Archived—Stationary Fuel Cells for Residential Heating and Power Generation

Archived

Project Lead: Fuel Cell Technologies Ltd.

See the Project Fact Sheet for this investment.

Fuel cell TechnologiesThe Technology Partnerships Canada h2 Early Adopters (h2EA) program has invested $935,000 in a project to demonstrate hydrogen and hydrogen compatible technologies for use in electricity generation and heating in a residential application within the Toronto's Hydrogen Village.

This investment will enable a consortium led by Fuel Cell Technologies Ltd. (FCT), with Ontario Power Generation Inc., and the University of Toronto at Mississauga (UTM), to demonstrate an important step in the transition toward a hydrogen economy. (For further details on each of the organizations participating in this demonstration project, please refer to the Company Biographies document). Bringing together technologies and resources from all partners, the project will showcase the use of four 5kWe solid oxide fuel cells, arranged in mini-grid configuration to provide electricity and heating to a 12-unit student residence at the UTM.

In addition to the h2EA eligible companies, Enbridge and Air Liquid Canada will supply the natural gas and hydrogen required. Although these companies are not eligible to receive h2EA funding, they have agreed to contribute their valuable expertise and solid technical knowledge.

Advancing on a previous experience at the University of Alaska, this project will demonstrate an efficient and compact system for the generation of electrical power and introduce the concept of fuel cell mini-grid networks. It will also contribute to the development of new codes and standards for the industry.

Defined by two distinct phases, the project will initially include a system design, a site evaluation and an implementation study. The second phase will involve the installation of four fuel cell systems to supply the UTM residence electrical and heating grid. While these will initially be fuelled by natural gas, Fuel Cell Technologies and the consortium anticipate converting one or more of the four fuel cell systems to hydrogen for the last 6 months of the project.

In addition to the economic and environmental benefits of this project, it will provide an excellent educational resource for university students who will monitor the heating and electrical systems. Operating under a number of seasonal and situational conditions, the installation will allow students to assess the systems effectiveness, identify operational concerns and even implement modifications as required.

The installation will remain at the residence following the demonstration phase providing a long-term electrical and heating solution. This will result in potential efficiencies and cost-savings for the UTM residence facility, and increase public awareness and acceptance of these technologies in residential applications.

See the original announcement for this investment.

For more information on this project, visit the University of Toronto at Mississauga webpage.

Date modified:

Archivé — Piles à combustible aux fins de production d'électricité et de chauffage residentiels

Archivé

Projet mené par : Fuel Cell Technologies Ltd

Consultez le Fiche d'information lié à cet investissement.

Fuel Cell TechnologiesLe Programme des adhérents pionniers de l'hydrogène (APh2) de Partenariat technologique Canada a investi 935 000 $ dans un projet visant à démontrer l'hydrogène et les technologies compatibles avec l'hydrogène aux fins de production d'électricité et de chauffage dans le cadre d'une application résidentielle dans le Village de l'hydrogène de Toronto.

Cet investissement permettra au consortium dirigé par Fuel Cell Technologies Ltd. (FCT), avec Ontario Power Generation Inc. et l'Université de Toronto à Mississauga (UTM), de démontrer une étape importante de la transition vers une économie l'hydrogène. (Pour avoir plus de détails sur chacun des organismes participant à ce projet de démonstration, veuillez vous reporter au document sur les biographies des entreprises). Rassemblant les technologies et les ressources de tous les partenaires, le projet mettra en vedette l'utilisation de quatre piles à oxyde solide de 5kWe, disposées sous forme de mini-réseau pour fournir de l'électricité et du chauffage à une résidence pour étudiants de 12 unités à l'UTM.

En plus des entreprises admissibles au programme h2EA, Enbridge et Air Liquid Canada offriront le gaz naturel et l'hydrogène nécessaires. Bien que ces entreprises ne soient pas admissibles au financement du programme h2EA, elles ont accepté d'offrir leur précieuse expertise et leurs solides connaissances techniques.

Appuyant une expérience précédente réalisée à l'Université d'Alaska, ce projet fera la démonstration d'un système efficace et compact servant à produire l'énergie électrique et lancera le concept des mini-réseaux à piles à combustible. Celui-ci contribuera aussi au développement de nouveaux codes et normes pour l'industrie.

Défini par deux phases distinctes, le projet consistera au départ en la conception d'un système, l'évaluation de l'emplacement et l'étude de mise en œuvre. La seconde phase aura trait à l'installation de quatre systèmes de piles à combustible qui alimenteront le réseau d'électricité et de chauffage de la résidence de l'UTM. Même si ces derniers seront initialement alimentés par le gaz naturel, Fuel Cell Technologies et le consortium prévoient convertir à l'hydrogène un des quatre systèmes à piles à combustible ou plus au cours des six derniers mois du projet.

En plus des retombées économiques et environnementales, le projet mettra une excellente ressource éducative à la disposition des étudiants de l'université qui contrôleront les systèmes de chauffage et d'électricité. Fonctionnant dans plusieurs conditions saisonnières et situationnelles, l'installation permettra aux étudiants d'évaluer l'efficacité des systèmes, de déterminer les préoccupations relatives à l'exploitation et même de mettre en œuvre les modifications au besoin.

L'installation restera dans la résidence après la phase de démonstration, offrant ainsi une solution d'électricité et de chauffage à long terme. Cela permettra à la résidence de l'UTM de réaliser des économies potentielles et au public de mieux comprendre et accepter ces technologies dans les applications résidentielles.

Consultez le Communiqué de presse lié à cet investissement.

Veuillez visiter le site web de l'Université de Toronto à Mississauga pour plusieurs renseignements sur ce projet.(seulement disponible en anglais)

Date de modification :