilisées dans des systèmes terrestres portables de satellite.

Le projet de R-D admissible à un financement de 17 millions de dollars touche plusieurs secteurs de la technologie terrestre pour satellite, y compris la conception de produits qui exploitent une plus large gamme de fréquences et de réseaux de communications sans fil, ainsi que l'amélioration des technologies d'antenne actuelles en vue de faciliter la portabilité des systèmes terrestres actuels de satellite. Norsat mettra au point des capacités satellitaires permettant à des utilisateurs qui ne possèdent pas de compétences techniques d'installer et d'exploiter des systèmes terrestres de satellite, ce qui éliminera la nécessité d'avoir des techniciens ou des ingénieurs en communications sur place. Cet aspect est particulièrement utile si un système terrestre portable de satellite doit être déployé rapidement, sans préavis, comme dans une situation d'urgence ou de défense. Ce projet vise également à améliorer la qualité des télécommunications par systèmes terrestres portables de satellite, et à augmenter la fiabilité de ces systèmes pour qu'ils puissent être exploités dans des plages de température diverses et des conditions ambiantes extrêmes.

Cet investissement du gouvernement permettra surtout à l'entreprise de continuer à élargir sa gamme de systèmes portables de satellite qui seront utilisés sur place par le personnel militaire, les équipes d'intervention d'urgence et les responsables des missions de rétablissement des activités après un sinistre.

Tout au long du projet, Norsat travaillera avec d'autres petites et moyennes entreprises de la Colombie-Britannique afin de favoriser le transfert de connaissances et de technologies dans la région. De plus, sa collaboration avec l'Université Simon Fraser contribuera au développement professionnel des étudiants en génie, ce qui permettra de renforcer l'effectif du savoir du Canada.

Des percées scientifiques et technologiques sont essentielles au renforcement de la compétitivité de l'économie canadienne. L'investissement en R-D effectué par Norsat témoigne de la volonté du gouvernement du Canada de créer les conditions propices à l'innovation des entreprises, ce qui favorisera la prospérité de tous les Canadiens.

Norsat conçoit et met au point du matériel terrestre pour satellite servant à la transmission à haute vitesse d'informations et de données audio et vidéo. L'entreprise compte 40 employés à son siège social de Richmond et possède d'autres bureaux à Séoul, en Corée du Sud, et à Rome, en Italie. Norsat possède aussi deux filiales à cent pour cent aux États-Unis et au Royaume-Uni.

L'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD), lancée en avril 2007, soutient, grâce à des investissements remboursables, la recherche industrielle et le développement préconcurrentiel effectués au Canada par le secteur privé dans les domaines de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de la sécurité et de l'espace. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur l'ISAD, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Office des technologies industrielles.

L'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD)

L’Initiative stratégique pour l’aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD) a pour objet de soutenir les projets de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel (R-D) stratégiques dans les industries de l’aérospatiale, de la défense, de l’espace et de la sécurité (A-D).

Lancée le 2 avril 2007, cette nouvelle initiative comporte trois objectifs clés :

  1. encourager la R-D stratégique menant à l’innovation et à l’excellence dans les nouveaux produits et services;
  2. améliorer la compétitivité des entreprises canadiennes de l’A-D;
  3. favoriser la collaboration entre les instituts de recherche, les universités, les collèges et le secteur privé.

En investissant dans des projets de R-D stratégiques, l’ISAD contribue à la mise au point de technologies qui sont axées sur les produits ou services de prochaine génération, tirent profit des forces canadiennes et permettent aux entreprises du pays de participer à des plateformes importantes.

L’ISAD est administrée par l’Office des technologies industrielles selon des normes élevées de transparence et de reddition de comptes. Les demandes de projet font toutes l’objet d’une évaluation approfondie au moyen d’un processus clair et rigoureux, dont les critères d’évaluation sont publiés. Parmi ces critères figurent la capacité de l’entreprise d’atteindre les objectifs énoncés, les avantages technologiques du projet et les retombées sociales et économiques escomptées.

Les Canadiens bénéficient tous des contributions de l’ISAD grâce aux retombées technologiques et économiques des projets de R-D soutenus, notamment dans divers secteurs de l’économie comme la nanotechnologie et les technologies de l’information, sans oublier l’établissement de partenariats de collaboration avec les universités, collèges et établissements de recherche. Les contributions de l’ISAD servant à financer la R-D permettront aussi d’offrir des possibilités d’emploi de grande qualité, de renforcer le bassin canadien de main-d’oeuvre en y ajoutant des scientifiques, ingénieurs et chercheurs talentueux, et de mettre à profit les investissements du secteur privé dans la R-D.

Les industries canadiennes de l’A-D sont reconnues partout dans le monde pour leurs produits et services de pointe. Au pays, ces industries sont d’importants moteurs économiques dans toutes les régions et, ensemble, elles contribuent sensiblement au développement de l’économie canadienne du savoir. Chefs de file mondiaux, les industries canadiennes de l’A-D offrent des solutions concurrentielles et novatrices, fortes de leur main-d’oeuvre hautement qualifiée.

L’Office des technologies industrielles, organisme de service spécial d’Industrie Canada, a comme mandat de favoriser la R-D de pointe dans les industries canadiennes.

Date de modification :