Archived—h2EA Terms & Conditions

Archived

  1. Purpose
  2. Legislative Authority
  3. Objective
  4. Expected Results and Outcomes
  5. Eligibility Criteria
  6. Assessment Criteria
  7. Type and Amount of Assistance
  8. Maximum Amount Payable to Recipients
  9. Repayments
  10. Stacking Provisions
  11. Administration
  12. Basis and Timing of Payment
  13. Results-Based Management and Accountability Framework
  14. Audit
  15. Evaluation
  16. Duration and Renewal

1. PURPOSE

The purpose of this document is to set forth the terms and conditions for the administration of contributions under the h2 Early Adopters (h2EA) program managed by Technology Partnerships Canada (TPC), a Special Operating Agency of Industry Canada. The h2EA program is a separate program and shall be administered separately from other programs such as the Technology Partnerships Canada research and development program.

2. LEGISLATIVE AUTHORITY

The legislative authority for this program is: Paragraph 4(1)(a), subsections 5(c), 5(d), 6(c) and paragraph 14(1)(c) of the Department of Industry Act, Statutes of Canada 1995, Chapter 1.

3. OBJECTIVE

The h2EA program contributes to achieving the Department's strategic objectives, as stated yearly in Industry Canada's Report on Plans and Priorities.

The transition to a hydrogen economy presents a unique opportunity for Canada. This transition offers significant growth and investment opportunities for Canadian industry and offers a sustainable solution to climate change and pollution, particularly in our cities. By overcoming key technology and marketplace hurdles, Canada will be able to capitalize on its first–mover advantage in a hydrogen economy, thus maximizing the benefits of this transition for Canadians.

The Government of Canada seeks to work in partnership with hydrogen industry stakeholders to foster the development and early introduction into the marketplace in Canada of technologies, such as fuel cells and those used to produce, store and distribute hydrogen, that support the transition to a hydrogen economy. In accelerating the market acceptance of hydrogen and hydrogen-compatible technologies, approved projects will provide broad environmental, economic and social benefits for all Canadians.

More specifically, the strategic objectives of the h2EA program will be the:

  • Integration of hydrogen and hydrogen -compatible technologies;
  • Development of hydrogen infrastructures;
  • Development of skills and supply chain in the hydrogen industry;
  • Development of codes and standards for the hydrogen industry;
  • Increased performance, reliability, durability and economical viability of hydrogen and hydrogen -compatible technologies; and,
  • Increased public, consumer and investor awareness and acceptance of the hydrogen capability.

4 . EXPECTED RESULTS AND OUTCOMES

The h2EA program is expected to create the following outcomes:

  • accelerated market acceptance of hydrogen technologies and hydrogen- compatible technologies;
  • world-class talent is attracted and retained; and,
  • domestic and foreign investment in Canada are attracted.

In addition, the ultimate outcome of the h2EA program is to make a contribution to the objectives of Canada's Climate Change Agenda.

5. ELIGIBILITY CRITERIA

5.1 Eligible Activities

Eligible activities for h2EA program funding include those related to demonstrations in Canada. Implicit in demonstration is the application of individual technologies and their integration into a comprehensive working complex of a hydrogen economy in Canada, including:

  1. all types of fuel cells;
  2. fuel cell systems;
  3. other hydrogen-based power-generation technologies and materials;
  4. technologies and materials for producing, storing and distributing hydrogen from renewable and non-renewable energy sources; and,
  5. working prototypes of portable, stationary, mobile and fuelling applications using hydrogen technology.

5.2 Eligible Recipients

Eligible Recipients will participate in a group of legal entities consisting of two or more for-profit or not-for-profit incorporated entities, partnerships, cooperatives, trusts, associations or individuals. The Eligible Recipients must select one of theirs to be the point of contact with the Government of Canada and to be the entity managing the contribution agreement, including receiving and distributing to other Eligible Recipients of the group the contribution made pursuant to the h2EA program. This Lead Eligible Recipient must be incorporated and registered pursuant to the laws of Canada.

Each Eligible Recipient shall execute the contribution agreement with the Government of Canada and be subject to all its terms and conditions. Each Eligible Recipient under the contribution shall be jointly and severally liable with the other Eligible Recipients.

Crown Corporations are Eligible Recipients, but cannot be lead recipients and Treasury Board Secretariat must be consulted to determine whether specific Treasury Board approval is required. However, Federal Departments and Agencies are not Eligible Recipients.

5.3 Eligible Costs

Eligible costs are those incurred by the eligible recipients and which, in the opinion of the Minister, are necessary and reasonable to carry out the eligible activities to which they relate, as outlined in the project's Statement of Work. Eligible costs will include labour, material, overhead (as calculated by a proxy of 65% of direct labour or other PWGSC methods that may be appropriate), insurance, equipment used to integrate the various components of the project and other attributable costs. Costs related to operating, testing, maintenance, codes, safety and standards development, training of skilled resources, public awareness, all of which are considered an integral part of demonstration activity, are also considered eligible costs. The Minister will not support the cost of acquiring either land or buildings, nor costs associated with the preparation of the application.

The Minister may support retroactive reimbursement of eligible project costs incurred prior to the signing of the contribution agreement with recipients. In such cases, retroactivity will not pre-date receipt of a proposal nor exceed 20% of total eligible costs.

The Minister will be under no obligation to reimburse eligible costs incurred by the eligible recipients should the application for funding be rejected.

6. ASSESSMENT CRITERIA

All applications will be assessed in the context of their relevance to the objectives of the h2EA program. Specifically, applications will be assessed in terms of the extent to which they demonstrate that:

  1. the project contributes to the strategic objectives of the government, providing technological and broad environmental, socio-economic and societal benefits to Canada;
  2. the project contributes to the strategic objectives of the h2EA program, including the establishment of a hydrogen industry, the development of a cluster of ancillary, supplier, and support service industries around an existing hydrogen technology base;
  3. the project represents a comprehensive working complex of a hydrogen economy;
  4. the project is technologically feasible, and that the group possesses, or can
  5. reasonably be expected to secure, the requisite technological and managerial capabilities, and financial resources, to achieve the stated objectives of the project;
  6. a contribution under the h2EA program is necessary to ensure that the project proceeds with the desired scope, timing or location; and,
  7. the eligible recipients have current and planned involvement in the Canadian economy.

Increasing market awareness, and public education are integral objectives of the h2EA program and such activities in these areas will be undertaken as appropriate for each project.

Project approval shall be at the discretion of the Minister.

7. TYPE AND AMOUNT OF ASSISTANCE

All decisions to provide financial assistance to recipients will reflect the need for a contribution under the h2EA program, with particular attention to the benefits to the industry as a whole with respect to capacity building, technological innovation leading to economic growth and sustainable climate change solutions.

Funding support from the h2EA program will be up to 50 percent of eligible costs for approved projects. In exceptional circumstances, when the Minister deems it essential and justified by the potential environmental, social and economic benefits, the sharing ratio may reach, but will not exceed, 75 percent of eligible costs.

8. MAXIMUM AMOUNT PAYABLE TO RECIPIENTS

Assistance provided will be in the form of contributions at a level and amount deemed by the Minister to be justified in light of the anticipated benefits to Canada, up to a maximum of $40 million per project and $20 million per eligible recipient over the term of these Terms and Conditions.

9. REPAYMENTS

The provisions of the Treasury Board Policy on Transfer Payments pertaining to the repayment of contributions will apply. The h2EA program contributions are repayable. However, there is an expectation that little or no repayments will be collected. The recipients performing these projects are not expected to generate revenues. In addition, these projects will not allow firms to rapidly realize main revenue streams but rather help them pursue further R&D on next generation technologies. For these reasons, no repayments under the h2EA program are expected, although it is possible that a situation may arise where repayments are due.

10. STACKING PROVISIONS

The provisions of the Government's Stacking Policy will apply and the maximum total government assistance will normally not exceed 75%. Government assistance includes federal, provincial, territorial, regional and municipal assistance.

Potential recipients are required to identify, at the time of the application and throughout the life of the project, other sources of proposed funding for the project, including contributions from: other programs in Industry Canada; other departments or agencies of the Government of Canada; or from other levels of government.

Contribution agreements will contain provisions that permit reductions in the Minister's contributions in cases where it is determined that total government assistance exceeds the allowed total government Stacking Limit. Existing internal monitoring systems are in place to recover payments made beyond the Stacking Limit.

11. ADMINISTRATION

11.1 General

The h2EA program will be administered in accordance with Canada's international agreements and, in particular, the granting of contributions will not be contingent, either in law or in fact, upon actual or anticipated export performance. However, the granting of assistance to enterprises that export will not, for that reason alone, be precluded. Further, the h2EA program will be administered in accordance with all applicable legislation and regulations (including the provisions of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Actand regulations thereunder) and, except for exemptions otherwise approved by Treasury Board, all applicable Treasury Board policies and directives.

11.2 Contribution Agreement

Contributions will be administered and paid in accordance with the contribution agreement which will identify all conditions pertaining to the contributions, all obligations of the parties, and the conditions under which payments will be made.

11.3 Delegation of Authority

The approval or rejection of applications, the execution and administration of the contribution agreement and related administrative matters, and the approval of claims for payment in conformity with the requirements of the Financial Administration Act, will be administered by officials of the Department in accordance with the delegated authorities approved by the Minister. Members of Parliament will have no formal role in the delivery and administration of the h2EA program.

11.4 Due Diligence

Projects considered for approval under the h2EA program will be subjected to a comprehensive due diligence process, including the verification of eligibility. At a minimum, the due diligence conducted by the h2EA program will consist of close examination of the proposal by technical and other experts.

All projects will be analyzed to determine the relative technological, management and financial risk, as well as the risk of achieving the forecast benefits.

Departmental systems, procedures and resources for ensuring due diligence in approving transfer payments and verifying eligibility and entitlement and for the management and administration of the h2EA program are in place.

11.5 Information Requirements and Reporting/Monitoring

The Minister will require from eligible recipients, information which the Minister deems pertinent to the assessment of the project. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, this will include:

Application Requirements

  1. a detailed description of the eligible recipients who make up the group (ownership, management, business experience, financial results, etc.);
  2. a detailed description of the project, and of the technological, social, environmental and economic advances to be achieved;
  3. the forecast cost of the project, and details on its financing;
  4. the forecast benefits to result from the project and a description of how the project respects the strategic objectives of the program;
  5. the amount of any federal, provincial or municipal assistance or tax credit, received or likely to be received for the project;
  6. the description of activities related to the project that increase public awareness of the advances noted in b. above; and,
  7. the identification of former public servants involved in the project who are under the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service (previously the Conflict of Interest and Post-employment Guidelines).

Reporting/Monitoring Requirements

During the duration of the approved project, contribution recipients will be required to submit periodic reports in sufficient detail to enable the Minister to assess the progress of the project.

TPC officials will meet contribution recipients, at a minimum, once annually to report on project progress.

Project results may be reported in TPC's accountability documents such as the Year in Review and Industry Canada's Departmental Performance Report.

Upon completion of the project, contribution recipients will be required to submit a final report on project benefits. Furthermore, as appropriate, contribution recipients will be required to provide progress reports beyond the life of the project.

11.6 Operating Resources

The h2EA program will ensure that sufficient resources are allocated for the conduct of due diligence as well as the management and administration of the program.

12. BASIS AND TIMING OF PAYMENT

Contribution payments will be made on the basis of documented claims for approved eligible costs incurred, to be submitted by the lead recipient not more frequently than monthly. Each claim is to be accompanied by a brief report of the work completed and details of all costs being claimed, and shall be substantiated by such documents as are satisfactory to the Minister.

Claims shall be certified by an officer of each respective eligible recipient or by such other person satisfactory to the Minister. The Minister may request at any time that any eligible recipient provide satisfactory evidence to demonstrate that eligible costs claimed have been paid.

The Minister will withhold 10 percent of the contributions prior to completion of the projects or of such project audits as may be required.

Payments to h2EA program lead recipient for eligible costs incurred by eligible recipients will be consistent with the Treasury Board Transfer Payment Policy, including those involving advance payments of contributions.

All contribution agreements will include provisions for cancellation or reduction of contribution payments in the event that funding levels are changed by Parliament. This cancellation provision will also appear in all h2EA program literature.

13. RESULTS - BASED MANAGEMENT AND ACCOUNTABILITY FRAMEWORK

The Results-based Management and Accountability Framework developed for the h2EA program will be used to measure and report on results. Technology Partnerships Canada will also ensure that appropriate performance measurement systems are integrated into the operational cycle of its activities.

14. AUDIT

The Minister will retain the right to have the necessary audits of the contribution recipients' books, records and financial statements or other areas as required, undertaken by auditors satisfactory to the Minister, for the purpose of validating claims for reimbursement of eligible costs.

A Risk Based Audit Framework has been prepared in order to identify major risks, which exist or may arise during the design, deployment and operation of the h2EA program.

15. EVALUATION

The h2EA program will be evaluated in accordance with Treasury Board's policy on program evaluation. The responsibility for scheduling and arranging for the conduct of formal evaluations of the program's operations will rest with the Audit and Evaluation Branch of Industry Canada.

16. DURATION AND RENEWAL

These terms and conditions shall remain until March 31, 2008 or until otherwise revised or rescinded by the authority of the Treasury Board. All projects will be completed by March 31, 2008, and all payments will be made by March 31, 2008. Payments made subsequent to March 31, 2008 must be made in accordance with the Policy on Payables at Year-End (PAYE). An evaluation will be undertaken to assess the effectiveness of the program. This evaluation will be undertaken before March 31, 2008.

Date modified:

Archivé — APh2 Modalités

Archivé

  1. Objet
  2. Autorisation législative
  3. Objectif
  4. Résultats attendus
  5. Critères d'admissibilité
  6. Critères d'évaluation
  7. Type et montant de l'aide
  8. Montant maximal payable aux bénéficiaires
  9. Remboursements
  10. Dispositions relatives au cumul
  11. Administration
  12. Calcul des contributions et versement
  13. Cadre de gestion axée sur les résultats et la reddition des comptes
  14. Vérification
  15. Évaluation
  16. Durée et renouvellement

1. OBJET

Le présent document vise à établir les modalités de l'administration des versements effectués dans le cadre du programme des Adhérents pionniers h2 (APh2) géré par Partenariat technologique Canada (PTC), organisme de service spécial d'Industrie Canada. Le programme APh2 est un programme à part et sera géré séparément des autres programmes, notamment du programme de recherche et développement de Partenariat technologique Canada.

2. AUTORISATION LÉGISLATIVE

L'autorisation législative de ce programme découle de l'alinéa 4(1)a), des sous-alinéas 5c), 5d), 6c) et de l'alinéa 14(1)c) de laLoi sur le ministère de l'Industrie, Lois du Canada 1995, Chapitre 1.

3. OBJECTIF

Le programme APh2 contribue à la réalisation des objectifs stratégiques du Ministère tels qu'ils sont définis chaque année dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités d'Industrie Canada.

Le passage à une économie de l'hydrogène offre une occasion unique au Canada. Il crée, en effet, d'importantes possibilités de croissance et d'investissement pour l'industrie canadienne, ainsi qu'une solution durable aux changements climatiques et à la pollution, en particulier dans nos villes. En surmontant les principaux obstacles technologiques et commerciaux , le Canada pourra profiter de l'avantage conféré par le fait d'être le premier à passer à une économie de l' hydrogène et à en maximiser ainsi les retombées pour les Canadiens.

Le gouvernement du Canada s'efforce de travailler en partenariat avec les intervenants de l'industrie de l' hydrogène pour favoriser le développement et l'introduction rapide sur le marché au Canada de technologies telles que celle des piles à combustible et celles utilisées pour produire, stocker et distribuer l' hydrogène , qui facilitent donc le passage à une économie de l' hydrogène . En aidant à faire en sorte que le marché accepte plus vite l' hydrogène et les technologies compatibles avec celui-ci, les projets approuvés conféreront des avantages environnementaux, socio-économiques et sociétaux généraux à tous les Canadiens.

Plus particulièrement, les objectifs stratégiques du programme APh2 seront les suivants :

  • Intégration des technologies de l' hydrogène et des technologies compatibles avec celui-ci;
  • Développement des infrastructures nécessaires à l'hydrogène;
  • Acquisition de compétences et mise en place d'une chaîne d'approvisionnement dans l'industrie de l' hydrogène;
  • Définition de codes et de normes pour l'industrie de l' hydrogène;
  • Augmentation du rendement, de la fiabilité, de la durabilité et de la viabilité économique des technologies de l' hydrogène et des technologies compatibles avec celui-ci;
  • Sensibilisation accrue du public, des consommateurs et des investisseurs à la capacité de l' hydrogène afin d'en favoriser l'acceptation.

4. RÉSULTATS ATTENDUS

Le programme APh2 devrait donner lieu aux résultats suivants :

  • acceptation accélérée par le marché des technologies de l' hydrogène et des technologies compatibles;
  • attraction et rétention de talents à l'échelle internationale;
  • le Canada attire les investissements canadiens et étrangers.

En outre, le programme APh2 a pour résultat ultime de contribuer à l'atteinte des objectifs du Canada vis-à-vis les changements climatiques.

5. CRITÈRES D'ADMISSIBILITÉ

5.1 Activités admissibles

Les activités relatives aux démonstrations au Canada sont admissibles au financement du programme APh2 , ce qui comprend implicitement l'application de différentes technologies et leur intégration dans un complexe de travail global d'une économie de l' hydrogène au Canada. Ce sont notamment  :

  1. tous les types de piles à combustible;
  2. les systèmes à piles à combustible;
  3. les autres technologies et matériaux servant à la production d'énergie à partir de l' hydrogène ;
  4. les technologies et les matériaux servant à la production, au stockage et à la distribution de l' hydrogène à partir de sources d'énergie renouvelables ou non renouvelables; et,
  5. des prototypes d'applications portables, stationnaires, mobiles et de ravitaillement utilisant la technologie de l' hydrogène.

5.2 Bénéficiaires éventuels

Les bénéficiaires éventuels feront partie d'un groupe d'entités juridiques se composant au minimum de deux entités constituées en personnes morales avec ou sans but lucratif, de sociétés en nom collectif, de coopératives, de fiducies, d'associations ou de personnes physiques. Les bénéficiaires éventuels doivent choisir l'un d'eux comme étant le point de contact avec le gouvernement du Canada afin que ce bénéficiaire choisi gère l'entente de contribution, y compris la réception et la distribution aux autres bénéficiaires éventuels du groupe de la contribution faite en vertu du programme APh2. Ce bénéficiaire principal doit être constitué en personne morale et établi conformément aux lois du Canada.

Chaque bénéficiaire éventuel devra exécuter l'entente de contribution conclue avec le gouvernement du Canada et sera assujetti à toutes les modalités de l'entente de contribution. Chaque bénéficiaire éventuel de la contribution sera responsable de façon conjointe et solidaire avec les autres bénéficiaires.

Les sociétés d'État sont des bénéficiaires admissibles au programme, mais ne peuvent être des bénéficiaires principaux, et le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor doit être consulté afin de déterminer si une autorisation spécifique du Conseil du Trésor est nécessaire. Cependant, les ministères et agences fédéraux sont exclus.

5.3 Coûts admissibles

Les coûts admissibles sont les dépenses engagées par le bénéficiaire éventuel et qui, de l'avis du Ministre, sont nécessaires et raisonnables pour mener à bien les activités admissibles auxquelles elles se rapportent, comme le décrit l'énoncé de travail. Parmi les coûts admissibles figurent le coût de la main–d'œuvre et des matériaux, les frais généraux (calculés sur la base de 65 % du coût de main-d'œuvre direct ou selon d'autres méthodes de TPSGC pertinentes), les assurances, l'équipement utilisé pour intégrer les divers éléments du projet et d'autres coûts attribuables au projet. Les coûts liés au fonctionnement, aux essais, à l'entretien, à la définition de codes, de normes et de la sécurité, à la formation des ressources spécialisées, à la sensibilisation du public, tous considérés comme faisant partie intégrante de la démonstration, sont également admissibles. Le Ministre ne retiendra pas parmi les coûts admissibles l'achat de terrains ou de bâtiments, ni les coûts associés à la préparation de la demande.

Le Ministre peut approuver le remboursement rétroactif de coûts admissibles engagés avant la signature de l'entente de contribution avec les bénéficiaires. Dans ce cas, la rétroactivité ne pourra être antérieure à la réception de la demande ni dépasser 20 % du total de ces coûts admissibles.

En cas de rejet de la demande, le Ministre n'aura aucune obligation de rembourser des dépenses admissibles engagées par les bénéficiaires éventuels.

6. CRITÈRES D'ÉVALUATION

Toutes les demandes seront évaluées afin de déterminer leur pertinence par rapport aux objectifs du programme APh2 . Il s'agira, plus particulièrement, de déterminer dans quelle mesure :

  1. le projet contribue à la réalisation des objectifs stratégiques du gouvernement et offre au Canada des avantages technologiques et généraux sur le plan environnemental, socio-économique et sociétal;
  2. le projet contribue à la réalisation des objectifs stratégiques du programme APh2, notamment à l'établissement d'une industrie de l' hydrogène , au développement d'une grappe d'industries auxiliaires, de fournisseurs et de services de soutien s'articulant autour d'une base de technologie de l' hydrogène existante;
  3. le projet représente un complexe de travail exhaustif d'une économie de l' hydrogène;
  4. le projet est réalisable sur le plan technologique et le groupe possède les capacités technologiques et administratives requises, ainsi que les ressources financières nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs énoncés du projet, ou il est raisonnable de penser qu'elle peut se les procurer;
  5. une contribution dans le cadre du programme APh2 est nécessaire pour que le projet soit réalisé avec l'ampleur et la durée voulues, et à l'endroit souhaité; et,
  6. la participation actuelle et prévue des bénéficiaires se reflète dans l'économie canadienne.

La sensibilisation accrue du marché et du public font partie intégrante des objectifs du programme APh2, et ces activités seront réalisées selon leurs pertinences dans le cadre de chaque projet .

Les projets seront approuvés à la discrétion du Ministre.

7. TYPE ET MONTANT DE L'AIDE

Toute décision d'octroi d'une aide financière aux bénéficiaires tiendra compte de la nécessité d'une contribution dans le cadre du programme APh2, notamment des avantages qu'en tirera l'ensemble de l'industrie en ce qui concerne le renforcement des capacités et l'innovation technologique porteuse de croissance économique et de solutions durables en matière de changements climatiques.

L'appui financier du programme APh2 représentera au plus 50 % d es coûts admissibles des projets approuvés . Exceptionnellement, lorsque le Ministre l'estimera essentiel et justifié, étant donnés les avantages environnementaux, sociaux et économiques potentiels, le ratio de partage pourra atteindre au maximum 75 % des coûts admissibles.

8. MONTANT MAXIMAL PAYABLE AUX BÉNÉFICIAIRES

L'aide fournie prendra la forme de contributions d'un montant que le Ministre estimera justifié à la lumière des retombées prévues pour le Canada, contributions qui ne dépasseront pas 40 millions de dollars par projet et 20 millions de dollars par bénéficiaire, durant la durée de ces modalités.

9. REMBOURSEMENTS

Les dispositions de la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les paiements de transfert relative au remboursement de contributions s'appliqueront. Les contributions du programme APh2 sont remboursables. Toutefois, on s'attend à ce que peu ou pas de paiements soient recueillis. Les bénéficiaires exécutant ces projets ne génèrent habituellement pas de revenus. En outre, ces projets ne permettront pas aux entreprises de réaliser rapidement des revenus, mais les aideront plutôt à effectuer d'autres travaux de R-D sur les technologies de prochaine génération. Pour ces raisons, aucun remboursement aux termes du programme APh2 n'est prévu, bien qu'il puisse se produire une situation où des remboursements seraient exigibles.

10. DISPOSITIONS RELATIVES AU CUMUL

Les dispositions de la politique du gouvernement sur le cumul de l'aide s'appliqueront et l'aide totale maximale du gouvernement ne dépassera pas normalement 75 %. L'aide gouvernementale inclut l'aide fédérale, provinciale, territoriale, régionale et municipale.

Les bénéficiaires éventuels doivent indiquer, au moment de la demande de projet et durant la durée de celui-ci, les autres sources de financement proposées pour le projet y compris les contributions d'autres programmes d'Industrie Canada, d'autres ministères ou organismes du gouvernement du Canada ou d'autres paliers de gouvernement.

Les ententes de contribution conclues dans le cadre du programme APh2 contiendront des dispositions permettant au Ministre de réduire ses contributions s'il est établi que l'ensemble de l'aide gouvernementale dépasse la limite permise du cumul de l'aide gouvernementale. Les systèmes appropriés de suivi sont en place pour recouvrir les montants dépassant la limite du cumul de l'aide.

11. ADMINISTRATION

11.1 Généralités

Le programme APh2 sera administré conformément aux ententes internationales du Canada. Plus particulièrement, l'octroi des contributions ne dépendra pas, en droit et dans les faits, des exportations réelles ou prévues. Cependant, il ne sera pas interdit pour cette seule raison d'accorder une aide à des entreprises exportatrices. De plus, le programme APh2 sera administré conformément à toute loi et à tout règlement applicables (y compris les dispositions de laLoi canadienne sur les évaluations environnementaleset son Règlement) et, sauf pour les exemptions approuvées par le Conseil du Trésor, à toutes les politiques et directives pertinentes du Conseil du Trésor.

11.2 Entente de contribution

Les contributions seront administrées et payées conformément à l'entente qui précisera toutes les conditions relatives aux contributions, les obligations des parties et les conditions sous lesquelles les versements seront effectués.

11.3 Délégation de pouvoir

L'approbation ou le rejet des demandes, l'exécution et l'administration de l'entente de contribution et les questions administratives connexes, ainsi que l'approbation des demandes de paiement en vertu de laLoi sur la gestion des finances publiques, seront administrées par les agents du Ministère conformément aux pouvoirs délégués approuvés par le Ministre. Les membres du Parlement ne joueront aucun rôle officiel dans l'exécution et l'administration du programme APh2.

11.4 Diligence raisonnable

Les projets envisagés dans le cadre du programme APh2 seront soumis à un processus de diligence raisonnable exhaustif, y compris à la vérification de l'admissibilité. L'exercice de diligence raisonnable effectué dans le cadre du programme APh2 consistera au moins à faire examiner de près le projet par des experts techniques et autres.

Tous les projets seront analysés afin de déterminer le risque relatif qu'ils peuvent poser sur le plan technologique, administratif et financier, et pour évaluer la probabilité d'obtenir les retombées prévues.

Les systèmes, procédures et ressources du Ministère utilisés pour assurer une diligence raisonnable dans l'approbation de paiements de transfert et vérifier l'admissibilité et la recevabilité, ainsi que pour gérer et administrer le programme APh2 sont en place.

11.5 Exigences en matière d'information, de rapports et de surveillance

Le Ministre exigera des bénéficiaires éventuels les renseignements qu'il jugera nécessaires à l'évaluation du projet. Il s'agira notamment des données suivantes :

Demande

  1. description détaillée des bénéficiaires admissibles qui forment le groupe (propriété, gestion, expérience des affaires, résultats financiers, etc.);
  2. description détaillée du projet ainsi que des avancées technologiques, sociales, environnementales et économiques prévues;
  3. coût prévisionnel du projet et détails de son financement;
  4. retombées escomptées et description de la conformité du projet aux objectifs stratégiques du programme;
  5. montant de toute aide fédérale, provinciale ou municipale, ou de tout crédit d'impôt accordé ou à venir pour le projet, selon toute probabilité;
  6. description des activités liées au projet qui sensibilisent davantage le public aux avancées mentionnées en b.; et,
  7. nom d'anciens fonctionnaires participant au projet et visés par leCode de valeurs et d'éthique de la fonction publique (anciennement lesDirectives concernant les conflits d'intérêts et l'après-mandat).

Rapports et surveillance

Au cours de la durée du projet approuvé, les bénéficiaires du programme devront présenter des rapports périodiques suffisamment détaillés pour permettre au Ministre d'évaluer le déroulement du projet.

Des représentants de PTC rencontreront les bénéficiaires du programme au moins une fois par an afin de faire le point du déroulement du projet.

Les résultats des projets peuvent être présentés dans les documents de reddition des comptes de PTC, notamment le Bilan de l'exercice et le Rapport de rendement ministériel d'Industrie Canada.

Lorsque le projet est terminé, les bénéficiaires de contributions doivent présenter un rapport final sur les retombées du projet. En outre, ils devront, le cas échéant, fournir des rapports d'étape après la réalisation du projet.

11.6 Ressources de fonctionnement

Le programme APh2 veillera à ce que des ressources suffisantes soient affectées à l'exercice d'une diligence raisonnable ainsi qu'à la gestion et à l'administration du programme.

12. CALCUL DES CONTRIBUTIONS ET VERSEMENT

Les contributions seront versées sur la base des demandes de paiement des coûts admissibles engagés approuvés, présentées avec documents à l'appui par le bénéficiaire principal de la contribution au plus une fois par mois. Chaque demande sera accompagnée d'un bref rapport des travaux effectués et des détails de tous les coûts réclamés, les documents à l'appui justifiant ces dépenses à la satisfaction du Ministre.

Les demandes devront être certifiées par un agent de chaque bénéficiaire respectif de la contribution ou par une autre personne à la satisfaction du Ministre. Ce dernier peut demander à tout moment qu'un bénéficiaire admissible de la contribution montre de manière satisfaisante que les dépenses admissibles ont été payées.

Le Ministre retiendra 10 % des contributions avant la réalisation ou la vérification des projets.

Les paiements effectués auprès du bénéficiaire principal et couvrant les coûts éligibles encourus par tous les bénéficiaires éligibles seront effectués dans le cadre du programme APh2 conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur les paiements de transfert, notamment en ce qui concerne le paiement de contributions anticipé.

Toutes les ententes de contribution contiendront des dispositions relatives à l'annulation ou à la réduction du versement des contributions, au cas où les niveaux de financement seraient modifiés par le Parlement. Cette disposition relative à l'annulation apparaîtra aussi dans tout document du programme APh2.

13. CADRE DE GESTION AXÉE SUR LES RÉSULTATS ET LA REDDITION DES COMPTES

Le cadre de gestion axée sur les résultats et la reddition des comptes, élaboré pour le programme APh2, servira à mesurer les résultats et à en rendre compte. Partenariat technologique Canada veillera aussi à ce que des systèmes d'évaluation du rendement appropriés soient intégrés dans le cycle opérationnel de ses activités.

14. VÉRIFICATION

Le Ministre conservera le droit de faire effectuer, au besoin, les vérifications nécessaires des livres comptables, des dossiers et des états financiers des bénéficiaires ou de tout autre aspect par des vérificateurs choisis à la satisfaction du Ministre, afin de valider les demandes de remboursement des coûts admissibles.

Un cadre de vérification axé sur les risques a été préparé afin de cerner les principaux risques existants ou pouvant se présenter au cours de la conception, du déploiement et de l'exécution du programme APh2.

15. ÉVALUATION

Le programme APh2 sera évalué conformément à la politique du Conseil du Trésor sur l'évaluation des programmes. Le calendrier et l'organisation des évaluations officielles de la mise en œuvre du programme incombera à la Direction générale de la vérification et de l'évaluation d'Industrie Canada.

16. DURÉE ET RENOUVELLEMENT

Les présentes modalités resteront en vigueur jusqu'au 31 mars 2008 ou jusqu'à la date décidée par le Conseil du Trésor. Tous les projets seront terminés au 31 mars 2008 et tous les paiements auront été effectués à cette date. Les paiements ultérieurs au 31 mars 2008 doivent être conformes à la politique relative aux créditeurs à la fin de l'exercice (CAFE). Une évaluation sera entreprise afin de déterminer l'efficacité du programme. Cette évaluation aura lieu avant le 31 mars 2008.

Date de modification :