Archived—Hydrogen Solution for Utility Vehicles

Archived

Project Lead: Hydrogenics Corporation

See the Project Fact Sheet for this investment.

Hydrogenics ProjectThe Government of Canada has invested $4.2 million in a project demonstrating a hydrogen solution for utility vehicles through the Hydrogen Early Adopters program. Demonstrations will take place at the Canadian National Exhibition (CNE) in Toronto, Ontario.

The multi-year project, led by a consortium that includes Hydrogenics Corporation, John Deere, Greenlight Power Technologies and Marconi Corporation, will demonstrate the feasibility of a renewable energy-based refuelling station as a zero-emission hydrogen solution for utility vehicles. (For further details on each of the organizations participating in this demonstration project, please refer to the Company Biographies page). It will showcase the technical capabilities of fuel cells and electrolyzers, and catalyze the growth of the industry in a manageable environment. The project comprises four components, outlined below.

  1. Fuel Cell-Powered Utility Vehicles

    Four fuel cell-powered utility vehicles will be showcased in two phases (2004 and 2005). The project will also demonstrate on- and off-board diagnostics and monitoring equipment, including fuel cell degradation and depletion monitors, gas leak detection and performance database software.

  2. Refuelling Station

    Fuelled by a zero-emission power source – wind energy from the CNE wind turbine – the station electrolyzer is expected to produce about 65 kilograms of hydrogen per day.

  3. Back-up Power Generator for Telecommunications

    A fuel cell-powered module using compressed hydrogen from tanks will be demonstrated, with an electrolyzer and compression module being added at a later date.

  4. Hybrid Fuel Cell/Battery Delivery Vehicle

    The project will demonstrate a hybrid fuel cell/battery delivery vehicle, on-site hydrogen production and storage facilities, and commercial fleet refuelling capabilities using Purolator Courier fleet vehicles. (Purolator anticipates moving to zero-emission electric/fuel cell curbside delivery vans in the future.)

The strength of this demonstration project is in the collaborative efforts of the project partners, along with the cooperation of the City of Toronto, the Toronto Renewable Energy Co-operative, the Canadian Transportation Fuel Cell Alliance, Bell Canada and Purolator Courier.

Working together, the project consortium will demonstrate advances in the area of equipment reliability for both hardware and software tools, as well as the feasibility of hydrogen and hydrogen-compatible technologies for use in the utility vehicle, vehicle fleet operation and back-up power markets.

This investment made through the Technology Parnterships Canada Hydrogen Early Adopters program, combined with the nature of this demonstration project, its location within the Greater Toronto Area, and the high profiles of the consortium members will contribute to increased awareness and acceptance of hydrogen-based technologies across Canada, as well as demonstrate hydrogen as a viable and environmentally-friendly fuel solution for the future.

See the original announcement for this investment.

Date modified:

Archivé — Technologies de l’hydrogène dans les véhicules utilitaires

Archivé

Projet mené par : Hydrogenics Corporation

Consultez le Fiche d'information lié à cet investissement.

HydrogenicsLe gouvernement du Canada a investi 4,2 millions de dollars, par l'entremise du programme des Adhérents pionniers de l'hydrogène, dans un projet visant à mettre à l'épreuve l'utilisation des technologies de l'hydrogène dans les véhicules utilitaires. Les démonstrations auront lieu à l'Exposition nationale canadienne (ENC), à Toronto (Ontario).

Le projet pluriannuel, dirigé par un consortium composé de Hydrogenics Corporation, John Deere, Greenlight Power Technologies et Marconi Corporation, démontrera la faisabilité d'un poste de ravitaillement à énergie renouvelable comme solution à base d'hydrogène non polluante pour les véhicules utilitaires. (Pour avoir plus de détails sur chacun des organismes participant à ce projet de démonstration, veuillez vous reporter au document sur les biographies des entreprises). Il montrera les capacités techniques des piles à combustible et des électrolyseurs et catalysera la croissance de l'économie dans un environnement contrôlable. Le projet est composé des quatre volets suivants :

  1. Véhicules utilitaires à piles à combustible

    Une démonstration de quatre véhicules utilitaires alimentés par des piles à combustible se fera en deux étapes (en 2004 et en 2005). Dans le cadre du projet, on montrera aussi des systèmes de diagnostic et de surveillance embarqués et externes tels que des appareils détectant les fuites de gaz et la dégradation et l'épuisement des piles à combustible, et des logiciels de base de données relatives à la performance.

  2. Poste de ravitaillement

    Alimenté par une source d'énergie non polluante (énergie éolienne provenant d'un aérogénérateur de l'ENC), l'électrolyseur du poste devrait produire environ 65 kilogrammes d'hydrogène par jour.

  3. Génératrice de secours pour les télécommunications

    Un module à piles à combustible utilisant de l'hydrogène comprimé de réservoirs sera montré. Un électrolyseur et un module de compression y seront ajoutés à une date ultérieure.

  4. Véhicule de livraison hybride à piles à combustible/batterie

    Ce projet fera la démonstration d'un véhicule de livraison hybride à piles à combustible/batterie, des installations de production et de stockage d'hydrogène sur place ainsi que des possibilités en matière de ravitaillement pour les parcs de véhicules commerciaux Purolator Courrier (Purolator prévoit utiliser des fourgonnettes de livraison le long du linéaire qui sont alimentés à l'électricité/aux piles à combustible non polluantes).

La force de ce projet pilote repose sur la collaboration des partenaires du projet, ainsi que sur la participation de la Ville de Toronto, de la Toronto Renewable Energy Co-operative, de l'Alliance canadienne sur les piles à combustible dans les transports, de Bell Canada et de Purolator Courrier.

Ensemble, le consortium fera la démonstration des progrès réalisés quant à la fiabilité de l'équipement, pour les outils matériels et logiciels, et la faisabilité des technologies de l'hydrogène et des technologies compatibles avec celui-ci destinées aux véhicules utilitaires, de l'exploitation des parcs de véhicules et des marchés de l'alimentation de secours.

L'investissement fait par l'entremise du programme des Adhérents pionniers de l'hydrogène de Partenariat technologique Canada, ajouté à la nature même de ce projet pilote, au fait qu'il ait lieu dans la région du Grand Toronto et au prestige des membres du consortium aideront à accroître la connaissance et l'acceptation des technologies basées sur l'hydrogène dans tout le Canada et montreront l'hydrogène comme une solution de remplacement du carburant qui est viable et respectueuse de l'environnement.

Consultez le Communiqué de presse lié à cet investissement.

Date de modification :