An Overview of Canada’s Aerospace and Defence Industries

Canada's aerospace and defence (A&D) industries, made up of firms specializing in aerospace, defence, space and security technologies, are recognized around the world for producing leading edge products and services.

Domestically, the industries are important economic drivers in regions across the country and collectively, are a significant player in the development of Canada's knowledge-based economy.

Among the world leaders, Canada's A&D industries offer competitive and innovative solutions and are backed by a highly skilled workforce of about 73 000 Canadians.

Challenges Encountered by A&D Industries

To maintain productivity and competitiveness, A&D firms have to invest in the research and development (R&D) of advanced products and services. High development costs, long development lead times and long payback periods, combined with the cyclical nature of the industry and the fact that projects are high risk and international in scope, make it difficult for the private sector to entirely fund an R&D project.

A&D industries play a role in supporting national security and sovereignty. For this reason, national governments around the globe support their industries through various funding mechanisms (e.g. technology development support, military contracts).

Opportunities for Canada's A&D Industries

R&D helps the Canadian A&D industries to remain competitive. R&D forms the basis for the development of new products designed to serve the needs of A&D markets, and also enables firms to establish new processes that lower costs and increase productivity.

In addition, R&D investment in A&D promotes technology development within the Canadian economy, not only in the A&D industries and their supplier base, but also in other sectors such as electronics, nanotechnology and information technology. Previous spill-over benefits from A&D technologies have been used in medical equipment and automotive applications.

Supporting R&D in the industry also enables Canada to attract global A&D firms and first class scientific and engineering talent. Among the leading industrial investors in R&D in Canada, A&D has the capability and the opportunity to build on Canadian strengths to remain one of the foremost players in the global market.

Specialties of Canada's A&D industries

Products and services of the Canadian aerospace, defence, space and security industries include:

  • Regional and business aircraft
  • Small gas turbine engines
  • Flight simulators
  • Aerostructures
  • Landing gear systems
  • Helicopters
  • Armoured vehicles
  • Military ships
  • Space-based robotics and telecommunications
  • Remote sensing systems and satellites
  • Command and control systems (including secured communications equipment)
  • Aircraft and defence electronics
  • Environmental systems for aircraft and military vehicles
  • Avionic and mission systems
  • Maintenance, repair and overhaul services
Date modified:

Aperçu des secteurs de l’aérospatiale et de la défense du Canada

Les industries de l'aérospatiale et de la défense (A-D), constituées d'entreprises spécialisées en technologies de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité, sont reconnues partout au monde pour leurs produits et services d'avant-garde.

Au pays, les industries de l'A-D sont d'importants facteurs de croissance économique; elles forment ensemble un acteur important dans le développement de l'économie canadienne axée sur le savoir.

Figurant parmi les chefs de file mondiaux, les industries de l'A-D du Canada offrent des solutions concurrentielles et novatrices; elles sont appuyées par une main-d'oeuvre hautement qualifiée d'environ 73 000 Canadiens.

Défis à relever pour les industries de l'A-D

Pour maintenir leur productivité et leur compétitivité, les entreprises de l'A-D doivent investir dans la recherche et le développement (R-D) de produits et services élaborés. Les coûts de développement élevés, les longs délais et les longues périodes de récupération, la nature cyclique de l'industrie et le fait qu'il s'agit de projets à risque élevé et de portée internationale rendent difficile pour le secteur privé de financer entièrement un projet de R-D.

Les industries de l'A-D jouent un rôle dans l'appui à la souveraineté et à la sécurité nationales. Pour cette raison, à l'échelle planétaire, les gouvernements des pays soutiennent leurs industries par divers mécanismes de financement, p. ex. par une aide au développement technologique ou par des contrats militaires.

Possibilités s'offrant aux les industries canadiennes de l'A-D

La R-D aide les industries de l'A-D canadiennes à rester concurrentielles. La R-D constitue la base de l'élaboration de nouveaux produits destinés à répondre aux besoins des marchés de l'A-D; elle permet également aux entreprises d'établir de nouveaux processus qui entraînent une baisse des coûts et une hausse de la productivité.

En investissant dans la R-D dans le secteur de l'A-D, on encourage le développement technologique au sein de l'économie canadienne, non seulement dans les industries de l'A-D et dans leur base de fournisseurs, mais aussi dans d'autres secteurs tels que l'électronique, les nanotechnologies et les technologies de l'information. Certains avantages subsidiaires des technologies de l'A-D ont déjà été utilisées dans la production de matériel médical et pour des applications à l'automobile.

Le fait de fournir au secteur une aide à la R-D permet au Canada d'attirer des entreprises de calibre mondial et des scientifiques et des ingénieurs de premier ordre. Figurant parmi les premiers investisseurs industriels dans la R-D en importance au Canada, le secteur de l'A-D a la capacité et l'occasion de miser sur les forces du Canada pour rester l'un des acteurs de premier plan sur le marché mondial.

Spécialités des industries canadiennes de l'A-D

Voici les produits et services des industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de l'espace et de la sécurité :

  • Avions régionaux et commerciaux
  • Turbines à gaz de petite taille
  • Simulateurs de vol
  • Aérostructures
  • Circuits de train d'atterrissage
  • Hélicoptères
  • Véhicules blindés
  • Navires militaires
  • Robotique et télécommunications spatiales
  • Systèmes et satellites de télédétection
  • Systèmes de commandement et de contrôle (y compris le matériel de communications protégées)
  • Électronique d'aéronefs et électronique militaire
  • Systèmes de conditionnement d'air pour aéronefs et véhicules militaires
  • Systèmes destinés à l'avionique et aux missions
  • Services d'entretien, de réparation et de révision
Date de modification :