Archived — Government of Canada Invests in Green Nanotechnology

Toronto, Ontario, April 28, 2010—The Honourable Tony Clement, Minister of Industry, today announced repayable investments of nearly $1.1 million in two research and development (R&D) projects being undertaken by Integran Technologies Inc. These investments are being made through the Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI).

"This funding will allow Integran to offer viable and environmentally sustainable alternatives to the production of metals for the aerospace industry," said Minister Clement. "These projects are excellent examples of the wide-reaching benefits of R&D."

Integran will use nanotechnology to develop two kinds of metal-coating processes without the toxic materials commonly used today. The first project will explore ways to replace toxic cadmium coatings with non-toxic materials. The second will use a safer alternative to hard chrome for coating high-strength steel fasteners.

"This support will enable us to continue making more business investments in R&D to make further advances in this field," said Gino Palumbo, President of Integran.

SADI supports strategic industrial research and pre-competitive development projects in the aerospace, defence, space and security industries. SADI is managed by the Industrial Technologies Office, a special operating agency of Industry Canada with a mandate to advance leading-edge R&D by Canadian industries.

For further information (media only), please contact:

Lynn Meahan
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Tony Clement
Minister of Industry
613-995-9001

Media Relations
Industry Canada
613-943-2502


Backgrounder

Government of Canada Invests in Green Nanotechnology

The Government of Canada will make repayable investments of nearly $1.1 million in two research and development (R&D) projects by Integran Technologies Inc. to develop new, environmentally benign, metal-coating processes based on nanotechnology.

Based in Toronto, Ontario, Integran is a privately owned metallurgical applications engineering company and is a leader in the development and commercialization of advanced nanotechnologies. Nanotechnology is a science that manipulates the size and assembly of molecules and atoms to make novel devices and materials 100 nanometres or smaller.

Integran's cadmium replacement project will receive a repayable investment of $276 284 to use nanoscale zinc-based coating as a safe, effective alternative to the use of cadmium in the electroplating process for aerospace applications.

The chrome replacement project will receive a repayable investment of $807 399 to use nanophase cobalt phosphorous as a safer alternative to hard chrome for coating high-strength steel fasteners.

Integran collaborates with the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Toronto for the analysis of nanostructured materials and nanometal coating.

The Strategic Aerospace and Defence Initiative (SADI), launched in April 2007, supports private sector industrial research and pre-competitive development in Canada's aerospace, defence, security and space industries through repayable investments.

SADI benefits include the leveraging of private sector investment in R&D, the attraction of foreign investment to Canada, help to advance technology transfer and innovation, and the development of a highly skilled workforce. SADI is managed by the Industrial Technologies Office, a special operating agency of Industry Canada with a mandate to advance leading-edge R&D by Canadian industries.

For more information about SADI, please visit the Industrial Technologies Office website.

Date modified:

Archivé — Le Gouvernement du Canada investit dans la nanotechnologie en vue de protéger l’environnement

Toronto (Ontario), le 28 avril 2010 — Le ministre de l'Industrie, l'honorable Tony Clement, a annoncé aujourd'hui des investissements remboursables de près de 1,1 million de dollars dans deux projets de recherche-développement qui seront entrepris par Integran Technologies Inc. Ces investissements sont réalisés dans le cadre de l'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD).

« Ce financement permettra à Integran d'offrir des options viables et durables sur le plan de l'environnement pour la fabrication de métaux destinés à l'industrie de l'aérospatiale, a déclaré le ministre Clement. Ces projets sont un excellent exemple des vastes retombées que la recherche-développement peut avoir. »

Integran utilisera la nanotechnologie afin de mettre au point deux processus de galvanisation qui ne feront pas appel aux substances toxiques habituellement utilisées. Dans le cadre du premier projet, on explorera des solutions visant à remplacer les revêtements toxiques à base de cadmium par des revêtements de matériaux non toxiques. Dans le cadre du deuxième projet, on utilisera un revêtement plus sécuritaire que le chrome dur pour le revêtement d'articles de fixation en acier à haute résistance.

« Cette aide financière nous permettra de continuer à investir dans la recherche-développement afin d'accomplir d'autres percées dans ce domaine », a déclaré le président d'Integran, Gino Palumbo.

L'ISAD soutient les projets stratégiques de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel menés dans les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité. Elle est gérée par l'Office des technologies industrielles, un organisme de service spécial d'Industrie Canada ayant pour mandat de favoriser la recherche-développement de pointe dans les industries canadiennes.

Renseignements (médias seulement) :

Lynn Meahan
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de l'honorable Tony Clement
Ministre de l'Industrie
613-995-9001

Relations avec les médias
Industrie Canada
613-943-2502


Fiche d'information

Le gouvernement du Canada investit dans la nanotechnologie en vue de protéger l'environnement

Le gouvernement du Canada annonce des investissements remboursables de près de 1,1 million de dollars afin d'appuyer deux projets de recherche-développement (R-D) qui seront réalisés par Integran Technologies Inc. Les projets visés feront appel à la nanotechnologie dans le but de mettre au point de nouveaux processus de galvanisation moins nocifs pour l'environnement.

Établie à Toronto, en Ontario, Integran est une société privée d'ingénierie œuvrant dans le domaine des applications métallurgiques. Elle est un chef de file dans le développement et la commercialisation des nanotechnologies de pointe. La nanotechnologie est une science permettant de manipuler la taille et l'assemblage des molécules et des atomes en vue de fabriquer des objets d'une taille de 100 nanomètres ou moins. Integran recevra donc une contribution remboursable de 276 284 $ pour un premier projet visant à produire des nanorevêtements à base de zinc, plus sécuritaires et plus efficaces que ceux à base de cadmium utilisés dans le procédé de galvanoplastie. Ces nouveaux revêtements peuvent être appliqués au secteur de l'aérospatiale.

La compagnie recevra également une contribution remboursable de 807 399 $ afin de remplacer le chrome dur par le cobalt phosphoreux en nanophase, qui est plus sécuritaire, pour le revêtement d'articles de fixation en acier à haute résistance.

Integran collabore avec le Département des sciences et du génie des matériaux de l'Université de Toronto pour effectuer l'analyse de matériaux nanostructurés et d'enduits nanométriques.

L'Initiative stratégique pour l'aérospatiale et la défense (ISAD), lancée en avril 2007, apporte un soutien financier à des projets de recherche industrielle et de développement préconcurrentiel du secteur privé dans les industries canadiennes de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité par l'entremise d'investissements remboursables.

L'ISAD permet de mettre à profit les investissements du secteur privé dans la R-D, d'attirer des investissements étrangers au Canada, de contribuer à faire progresser le transfert de technologies et l'innovation, et de développer une main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée. L'ISAD est gérée par l'Office des technologies industrielles, un organisme de service spécial d'Industrie Canada dont le mandat est de favoriser la R-D de pointe dans les industries canadiennes.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements au sujet de l'ISAD, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Office des technologies industrielles.

Date de modification :